SHSU - The Woodlands Center Library Services

This is intended as an introductory guide to help students of SHSU -- The Woodlands Center best utilize Newton Gresham Library's resources and services.

Introduction

SPED 6312 -- Dr. Corinna Cole

This guide is intended for use in SPED 6312, Practicum for Educational Diagnosticians, taught by Dr. Cole. Below you will find some key databases and additional resources students may find useful for their coursework. 

For additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. That's why I'm here! You can find me in person at SHSU - The Woodlands Center, or you can contact me via phone, e-mail, or the chat box on the right. Thanks!

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended to help students get started in their research. Also, this guide was originally created for Fall 2022's SPED 6312 taught by Dr. Cole. Although the guide should prove useful for similar courses, this is not its original intention.

Research Databases and Resources

You can see all of our Education databases by visiting our Education Databases page.

Some recommended databases are available below. 

[The dissertations database is listed below due to its value as a resource to mine information. If you can find a dissertation dealing with a similar topic, which is very likely considering the size of this database, you can mine its works cited page for your own use. This can sometimes prove incredibly valuable].

Distance Services & Interlibrary Loan

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get almost any article or book you need, even if our library does not have access. If you are a distance student you can even request books from the main campus and have them shipped to your home for free. 

To request a book we do not own, an article we do not have access to, or a book from the main campus, simply log in to ILLiad using your SHSU credentials and fill out the appropriate form. Please be sure to verify your contact information and mailing address. 

For more information, please visit our Interlibrary Loan page. 

APA Citation Information

For introductory information and examples about APA citations, please view our APA Citations guide

If you need access to the full style guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have print copies you can check out. 

Other helpful resources include Purdue OWL and the APA Style Blog.

 

Instructional/Tutorial Videos

The following video will help you locate the full-text version of an article if all you have is citation information.



Librarian

Profile Photo
Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:
936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.

Library Catalog


Search for books and other items in the library catalog:

 

 

 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System