HIST 3390 - SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Introduction

HIST 3390 -- Dr. Amber Godwin

This guide is intended for use in HIST 3390, Conceptualizing History Education, taught by Dr. Julie Combs. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources that students may find useful for their coursework.

For additional assistance, please contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right.

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was originally created for Summer 2024's HIST 3390 taught by Dr. Godwin. Although the guide may be useful for other similar courses, this is not its original intention.

Research Databases and Resources

Access all of our Education Databases.

Access all of our History Databases.

Below are some recommended databases to get you started:

Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Google Scholar (customized to link to SHSU resources) This link opens in a new window Google Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search citations of scholarly books and articles. By using Google Scholar through this custom link on the library's website, your search results will automatically include links to online content owned by SHSU.
Engine Orange This link opens in a new window Find books, articles, films, and MORE with a single search, from the SHSU library catalog and a large number of selected databases.

Select Course Texts and Readings

Teaching World History Through Wayfinding, Art, and Mindfulness by Amber J. Godwin Teaching World History Through Wayfinding, Art, and Mindfulness approaches world history instruction through standards-based arts- and story-telling prompts. Each chapter provides contextualization through stories along with unique pieces of art from around the globe along with inquiries for teachers to examine by themselves and/or with their students through a mindfulness lens. By providing frameworks that support social studies instruction as well as social and emotional skill development. This book uses a wayfinding methodology to explore world history stories through art and provides pathways for instruction through reciprocal dialogues, and art- and mindfulness-based experiences.
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781475870633
Publication Date: 2023-12-15
Integrating primary and secondary sources into teaching : the SOURCES framework for authentic investigation by Waring, Scott Monroe
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780807779217

Distance Services & Interlibrary Loan

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get almost any article or book you need, even if our library does not have access. If you are a distance student you can even request books from the main campus and have them shipped to your home for free.

To request a book we do not own, an article we do not have access to, or a book from the main campus, simply log in to ILLiad using your SHSU credentials and fill out the appropriate form. Please be sure to verify your contact information and mailing address.

For more information, please visit our Interlibrary Loan page.

Instructional/Tutorial Videos

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.