BUAD 3335 -- Schieber - SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Introduction

BUAD 3335 -- Dr. Schieber

This guide is intended for use in BUAD 3335, Business Communication, taught by Dr. Schieber. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources students may find useful for their coursework.

For additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center, or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right.

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was originally created for Spring 2022's BUAD 3335 taught by Dr. Schieber. Although the guide should prove useful for other similar classes, this is not its original intention.

Research Databases and Resources

You can see all of our Business databases by visiting our Business Databases page.

Below are some recommended resources to get you started.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, & Journal of Business Communication. Trade journals and magazines, such as Business Week, The Economist, & Fortune. Datamonitor reports on companies (many with SWOT analysis), industries, and countries. One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text.
Engine Orange This link opens in a new window Find books, articles, films, and MORE with a single search, from the SHSU library catalog and a large number of selected databases.
Google Scholar (customized to link to SHSU resources) This link opens in a new window Google Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search citations of scholarly books and articles. By using Google Scholar through this custom link on the library's website, your search results will automatically include links to online content owned by SHSU.

Business Plans Handbook
Collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. Click the blue "Online Content" button to access electronically.

Distance Services & Interlibrary Loan

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get almost any article or book you need, even if our library does not have access. If you are a distance student you can even request books from the main campus and have them shipped to your home for free.

To request a book we do not own, an article we do not have access to, or a book from the main campus, simply log in to ILLiad using your SHSU credentials and fill out the appropriate form. Please be sure to verify your contact information and mailing address.

For more information, please visit our Interlibrary Loan page.

APA Citation Information

For introductory information and examples about APA citations, please view our APA Citations guide.

If you need access to the full style guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have print copies you can check out.

Other helpful resources include Purdue OWL and the APA Style Blog.

Instructional/Tutorial Videos

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.

APA Citations

You will be expected to utilize the APA citation styles as you complete your coursework. For introductory information and examples, please view our APA Citations guide.

Our guide is currently for APA 6th edition, however the changes from 6th to 7th are not too significant. Please view the Changes in the 7th Edition page from Purdue OWL for an overview of the main changes. Chapters 8 and 9 near the bottom of the page focus on citations.

Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have copies of the APA Manual (both 6th and 7th editions) that you can use.

SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services