SPED 6314 - SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Introduction

SPED 6314 -- Dr. Kristina Vargo

This guide is intended for SPED 6314, Thesis I: Research Methods in ABA, taught by Dr. Kristina Vargo. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources that students may find useful for their coursework.

For additional assistance, please contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center, or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right.

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was created for Fall 2023's SPED 6314 taught by Dr. Kristina Vargo. Although the guide may be useful for similar courses, this is not its intention.

Research Databases and Resources

You can see all of our Education databases by visiting our Education Databases page.

You can search some of the more common Education databases directly below.

Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete provides more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for educators, from the school teacher and administrator to students in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Google Scholar (customized to link to SHSU resources) This link opens in a new window Google Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search citations of scholarly books and articles. By using Google Scholar through this custom link on the library's website, your search results will automatically include links to online content owned by SHSU.

Distance Services & Interlibrary Loan

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get almost any article or book you need, even if our library does not have access. If you are a distance student you can even request books from the main campus and have them shipped to your home for free.

To request a book we do not own, an article we do not have access to, or a book from the main campus, simply log in to ILLiad using your SHSU credentials and fill out the appropriate form. Please be sure to verify your contact information and mailing address.

For more information, please visit our Interlibrary Loan page.

APA Citation Information

For introductory information and examples about APA citations, please view our APA Citations guide.

If you need access to the full style guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have print copies you can check out.

Other helpful resources include Purdue OWL and the APA Style Blog.

Instructional/Tutorial Videos

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.

Search Engine Orange

Citation Management Tools

Preferred

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is an easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources
- 300MB = free | 2GB = $20/year | 6GB = $60/year | Unlimited = $120/year

Other Options

Make your own fully-searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.
- Please note: Mendeley has discontinued its mobile apps. Tools like PaperShip may be an alternative. Development and support of Mendeley also seems to have decreased over time.

EndNote Web

Web-based tool for keeping track of all your sources (export them from many databases). Create formatted citations and bibliographies in just a few clicks.
- Introduction / instructions for SHSU users.
- Create an EndNote Web account off-campus.