SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services

This is intended as an introductory guide to help students of SHSU -- The Woodlands Center best utilize Newton Gresham Library's resources and services.

Introduction

SPED 5303 -- Dr. Corinna Cole

 

This guide is intended for us in SPED 5303, Study of Cognitive and Low-Incidence Disabilities, taught by Dr. Cole. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources students may find useful for their coursework. 

 

For additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center, or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right. Thanks!

 

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was originally created for Summer 2020's SPED 5303 taught by Dr. Cole. Although the guide should prove useful for similar courses, this is not its original intention.

Research Databases and Resources

You can see all of our Education databases by visiting our Education Databases page.

Some recommended databases are available below. 

[The dissertations database is listed below due to its value as a resource to mine information. If you can find a dissertation dealing with a similar topic, which is very likely considering the size of this database, you can mine its works cited page for your own use. This can sometimes prove incredibly valuable].

APA Citations

You will be expected to utilize the APA citation styles as you complete your coursework. For introductory information and examples, please view our APA Citations guide

Also, please note that although there is not an online full-text version of the official APA guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have copies that you can use. Also, the APA has published an APA Style Guide to Electronic References that can be accessed online. This guide will provide you all the information you need when citing electronic information.

Please note this information is for APA 6th edition. APA 7th edition is similar, but does include some notable changes. For a concise explanation of the major changes, please see this rundown from Purdue OWL

Distance and Interlibrary Services

Although the library is closed for the summer due to COVID-19 and extensive renovations, building materials are still available and can be shipped directly to you. For materials within the building, or for materials we don't currently have access to, simply make a request through our Interlibrary Loan system, ILLiad.

Log in with your SHSU credentials, provide any contact information requested, and make your request using the appropriate form on the left. And, of course, I am here for any questions you have or assistance you need.

 

Instructional/Tutorial Videos

The following video will help you locate the full-text version of an article if all you have is citation information.



Library Catalog


Search for books and other items in the library catalog:

 

 

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz's picture
Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:
936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.

 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System