This section is intended for subject/reference librarians for general information about journal subscriptions (including packages and multi-year renewal) as well as individual titles processed via our subscription agent (EBSCO).
Please submit an access problem ticket if you are unable to access a journal title. If you have questions about pricing, or subscription terms - please email the Serials Acquisitions librarian (Teri Oparanozie, 4-1623) if you have questions or concerns about a title.
Large E-Journal Publisher Packages:
American Chemical Society (ACS)
ACS Web Editions
Legacy Archives
American Physical Society
APS ALL
American Psychological Association (APA) (vendor: EBSCO)
PsycArticles
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
ACM Digital Library
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews
BioOne
BioOne.1
BioOne.2
BioOne Open Access
Duke University Press (Project Euclid)
Euclid Prime (canceled after FY2019)
Perpetual access to years paid (2010-2019) and titles become open access after 5 years.
Elsevier
ScienceDirect Core Titles
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Emerald
Emerald Management 120 (also called Emerald Insight)
IEEE Computer Society
Computer Society Digital Library (CSDL)
IGI Global
InfoSci Journals
JSTOR
Oxford University Press
Project Muse
Project Muse Premium
Sage
Sage Premier All Access
Sage Journals Deep Backfile
Springer
Springer TSUS Consortia Core Titles
Americas Package
Taylor & Francis
University of Chicago Press
Complete Chicago Package
Wiley
Core Subscribed Titles
2011 Full Collection
Springer Core Journals and the Americas Package
Vendor: EBSCO
TSUS consortia coordinator: Scott Pope (Texas State University)
License term - 3 years: January 1, 2015-December 31, 2017
2015-2017 license perpetual access: titles subscribed by SHSU, Lamar, Texas State U, and Stephen F. Austin Univ for the years published during the 3 year term. We are supposed to have access and perpetual access to the subscribed titles of all of the consortia members. Complimentary access to Americas package. Complimentary access for Subscribed and Americas package titles back to 1997 if available. No perpetual access to complimentary titles and years.
In preparation for the new 2015-2017 license we dropped 8 subscriptions (9 titles because 1 subscription included 2 titles Journal of Comparative Physiology Part A and Part B) for a total of $28,609.93. We continue to have access to 6 of these titles because they are part of the Americas package and we have access to the others because other consortia members subscribe to them. We added 28 titles at a cost of $28,827 for a net increase of $282.07. See CORAL for details.
Sage (TSUS consortium)
New license starting 2016 for 3 years January 1, 2016 - December 31, 2018
TSUS consortia coordinator: Scott Pope (Texas State University)
Vendor-EBSCO
12/22/2016--Paid the invoice--Tiffany Drakeford and Hal Stafford from EBSCO both said the account number is ok. 12/16/2015--EBSCO sent us the Sage invoice but the account number may not be correct and the 2016 order is not in EBSCONET so I emailed Tiffany Drakeford to check on this before paying.
12/8/2015--Received countersigned copy of Sage 2016-2018 license and saved it in TS shared drive and CORAL.
12/7/2015--I updated the 2016 Sage Premier title list in the Tech Services Provider folder with the one Chris Ellis sent on Dec 3, 2015 and also saved it in Coral.
11/30/2015--I emailed to Scott Pope our copy of the license signed by President Hoyt on 11/24/2015.
License almost done. Scott Pope checking on signature pages for schools, missing holdings information for some titles on the title lists in the license.--10/30/15. Sage has added holdings info for titles and signature pages correct, prices for 2016-2018 reflect 4% increase which is correct, takeover titles from 2013-2015 license added. License has been printed for SHSU President's signature. Ann H noticed the license did not have the effective date so she is going to write in January 1, 2016 and send it to President Dana Hoyt.--11/19/15
The following titles were taken over by Sage for 2016 to which we had subscriptions through EBSCO but they have not been added to Premier collection yet. We can cancel them if we want to before Sage adds them:
BRITISH JOURNAL OF MUSIC THERAPY has been taken over by Sage starting with v.30:1 2016. It is not on our 2016 title lists from Sage so it must be a late takeover--Chris Ellis from Sage verified this is correct. TLO 12/11/2015. We have a subscription through EBSCO to the BRITISH JOURNAL OF MUSIC THERAPY MEMBERSHIP (print + online).
The online needs to be set up in Pub Finder. No changes are needed for the print portion.
