CIED 7349 -- Dr. Amber Godwin
This guide is intended for use in CIED 7349, Curriculum Studies, taught by Dr. Godwin. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources students may find useful for their coursework.
For additional assistance, please contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right.
Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was created for Summer 2024's CIED 7349 taught by Dr. Godwin. Although the guide may be useful for similar courses, this is not its original intention.
You can see all of our Education databases by visiting our Education Databases page.
The library also holds our Instructional Materials Collection.
Below are some recommended databases to get you started:
This link opens in a new window
The Curriculum Studies Reader by
In this sixth edition of David J. Flinders and Stephen J. Thornton's ground-breaking anthology, the editors assemble the best in past and present curriculum studies scholarship. From John Dewey's nineteenth-century creed to Nel Noddings' provocative call to revive the spirit of the liberal arts, this thoughtful combination of well-recognized and pivotal work provides a complete survey of the discipline, coupled with concrete examples of innovative curriculum and an examination of current topics. New to this edition is a dynamic set of contemporary and historical contributions tackling issues such as high-stakes testing, multicultural literacy, white supremacy in the curriculum, and climate change. Carefully balanced to engage with the history of curriculum studies while simultaneously looking ahead to its future,　The Curriculum Studies Reader　continues to be the most authoritative collection in the field.
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by
A WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY, AND PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BESTSELLER. The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes four different formats--spiral-bound and tabbed, paperback, hardcover, and ebook, all of which are in full color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Easy navigation, with topics divided into numbered sections to help users quickly location the information they need Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types, guidelines on citing course materials, and guidance on writing clearly, precisely, and concisely Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards (JARS) that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style Updated chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, racial and ethnic identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality Updated chapter on essential style guidelines for scholarly writing, including punctuation, italics, capitalization, abbreviations, and numbers More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, legal resources, and many other document types Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get almost any article or book you need, even if our library does not have access. If you are a distance student you can even request books from the main campus and have them shipped to your home for free.
To request a book we do not own, an article we do not have access to, or a book from the main campus, simply log in to ILLiad using your SHSU credentials and fill out the appropriate form. Please be sure to verify your contact information and mailing address.
For more information, please visit our Interlibrary Loan page.
For introductory information and examples about APA citations, please view our APA Citations guide.
If you need access to the full style guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have print copies you can check out.
Other helpful resources include Purdue OWL and the APA Style Blog.
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System