COUN 7374 - SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Introduction

COUN 7374 -- Dr. Robles-Piña

This guide is intended for use in COUN 7374, Statistical Methods for Counselor Education Research, taught by Dr. Robles-Piña. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources students may find useful for their coursework.

For additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center, or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the left. Thanks!

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was originally created for Spring 2016's COUN 7374 taught by Dr. Robles-Piña. Although the guide should prove useful for other COUN 7374 courses, this is not its original intention.

Research Databases and Resources

You can see all of our Psychology databases by visiting our Psychology Databases page.

We also have a number of Dataset Databases.

Below are some possibly useful databases for this course.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files.
Log in at the top right, select "Access through your Institution," and choose Sam Houston State University.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.

Importing Data to SPSS

Import Data to SPSS
Provides a brief explanation, with pictures, showing how to import a dataset into SPSS.

APA Citations

For introductory information and examples about APA citation, please view our APA Citations guide.

Also, please note that although there is not an online full-text version of the official APA guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have copies that you can use. Also, the APA has published an APA Style Guide to Electronic References that can be accessed online. This guide will provide you all the information you need when citing electronic information.

Interlibrary Services

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get your hands on virtually any article or book you need for your research, even if our library does not have access. Please check out the Interlibrary Services page for more information.

Library Catalog

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.