Perceptual and Motor Skills--EISSN 1558-688X
This was on EBSCO Price Changes list as increasing in price by 90% from $620 to $1216. Ann H says we need it and it has good amount of usage so we will maintain our e-journal subscription through EBSCO but I am emailing Sage rep about it. Transferring publisher is Ammons Scientific LTD. Transfer Digest says effective transfer date is 11/19/2015. It is also in EBSCO's Education Source aggregator database. Sage rep Chris Ellis says it is a late takeover and not in Sage Premier 2016--won't know if it will be added to Sage Premier until about August 2016 and he doesn't have info yet on why the price increased so much or whether it will remain in Education Source.
Psychological Reports--EISSN 1558-691X
This is also transferring from Ammons Scientific LTD. We have an e-journal order for it through EBSCO. It has even higher usage than Perceptual and Motor Skills. I bet the price is also going to increase from $620 to $1216. I am emailing Sage rep about it. Transfer Digest says effective transfer date is 11/19/2015. It is also in EBSCO's Business Source aggregator database. . Sage rep Chris Ellis says it is a late takeover and not in Sage Premier 2016--won't know if it will be added to Sage Premier until about August 2016 and he doesn't have info yet on why the price increased so much or whether it will remain in Education Source.
Email from Scott from 9/24/15 and 9/29/15 update:
Attached is the proposal presented by Sage. Our deadline for this proposal is October 30, 2015
The basic facts (Option 1 in the attached)
--3-year license (they don’t do 5 year licenses)
--2016 5.5% increase from 2015 Reduced to 4%
--2017 5.0% increase from 2016 Reduced to 4%
--2018 5.0% increase from 2017 Reduced to 4%
--they won’t change their takeover management
Options 2 and 3 in the attached are if each school does additional 1-time purchases at this time (Angelo State spending $13k, Sam Houston spending $25k, Stephen F. Austin spending $15k, Texas State spending $47k, Lamar spending $20k, and Sul Ross spending $13k).--No schools adding one-time purchases up to the level required.
1) Jenny Hock says Angelo State has no funds for one-time purchases
2) April Aultman-Becker says Sul Ross will also not be buying one-time purchases
I’m not very happy with the price increase, and would like to go back with a counterproposal, but we don’t have a lot of leverage. (I have looked at GWLA for non-members and SCELC affiliate members, but the fees would eat up any savings). Unfortunately even some of the bigger consortia are paying 5%.
I am still waiting on an answer from Sage on the following questions
1) Jenny Hock’s question on what does “holdings for 2016” mean in the spreadsheet--subscribed titles we had to maintain during the 2013-2015 license that were taken over by Sage
2) Teri Oparanozie’s question on the Journal of Historical Research in Music Education (is it part of Sage Premier)--no, taken over by Sage but too late to add to 2016 Premier collection
3) Also checking on Applied Spectroscopy - EBSCONET shows it as a Sage title and we have an individual order on it but it is not listed in the Sage Premier 2016 package. Scott Pope is checking with Sage - 10/29/15--Scott confirmed with Sage that this title is not in the 2016 Premier package. I have maintained a separate order on EBSCONET for it.
ScienceDirect (TSUS consortium)
New license starting 2016 (5 years for January 1, 2016 - December 31, 2020)
I updated Coral with provider list for access checking and package changes for cataloging for both Core and Freedom Collection.
TSUS consortia coordinator: Scott Pope (Texas State University)
Vendor-Elsevier
1/29/2016 I received the countersigned license and added it to CORAL.
12/9/2015--Jermie paid Elsevier invoice
12/2/2015--I emailed Scott Pope to check on the perpetual access of our core subscribed and Freedom Collection package. For our core titles we have perpetual access for the years paid. For the Freedom Collection there is no perpetual access. We may want to update the 899 info. Looks like Glenda cataloged all of the Freedom Collection titles as ScienceDirectEJOURNALS-subscription and the core titles as ScienceDirectCore--purchased. I think we should change the Freedom Collection 899 to say ScienceDirectFreedom--I addded this note to CORAL in the Cataloging section for Freedom Collection.
