SPAN 5371 - SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Introduction

SPAN 5371 - Dr. Feu

This guide is intended for use in SPAN 5371, Contemporary Spanish Literature, taught by Dr. Feu. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources students may find useful for their coursework.

For additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU-The Woodlands Center, or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right. Thanks!

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was originally created for Fall 2016's SPAN 5371 taught by Dr. Leu. Although the guide should prove useful for other SPAN 5371 courses, this is not its original intention.

Research Databases and Resources

You can see all of our Foreign Languages databases by visiting our Foreign Languages Databases page. Look for the Literary Criticism & Interpretation section.

Here are some recommended databases to get you started.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series I This link opens in a new window U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture, all 50 states, circa 1610-2006. Periodical articles, books, pamphlets, broadsides, and more in full text.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series II: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers This link opens in a new window Provided by the Department of Foreign Languages. Focuses on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains hundreds of rare books, over 3,000 newspaper issues (including rare anarchist newspapers), and over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscripts. Content is mostly Spanish, some English.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window Hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including both Spanish-language papers and papers published bilingually in Spanish and English. Largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Contains thousands of plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, literary criticism articles/essays, author biographies and interviews, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and much more. Also includes a wide range of leading encyclopedias and other works in literary studies.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Centuries of literary analysis, including scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides over a million citations for items from thousands of journals and series published worldwide; indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

MLA Citations

You will be expected to utilize the MLA citation styles as you complete your coursework. For introductory information and examples, please view our MLA Citations Guide.

Also, please note that SHSU-The Woodlands Center has a print copy of the MLA Manual that you can check out.

Interlibrary Services

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get your hands on virtually any article or book you need for your research, even if our library does not have access. Please check out the Interlibrary Services page for more information.

We also have the ability to have print materials from Huntsville sent to TWC for you for free! In order to qualify, you must take no classes in Huntsville or live in Walker County. But if you meet those prerequisites and find any print resources in Huntsville that you want delivered to TWC, just let me know and I'll help walk you through the process.

Instructional/Tutorial Videos

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.

Quick-Search: Find More Books on These Topics

We have a lot more than what's on this page!

TIP: When searching for foreign-language book titles in the library catalog, do not include an article (such as "el") which appears at the beginning of the title.