Research Guides: Scholarly Communication Support: Planning, Conducting, Disseminating, Promoting, & Assessing Research: Research Funding

Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

936-294-4567
eowens@shsu.edu
NGL 223D
ORCID: 0000-0001-9520-9314

I'm Creative Commons Certified! I can advise on CC licenses to reuse, remix, and publish open resources.

Subjects: OER: Open (or Free) Educational Materials, Scholarly Communication

Research Funding

SHSU's Office of Research and Sponsored Programs can assist SHSU researchers in submitting external funding applications and so much more!

SHSU Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP)
ORSP can help researchers in the following areas: Find funding opportunities, collaborators & resources; Enhance quality of proposals submitted for external funding; Develop proposals for submission; Assist with budget development; Negotiate contracts with sponsors; Support intellectual property disclosures and assists with the commercialization; Protect faculty, staff, students and participants during their research; Develop publicity
ORSP Resources for Research Proposal Development
The Office of Research & Sponsored Programs has curated resources for use in research and proposal development. These include examples, templates, webinars, boilerplate language and guidance to ensure you have the necessary tools to develop a competitive proposal.
SHSU Facilities Database
Equipment Database

GrantForward
SHSU ORSP has partnered with GrantForward to bring the SHSU research community a powerful funding search engine. Authorized users can create an account to save opportunities of interest, set up alerts, etc.
Foundation Search
Grants.gov
scientifyRESEARCH Curated database of research funding opportunities. Includes both free and paid tiers of access.
More funding sources listed by SHSU ORSP
Includes internal funding opportunities from SHSU colleges and departments

Open Grants
A repository of openly shared grant applications "so that all stages of the process can benefit from better interaction and communication and to provide examples for early career researchers writing grants."

Budget Basics for Grant Writing: A Handbook of Budget Basics for Writing Grant Proposals by Leslie Paige and Misty Koonse
From Fort Hays State University Office of Scholarship and Sponsored Projects

"Learn Grant Writing" YouTube Channel
"Once upon a time, a grant writer unearthed a big problem: there were no options for learning to write grants in a modern, refreshing way. Existing options were “old school” and expensive. The idea? Create an online learning experience that makes grant writing approachable and fun. Learn Grant Writing was founded on the belief that our time should be spent adding real value to our communities and leading fulfilling lives."

Books / Ebooks at SHSU

Includes general titles as well as titles specific to disciplines and funding agencies (e.g., NIH).

Creating Winning Grant Proposals: A step-by-step guide by Anne L. Rothstein
Call Number: LC243 .A1 R67 2019 (4th floor)
The Insider's Guide to Winning Education Grants by Dakota Pawlicki; Chase James; Gregory Michie (Foreword by)
Call Number: Read Online - Or print is available: LB2342.4 .U6 P38 2014 (4th floor)

SciENcv (the Science Expert Network Curriculum Vitae) is a researcher profile system for all individuals who apply for, receive, or are associated with research investments from federal agencies.

SciENcv provides one place for you to compile information on your expertise, employment, education, and professional accomplishments. You can create copies of past documents and re-tailor them for new purposes. Then it provides tools to export finished biosketches in the exact formats required by various agencies.

Available Templates: NIH Bio Sketch, NIH Fellowship Bio Sketch, NSF Bio Sketch, NSF Current & Pending Support, IES Bio Sketch.

As of October 23, 2023, the NSF requires the use of SciENcv to create both biosketches and Current & Pending Support documents.

SciENcv

SciENcv is located inside MyNCBI, and it requires a third-party login -- that is, you cannot create a unique username and password to access SciENcv, but must use an existing account from these options (or create a new account in one of these tools):

eRA Commons *
Google
ORCID *
Login.gov
Microsoft
NIH
NCBI *
Sam Houston State University (click "more login options" and find SHSU in the alphabetical list)

* these are good choices if you already have significant data about your work entered in these systems

As needed, follow the prompts to create a new NCBI account or link an existing NCBI account to your chosen method of login.

NIH YouTube videos about using SciENcv

SHSU Workshop on SciENcv - Download Slides (PDF)

Basics

Some journals charge article processing charges (APCs) to publish articles in open access, in theory to replace the subscription costs that fund traditional paywalled publishing.

In some cases, a journal publishes only open-access articles with APCs. Other journals use a hybrid model, in which the author of each article can choose between paying an APC for open-access publication or letting the article be published behind a subscription paywall. Authors are responsible for APCs, but may pay them with grant funds or may have access to funding from their institution.

Open Access Funding Resources Suggested by IGI Global
Funding for open access articles One way to fund open-access publishing is to budget for APCs in a grant budget. This list from Springer Nature shows research funders and institutions worldwide that fund open access article-processing charges (APCs).
Where can I find available funding for my open access book? From OAPEN and the Open Access Books Toolkit

FACT: Not All Fees or APCs are Predatory

Many long-established and well-reputed journals now offer APCs as an option when publishing to give authors choices. Existence of a fee is not predatory--determine why the publisher charges a particular fee, what service or value is being provided in exchange, and whether you judge it to be an acceptable exchange. If you are unsure about whether a particular publisher fee is appropriate or predatory, do not hesitate to contact the Scholarly Communications Librarian for consultation.

A guide to potential costs associated with publishing your manuscript This page from Sage Publishing is helpful in distinguishing types of potential fees, including APCs, color charges, permission fees, and more.

FACT: Open-Access Doesn't Always Cost

Many journals now publish their content in open-access format without passing fees along to the author. These journals generally have an alternate funding model, such as financial support from a scholarly society or university. If you need or want open-access publishing but can't or won't pay APCs, search the DOAJ for zero-fee OA journals, or ask the Scholarly Communications Librarian for suggestions.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) "DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals."

Beware of Fine Print

Open-access publishing agreements from some publishers, such as Elsevier and Wiley, may contain "fine print" or loopholes you may easily overlook. Although the article is published with a Creative Common license that provides free online access and broad reuse rights for readers, it may also grant the publisher an exclusive right to earn a profit from the work -- blocking you from commercial uses of your own work. Learn more in the article below from the Authors Alliance.

Read your open access publishing agreements, or: how you might accidentally give Elsevier or Wiley the exclusive right to profit from your OA article

Flowchart: When Should I Consider Paying APCs?

This flowchart may assist you in determining whether it is "worth" paying an APC for a particular publication, especially if the APC funding was not included in a grant budget.

Flowchart: To APC or Not (PDF)

SHSU Waivers from IGI Global

As part of SHSU's subscription agreement with IGI Global, researchers at SHSU may be able to access waivers to publish open-access (OA) articles at no cost in hybrid or gold IGI journals. Request waivers through the online OA Waiver Request form.

More About OA Publishing with IGI
Browse IGI Journal Titles
Use the filters on the right to narrow by subjects and categories.

SHSU Discounts from Elsevier

SHSU authors are eligible for discounts on APCs with some Elsevier journals.

Authors publishing in Elsevier Gold OA journals receive a 10% discount
Authors publishing in Hybrid OA journals receive a 15% discount
Cell Press titles, The Lancet, and certain society titles are excluded from these discounts
There is no cap on the number of OA articles SHSU authors can publish using these discounts

Eligibility Criteria:

Submission date must be on or after 1 July 2022
Corresponding author must be affiliated with SHSU
Must be a participating journal

If you have questions about obtaining a discount for an upcoming publication, please contact the SHSU library.

Request a Consultation