For the following title that is both core and in the Freedom Collection: STUDIES IN HISTORY AND PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE PART A, I have a question about what bib record our order for the core should be on -- it is currently on a print bib record that does not specify part A but we also have a bib record for the online for Part A which has the 899 for the Freedom Collection. Maybe we should move the orders to the online bib that says Part A and put 2 899s on it and take the 899 off the print bib?--I added this note to CORAL in the Product - Package Changes section of the Core Titles resource record.
11/24/2015--I emailed the license signed by President Dana Hoyt to Miriam Garcia at Elsevier and copied Scott Pope and Kenyatte Baylor. The printed copies have been mailed by Terrie Newman on Monday, November 30, 2015. Waiting on countersigned copy.--I emailed Miriam Garcia to see if the countersigned license has been sent because I have not seen it--1/28/2016
11/30/2015--I received the ScienceDirect invoice that was emailed by Elsevier on 11/26/2015 and gave it to Jermie to pay.
Order commitment deadline: 9/30/15. License to be negotiated by sometime in October 2015.
Update on license negotiation - 9/29/15 email from Scott Pope: Getting close to completing the license. Teri sent some items for Scott Pope to send to Elsevier. Ann Holder hasn't reviewed the license yet--10/30/15. Elsevier has made all of the changes Teri requested except one--still need to add starting access date for our core titles. Elsevier changed the Freedom Collection start date from 1/1/2012 to 1/1/1995--checking with Scott Pope to see if that is how it should be--it was 1995 in the 2011-2015 license. 11/11/15
11/17/15 Gave to Michael 2 printed copies of the final version of the license which has the changes we requested so he can give them to Ann to have President Dana Hoyt sign them. Then we should scan and email one copy to Elsevier and mail the other 2.
1) if we do one-time purchases in future years can we get an amendment to lower our inflation rate?
Answer: No, if there were large purchases in the future Elsevier could offer a discount on the one-time purchases, but not change your ScienceDirect contract
2) Can we freeze our Freedom/UTL fee, i.e. set it at 0% instead of the same inflation rate as our journal subscriptions?
Answer: No; however, Elsevier can offer a 3.5% inflation rate on the Freedom/UTL fee.
So, that leaves us with a 4.25% inflation rate for our journal subscriptions and a 3.5% inflation rate for our Freedom/UTL fee.
I think this is as good as we’re going to get, and from what I hear from other schools, this is a very low inflation rate for Elsevier.
Is everyone ok with this ScienceDirect renewal? If so, we’ll go ahead and start working on the licenses.
Teri replied 9/29/15 saying Yes for SHSU. We want to make some swaps to our subscribed titles and get the Freedom Collection but will not make any one-time purchases. We decided not to swap any titles at this time. 10/30/15
Wiley Core and Full Collection
License amendments are signed annually to reflect changes in title lists each year. The amendment refers to the 2011 and 2014 licenses. The 2014 license says the expiration date is December 31, 2016.
Vendor-EBSCO
2/12/2016--I had Jermie add the Wiley invoice to Sirsi manually because I was tired of trying to figure out why it wouldn't load by EDI.
1/11/2016--The Wiley invoice has been received from EBSCO. It has been paid in BearKatBuy but we are still have problems with EDI invoicing in Sirsi so it has not been added to Sirsi yet.
1/20/2016--I received the countersigned license from Wiley and saved it in Tech Services provider folders and in CORAL. I replaced the signature page with the countersigned page in the Director's Office files. 1/11/2016 I emailed the SHSU signed copy (Dr. Hebert) of the license to Wiley -- I put the 2 printed signed copies in the Director's Office for now. . 1/4/2016--The license was emailed to us on 12/24/2015. I am emailing it to LIB_ERL so Ann can get it signed and sent to Wiley for countersignature. The core titles are correct and 2011 Full Collection is included. We have received the invoice from EBSCO which has the correct prices--will pay it in BKB but not in Sirsi--still trying to get EDI invoicing working in Sirsi.
12/14/2015--Received email from Noorain Azman, Wiley Sales Support Coordinator that our Wiley Enhanced Access License invoice has been sent to EBSCO. Ronald Tegeti emailed me and said the license will be sent soon from their license administrator, Mavis Theordore, for our signature but Wiley does not hold up the renewal and activation waiting for the license document to come back from the customer.
12/7/2015-I emailed Ronald Tegeti to check on status of final quote and license that we are waiting on
Need to decide if we should add an individual EBSCO order for ECONOMIC GEOGRAPHY which is a core Wiley title transferring to Taylor & Francis. It has had a little usage. See Wiley renewal file on Tech Services drive for details.
