Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
AGRICOLAThis link opens in a new windowMillions of citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, covering all areas of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. Includes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Education WeekThis link opens in a new windowMore than a print journal, Education Week’s online platform is updated weekly with new articles, informational and instructional videos, webinars, and more. Special sections on technology, market trends (K-12), and job searching are also included.
Digital edition of Education Week also available here
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse)This link opens in a new windowCovers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993.
NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Dissertations and Theses Full TextThis link opens in a new windowDissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Dissertations at Sam Houston State UniversityThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Does not include SHSU master's theses. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
Professional Development CollectionThis link opens in a new windowSpecialized collection of high-quality education journals and educational reports, designed for professional educators.
Educational Administration AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowCovers areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
ATLAS (Accomplished Teaching, Learning and Schools)This link opens in a new windowThis database provides professional teaching videos. Access to more than 1,400 cases covering most subjects, grades and school settings. Indexed to standards and frameworks for teachers and students, ATLAS cases offer a visual representation of these standards providing a clear image of accomplished teaching. All ATLAS cases are from National Board Certified Teachers. Each video case has been validly assessed as accomplished practice, according to National Board Standards.
Vocational & Career CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text coverage of trade and industry-related periodicals. Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions, and the general public.
TeachingBooks.netThis link opens in a new windowMultimedia content to complement children's and young adult books, including thousands of educational resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in both the K-12 and children's/youth program environments. Designed to be used by K-12 teachers, librarians, students, families -- anyone using children's and youth books. Includes Spanish-language resources.
Primary SearchThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text for popular magazines for elementary school research. Articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full-text information dates as far back as 1990. Updated daily.
Middle Search PlusThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text for popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Middle Search Plus also contains biographies, primary-source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
MAS CompleteThis link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for high school libraries, MAS Complete is a full-text database providing hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books. Periodicals contained in MAS Complete cover a wide range of subject areas that are of interest to high-school students including art, history, sports, music, film, travel, science, the Internet, fashion, religion, nature, hobbies, current events, fiction and much more. It also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
Texas Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowTexas history, diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, etc. Books, journals, biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas, with Texas and national news coverage.