This research guide exists to assist SHSU students and faculty in finding information on Agriculture provided by the Newton Gresham Library at Sam Houston State University: https://library.shsu.edu
This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources in Agriculture and related disciplines owned by the Library or available on the Internet but rather serves as a starting point for research. Please contact the Agriculture Librarian if you have questions or would like research assistance.
General Agriculture Databases
Databases in Agricultural Science and those that include articles on Agricultural topics:
AGRIS (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology) is a global public database providing access to bibliographic information on agricultural science and technology. AGRIS contains over 8 million bibliographic references on agricultural research and technology & links to related data resources on the Web, like DBPedia, World Bank, Nature, FAO Fisheries and FAO Country profiles.
Provides citation and abstracts, plus some full-text to articles in all sciences, including agriculture, and veterinary science and medicine.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega EditionProvides some full-text articles in all sciences. To focus on Agriculture: select Applied Science & Technology or Biology & Agriculture from the selection box labeled "Subject Area" on the bottom right of the main search page.
GreenFILECitations and abstracts, with some linking out to full text articles, from environmental journals.
JSTOR Plant Science provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. It may be useful for those researching, teaching or studying agroculture, botany, ecology, and conservation studies.
General Science Full TextGeneral Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
Science OnlineScience magazine (1997-current issue), plus ScienceNOW and additional news, multimedia, and other content.
Science Citation Index (part of Web of Science)Science Citation Index (Web of Science) provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of science disciplines, from 1984 to the present. The index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Project MUSEFull-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
MEDLINEHuge database of bio-medicine, veterinary medicine, nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and other allied health science disciplines. Provides some full text via open access titles.
National Center for Pharmaceutical Crops (NCPC)Established in 2004, the NCPC is a pioneer in pharmaceutical crop research in the United States. Pharmaceutical crops are any used for the "extraction or preparation of therapeutic substances such as drugs, active pharmaceutical ingredients, vaccines and antibodies as well as other therapeutic solutions.
National Ag Safety Database- Provides a national resource for the dissemination of educational and research materials to the agricultural safety and health community. - Educates workers and managers about occupational hazards associated with agriculture-related injuries, dea
National Ag Safety Database (NASD) was developed with funding from the National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). The information contained in NASD was contributed by safety professionals and organizations from across the nation.
Call: 936-294-1614, or toll-free at 1-866-NGL-INFO (645-4636) Email: Library@shsu.edu
Text: 936-229-3764 (Learn more) Street Address: 1830 Bobby K. Marks Dr., Huntsville TX 77340 (Map/Directions) Mailing Address: PO Box 2179, Huntsville TX 77341
Ask a SHSU Librarian
During normal SHSU Library hours, you can get LIVE research help from a librarian via chat, email, text, or phone call.