11/30/2015--I emailed Ronald Tegeti at Wiley confirming that the core titles are correct- except for a typo in the title American Journal of Community Psychology, and that we are NOT upgrading to the 2016 Full Collection. We will keep the 2011 Full Collection because we don't have the money to upgrade -- we did not look closely at the titles included in it. I found out in 12/14/2015 that this email was used in lieu of the invoice agreement letter and final price quote documents.
11/19/15 Verified with Wiley that they are taking over AMERICAN JOURNAL OF COMMUNITY PSYCHOLOGY from Springer and that it will become one of our core Wiley titles for 2016. It has a lot of usage.
Renewal email received from Wiley 10/13/15
American Physical Society - APS-ALL
Vendor-American Physical Society
Renewal signed and emailed 10/16/15. The invoice was received and paid 10/23/2015.
Project Muse Premium
Vendor-EBSCO.
EBSCO sent invoice--Jermie submitted it for payment 10/23/15
11/19/15--Tiffany Drakeford at EBSCO has canceled and will request credit for the separate orders for the following 2 titles because they have been added to the 2016 Project Muse Premium Collection. I also asked her to have them added to our Project Muse Premium Collection on EBSCONET:
JOURNAL OF SOUTHERN HISTORY: (print title no. 497364000, coverage 82(01/16)-82(12/16) on invoice 7529424, account DV-S-47460-00 dated 11-11-2015 for $100.00
American Chemical Society - ACS Web Editions and Legacy Archives
Vendor-Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Invoice received 10/19/15 and invoiced in Sirsi but some problems in BKB, still pending 10/27/15--invoiced in BKB 10/30/2015 and check disbursed 11/18/2015.
Association for Computing Machinery - ACM Digital Library
Vendor-Amigos
Renewal approved and emailed 10/27/15. I asked for title list and clarification of resources included. Chris Burke from AMIGOS sent some urls to separate lists of the journals/transactions and proceedings but they could not be downloaded so I converted them to PDF files and saved them. Someone found a combined excel list that includes the journals/transactions and proceedings. All 3 lists have been saved in CORAL.
Invoice received and paid in Sirsi 11/5/2015 and in BKB
Oxford University Press (OUP) Journal Package
Vendor-Amigos
I updated Coral with provider list for access checking and package changes for cataloging.
12/16/2015--received the invoice from AMIGOS and put it in Jermie's folder to pay.
12/9/2015-Erica said Tier C pricing is what the Society who publishes the Publications of the Astronomical Society of Japan told her the price should be. She doesn't have the criteria they use. She found 2 titles that are slightly less in price than on the original quote (Aristotelian Society titles) and those have been updated. Final price is $40,391.53. I emailed her to renew and invoice us for this.
12/7/2015--I emailed Erica Owusu at AMIGOS to check on pricing of JOURNAL OF ENTOMOLOGY (no charge because it was a 2015 takeover) and to explain how she calculated the 15% Access Fee of $1228.80 (new titles to which we did not have previous subscriptions but she is checking on Tier C pricing of one title). I told her we want to renew after those 2 questions are answered.
I had Jermie check for orders and/or 899 info for the takeover titles.
Renewal info received 10/27/15. Need to review this information and respond.
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library (CSDL)
Vendor: IEEE
Ann Holder says this package is needed for computer science accreditation but do they need the proceedings as well as the journals? --Proceedings have high usage so keeping them for this year.
I was able to get an account set up (although they used my email and I have asked to see if it can be changed to LIB_ERL). The usage of the proceedings for January - November 2015 has been quite high : 1,122 articles which is a cost per use of about $5.95. I told Georgann to go ahead and renew this and send us the invoice for $21,399. 12/1/2015--invoice received and paid 12/7/2015.
Renewal info received 10/6/15
Emailed new rep about resetting account login, Excel spreadsheet of titles. Vendor sent spreadsheet for journals and link to spreadsheet for proceedings. The webpage for the proceedings also had a spreadsheet for the journals but the holding dates differed from spreadsheet rep had sent. Rep says her list is accurate in that some issues were published earlier which is the date in her file but IEEE has not been able to locate those issues to digitize them to include in the CDSL.
