EDLD 7373 - SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Introduction

EDLD 7373 -- Dr. Fuller

This guide is intended for use in EDLD 7373, American Higher Education System, taught by Dr. Fuller. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources students may find useful for their coursework.

For additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU-The Woodlands Center, or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right. My hours and e-mail address are listed beneath my picture. Thanks!

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was originally created for Summer 2017's EDLD 7373 taught by Dr. Fuller. Although the guide should prove useful for other EDLD 7373 courses, this is not its original intention.

Research Databases and Resources

Complete list of Education Databases.

Complete list of Historical Databases.

Complete list of Statistics Databases.

Below is a list of specific recommended databases:

Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Access World News This link opens in a new window Search current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.

Library of Congress Digital Collections American history, 1400 - present. Documented by the Library of Congress. Millions of items, including written & spoken words, audio, video, images, maps, sheet music, etc.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

Education Statistics

Texas Higher Education Data Texas-specific and a bit overwhelming. A ton of available information, but not the most user-friendly.
US Department of Education Data and Statistics Data and statistics from the US Department of Education
American Association of Community Colleges Community College-specific, but does include some data and statistics.
IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) Great wealth of information, included the ability to custom build your own reports. This features is not very user friendly, but very powerful.
National Student Clearinghouse Research Center Great research reports for things like attainment rates, student pathways, enrollment, etc.

APA Citations

You will be expected to utilize the APA citation styles as you complete your coursework. For introductory information and examples, please view our APA Citations guide.

Also, please note that although there is not an online full-text version of the official APA guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have copies that you can use. Also, the APA has published an APA Style Guide to Electronic References that can be accessed online. This guide will provide you all the information you need when citing electronic information.

Interlibrary Services

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get your hands on virtually any article or book you need for your research, even if our library does not have access. Please check out the Interlibrary Services page for more information.

On-Site Delivery Instructions

To qualify for on-site delivery to TWC you must take NO classes in Huntsville and you must live outside of Walker County. If you meet those requisites, you can do the following to request print materials from Huntsville to be delivered at TWC.

Create an ILLiad account if you have not done so before. This is separate from your SHSU account.
Fill out THIS FORM to register for our distance services. (This must be done each semester)
Go back to ILLiad, log into your account, and fill out the new book request form.

At this point our staff will see your request, verify your distances services registration, and deliver the materials using our courier service.

Please note, the courier service acts much like the USPS so can take 2-3 business days. In addition, they only deliver Tuesdays and Thursdays so please keep this in mind if you are on a tight deadline. If so, let me know and I can see if there is anything we can do to expedite the process.

Instructional/Tutorial Videos

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.

SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services