Research Guides: Education Research: Articles &amp; Classroom Resources

Related Collections

Ask a Librarian

Education Librarian

Misty Schattle

Email Me

Contact:

936-294-4686

Essential Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993.
NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete provides more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for educators, from the school teacher and administrator to students in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window UlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Recommended Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window LearnTechLib is the premiere online resource for aggregated, peer-reviewed research on the latest developments and applications in Learning and Technology by the world's leading publications and authors. Developed and supported for and by researchers, librarians, and educators. This respected resource is more than a typical PDF database of content but is a multi-purpose service and tool. LearnTechLib encompasses 30+ years and 135,000+ peer-reviewed full-text documents and abstracts of published international journal articles, conference papers from 265,000+ leading authors and additional multimedia-rich resources including: Journal articles, Conferences papers, e-Books, Reports, Dissertations, Videos, Keynote Talks, Presentation slides, Webinars, Collections of articles with more added daily.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Education Week This link opens in a new window More than a print journal, Education Week’s online platform is updated weekly with new articles, informational and instructional videos, webinars, and more. Special sections on technology, market trends (K-12), and job searching are also included.
Digital edition of Education Week also available here
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window SPORTDiscus is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes millions of records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology.
Sports Medicine & Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index) This link opens in a new window Sports Medicine & Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Westlaw provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.

Instructional Material Databases

Looking for instructional materials? Check out these databases! Each contains some instructional material including lesson plans, reading guides, author interviews, or grade-level appropriate magazines or reading selections.

TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window Multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books, including thousands of educational resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in both the K-12 and children's/youth program environments. Designed to be used by K-12 teachers, librarians, students, families -- anyone using children's and youth books. Includes Spanish-language resources.
Gale In Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Elementary provides resources for elementary school student research, grades K-5. Sources include magazine and newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries and images.

National Geographic Kids Explore amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space. Best for children aged 6–14.

Gale In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Middle School provides age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines and primary sources for middle school student research, defined as grades 6-9.
Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: High School includes reference content, biographies, primary sources, multimedia, critical essays, news and academic journals for high school student research.
Gale OneFile High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: High School Edition is designed for middle- and high-school students and provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.
Gale Ebooks (*formerly* Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL) This link opens in a new window Contains reference materials and books for use by elementary and middle grade students, in addition adults.

Note on TexShare

Provided through the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, TexShare is a consortium of Texas libraries that have joined together to share electronic and print materials.

TexShare Databases
Red and blue Texas icons indicate a database provided by the TexShare program. Each are accessible through participating academic and public libraries.
Request a TexShare Card
SHSU students, faculty, and staff can request a TexShare card here to borrow items from participating academic and public libraries.
Find a TexShare Library
Find a participating academic or public library here.

Featured Resources

Novelist K-8+

A database containing book details and recommendations for educators and all who support the young readers. Included are:

Fiction and NonFiction (Informational) titles
Read-a-like recommendations by title, author, and series
Reading level information, by age, AR level, and Lexile level
and More!

Education Week

More than a print journal, Education Week’s online platform is updated weekly with new articles, informational and instructional videos, webinars, and more. Special sections on technology, market trends (K-12), and job searching are also included.

ATLAS (Accomplished Teaching, Learning and Schools)

A database of professional teaching videos. ATALAS offers access to more than 1,400 video cases, covering most subjects, grades and school settings, which offer a visual representation of accomplished teaching as performed by a variety of National Board Certified Teachers.

Children's & YA Literature Discovery Tools

NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window NoveList has been helping readers find their next favorite book for more than 20 years, and continues to develop innovative solutions for connecting readers, books, and libraries. The database contains book details and recommendations for librarians, educators, instructional leaders, and all who support the youngest readers in our community. Included in NoveList K-8 Plus are: 1) Fiction and NonFiction (Informational) titles 2) Unique story elements, including appeal, genre, and theme 3) Read-a-like recommendations by title, author, and series 4) Reading level information, by age (0-8, 9-12, and Teen/YA), AR level, and Lexile level 5) Series information (what it’s about and what book comes next) 6) Resources for educators and parents, including books by topic or unit of study, display ideas, etc. 7) Lists! Recommended…, Top 10…, Best of…, Award Winners, I’m in the mood for…., etc.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers full-text, searchable MARC records and reviews of children's books.
MackinVia This link opens in a new window MackinVIA provides easy access to eBooks, audiobooks, educational databases, and videos for K-12 students and teachers. Use MackinVIA on any desktop, laptop, or mobile device with Internet access; content can be embedded into Blackboard or other LMS.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center This link opens in a new window Selected works of major and minor American and English poets, along with international poetry from each continent (with English translations, when available). Also includes audio, video, interviews, lesson plans, assignments, and much more.
Includes Plays and Speeches; Short Stories and Classic Books; Biographies; Critical Analyses; Contextual Essays and Explications for important works; Essays on Poetic Forms, Terms, Techniques and Movements; Multimedia / Audio & Video of poets reading their works; and interviews from reputable sources. Also offers supplemental teaching and learning guides featuring specific lesson plans and tips for assignments.

Streaming Video

ATLAS (Accomplished Teaching, Learning and Schools) This link opens in a new window This database provides professional teaching videos. Access to more than 1,400 cases covering most subjects, grades and school settings. Indexed to standards and frameworks for teachers and students, ATLAS cases offer a visual representation of these standards providing a clear image of accomplished teaching. All ATLAS cases are from National Board Certified Teachers. Each video case has been validly assessed as accomplished practice, according to National Board Standards.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window This platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Education in Video (Volumes I-II) This link opens in a new window Provides resources for both new and experienced teachers to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms, including emphases on education, emerging teaching approaches, special needs, English as a second language, and the US Common Core standards.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.