LSSL 5367 -- Dr. Elizabeth Gross
This guide is intended for use in LSSL 5367, Research Design and Methodology, taught by Dr. Gross. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources that students may find useful for their coursework.
For additional assistance, please contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right.
Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was originally created for Summer 2024's LSSL 5367 taught by Dr. Gross. Although the guide may be useful for other similar courses, this is not its original intention.
Please visit our Library Science & Instructional Technology research guide for a more complete list of relevant resources.
Below are some resources that may be a good starting point:
This link opens in a new window
Basic Research Methods for Librarians, 5th Edition by
This thoroughly updated introduction covers the major issues involved in designing and conducting original research relevant to the fields of library and information science. Addressed to practicing librarians and other information professionals, as well as master's and doctoral students in LIS programs, Basic Research Methods for Librarians, Fifth Edition specifically covers the research methodologies likely to be used by librarians, providing guidance on designing and conducting research and publishing research results. Like its predecessors, this fifth edition is exceptionally comprehensive. Content has been thoroughly updated and sections have been added on social networking and other web-based research methods and techniques. The book emphasizes quantitative research, including survey and experimental studies. It also gives attention to qualitative research, including historical research. A chapter is devoted to the statistical analysis of research results. Evaluation, writing, and publishing of research reports are considered as well. Coauthored by distinguished researchers in library and information science, the book also includes contributions from experts on qualitative research, domain assumptions of research, and sampling. * Library and information science examples to explain research methodologies and techniques * Explanations and examples of sampling procedures * A table for determining sample sizes and a random number table * Notes at the end of each chapter, plus a list of more than 400 research-related references at the end of the book
Librarian's Handbook for Seeking, Writing, and Managing Grants by
Learn the dynamics of the grant-seeking process, including proposal writing and grant management, for public, school, and academic librarians. A comprehensive book that covers the full spectrum of the grant process, Librarian's Handbook for Seeking, Writing, and Managing Grants is designed to provide all the information necessary for librarians and educators to become effective members of grant-development and management teams. Written in an easy-to-understand, succinct format, it will be invaluable even for those with little or no background knowledge and regardless of the size or type of library or information center. Recognizing that grants are developed through a sequential process, the volume focuses on the fundamental components of grant planning, grant writing, and grant management. Readers will learn to identify potential federal and state funding sources, organize and manage the proposal development process, do research, and establish and encourage participation on local development teams. They will also learn about specific aspects of grant management, such as budget and finance monitoring; hiring; research compliance and policies; sub-agreements and partnership forms; and reporting requirements.
Winning Grants by
Written by two experts who have won millions in grants from an astonishing variety of funding sources, Winning Grants is a combination workbook, how-to-manual, and multimedia workshop.
Evaluating Research in Academic Journals by
* A supplementary guide for students who are learning how to evaluate reports of empirical research published in academic journals. * Your students will learn the practical aspects of evaluating research, not just how to apply a laundry list of technical terms from their textbooks. * Each chapter is organized around evaluation questions. For each question, there is a concise explanation of how to apply it in the evaluation of research reports. * Numerous examples from journals in the social and behavioral sciences illustrate the application of the evaluation questions. Students see actual examples of strong and weak features of published reports. * Commonsense models for evaluation combined with a lack of jargon make it possible for students to start evaluating research articles the first week of class. * The structure of this book enables students to work with confidence while evaluating articles for homework. * Avoids oversimplification in the evaluation process by describing the nuances that may make an article publishable even though it has serious methodological flaws. Students learn when and why certain types of flaws may be tolerated. They learn why evaluation should not be performed mechanically. * This book received very high student evaluations when field-tested with students just beginning their study of research methods. * Contains more than 60 new examples from recently published research. In addition, minor changes have been made throughout for consistency with the latest edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get almost any article or book you need, even if our library does not have access. If you are a distance student you can even request books from the main campus and have them shipped to your home for free.
To request a book we do not own, an article we do not have access to, or a book from the main campus, simply log in to ILLiad using your SHSU credentials and fill out the appropriate form. Please be sure to verify your contact information and mailing address.
For more information, please visit our Interlibrary Loan page.
For introductory information and examples about APA citations, please view our APA Citations guide.
If you need access to the full style guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have print copies you can check out.
Other helpful resources include Purdue OWL and the APA Style Blog.
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System