SPED 6308 - SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Introduction

SPED 6308 -- Dr. Corinna Cole

This guide is intended for use in SPED 6308, Practicum for Educational Diagnosticians, taught by Dr. Cole. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources students may find useful for their coursework.

For additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center, or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, the chat box on the right, or even schedule an appointment to meet via Zoom.

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was created for Fall 2021's SPED 6308 taught by Dr. Cole. Although the guide may be useful for other similar courses, this is not its original intention.

Research Databases and Resources

You can see all of our Education databases by visiting our Education Databases page.

You can search some of the more common Education databases directly below (including those I covered in class plus a couple more).

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window A source for full-text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences, containing all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from numerous journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprints, and allied organizations.
Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window
Although Dissertations in and of themselves are not considered peer-reviewed, they are great sources of information. This database provides access to dissertations from across the country and cover almost any conceivable topic. If you can find even one that is related to your research, mine their reference list for your own use.
Google Scholar (customized to link to SHSU resources) This link opens in a new window Google Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search citations of scholarly books and articles. By using Google Scholar through this custom link on the library's website, your search results will automatically include links to online content owned by SHSU.

Distance Services & Interlibrary Loan

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get almost any article or book you need, even if our library does not have access. If you are a distance student you can even request books from the main campus and have them shipped to your home for free.

To request a book we do not own, an article we do not have access to, or a book from the main campus, simply log in to ILLiad using your SHSU credentials and fill out the appropriate form. Please be sure to verify your contact information and mailing address.

For more information, please visit our Interlibrary Loan page.

APA Citation Information

For introductory information and examples about APA citations, please view our APA Citations guide.

If you need access to the full style guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have print copies you can check out.

Other helpful resources include Purdue OWL and the APA Style Blog.

Instructional/Tutorial Videos

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.