SPED 3302 - SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Introduction

SPED 3302 -- Dr. Corinna Cole

This guide is intended for use in SPED 3302, A Study of Emotional and Behavioral Disorders of Children and Youth, taught by Dr. Cole. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources students may find useful for their coursework.

For additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center, or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right. Thanks!

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was originally created for Fall 2019's SPED 3302 taught by Dr. Cole. Although the guide should prove useful for similar courses, this is not its original intention.

Research Databases and Resources

You can see all of our Education databases by visiting our Education Databases page.

Some recommended databases are available below.

[The dissertations database is listed below due to its value as a resource to mine information. If you can find a dissertation dealing with a similar topic, which is very likely considering the size of this database, you can mine its works cited page for your own use. This can sometimes prove incredibly valuable].

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window A source for full-text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences, containing all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from numerous journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprints, and allied organizations.
Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Google Scholar (customized to link to SHSU resources) This link opens in a new window Google Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search citations of scholarly books and articles. By using Google Scholar through this custom link on the library's website, your search results will automatically include links to online content owned by SHSU.

APA Citations

You will be expected to utilize the APA citation styles as you complete your coursework. For introductory information and examples, please view our APA Citations guide.

Also, please note that although there is not an online full-text version of the official APA guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have copies that you can use. Also, the APA has published an APA Style Guide to Electronic References that can be accessed online. This guide will provide you all the information you need when citing electronic information.

Interlibrary Services

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get your hands on virtually any article or book you need for your research, even if our library does not have access. Please check out the Interlibrary Services page for more information.

Instructional/Tutorial Videos

Library Catalog

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.