It is probably better to use the list from the website for url checking because that is what is actually available. I will save both lists in CORAL and include this explanation. 10/30/15
Maybe we should look at option of smaller package which does not include the proceedings: IEEE Computer Society Periodicals Package for $14,725 versus $21,399 that includes the 4800 or so proceedings. Proceedings have high usage so keeping package that includes them.
University of Chicago: Complete Chicago Package
Vendor: EBSCO
These titles are part of JSTOR CSP (Current Scholarship Program)
On long EBSCO 2016 renewal so already renewed but email received directly from Univ of Chicago rep 10/26/15 with information about title lists, etc. He said 6 titles have been added and 2 dropped. Need to check impact on EBSCO individual orders.
Springer Core Journals and the Americas Package
Vendor: EBSCO
TSUS consortia coordinator: Scott Pope (Texas State University)
License term - 3 years: January 1, 2015-December 31, 2017. This license for the 2015 title lists was signed very late--in September 2015 and we received a countersigned copy December 8, 2015 which has been saved to TS shared drive and CORAL.
12/8/2015--In response to my request that we need to get a new title list for 2016 including titles the consortia members have added or dropped and changes in the Americas package, Scott Pope sent a grid that has worksheets for the titles of each consortia member and a combined "Consortia Subscribed Unique" worksheet that can be used for access checking for our core titles. It also has a worksheet for the Americas Package titles and "2015-2016 New Starts" to which we have access but no perpetual rights.
We have access to our core titles and the core titles of the members of the Consortia and to the titles in the Americas Package and to New Starts.
One of our core Springer titles is being taken over by Wiley for 2016 and is being added to our Wiley Core titles: AMERICAN JOURNAL OF COMMUNITY PSYCHOLOGY. I have notified EBSCO and Wiley. 11/23/15 TLO
Some of the titles that we canceled for 2015 were in EBSCONET for 2016 renewal as Americas Package titles (access only) but still had the 2014 ILS Sirsi PO numbers. I updated EBSCONET and changed those ILS numbers to: CANCELED AS SPRINGER CORE TITLE 2015 and notified Tiffany Drakeford about them--11/23/15 TLO
11/23/2015 I authorized and submitted the Springerlink e-package renewal on EBSCONET. I also emailed Tiffany Drakeford at EBSCO and asked her to change the subscriber code for Behavior Analyst from 01 to 02 which she said she has done.
12/7/2015 We have received our 2016 Springerlink invoice from EBSCO. Still having problems with EDI invoicing. Will pay it in BKB but not in Sirsi for now.
Emerald Management 120 eJournals
Vendor: Amigos
2015-2017 license (1/1/2015-12/31/2017) was countersigned 2/9/2015.
1/8/2016--We received the invoice from Amigos and paid it in November 2015. I emailed our Emerald reps today to verify whether the title list and coverage for 2016 is the same as 2015. I also asked if we could get a list of all of our entitlements because the new admin module does not provide an easy way to download those titles. Glenda found we had access to 45 more titles than were in the 120 title package so maybe some of those are due to titles in previous packages to which we have perpetual access. Rep Emily Simon sent a title list for 2016 which I added to the Tech Services drive and to CORAL. She said to send questions about the platform/admin module to their support email which I have not done yet. I updated the resource record I had put in Coral for the 2015-2017 license. I added a 2016 renewal record in Coral on 1/28/2016.
We also received notification from Emerald that they updated their platform and we had to activate the new admin module. I saved the Online Access License we had to agree to before the activation. It did not require a signature--just had to say YES to it.
Annual Reviews
Vendor: Annual Reviews
We purchased the 2010 archival backfile collection covering v.1 to 2004 which includes 30 titles.
For 2016 we have the Science Collection of 41 titles (not including title changes). There are no new titles for 2016 which are normally complimentary for the first year and if you add them the second year you also get perpetual access to the first year.
The renewal information was sent in July 2015 and a reminder was sent in December 2015. On December 4 I told the rep we would renew at 41 titles...we did not want to add the 2 new titles that were introduced in 2015: Annual Reviews of Linguistics and Annual Reviews of Vision Science. I was trying to get a title list and did not get a response. I just realized the invoice was sent on December 4 which I just gave to Jermie to pay on January 20, 2016.
I am still working on getting the title list. I have one I downloaded that shows title changes--I need to review it again. 1/20/2016
I need to add 2016 renewal to Coral.
Euclid Prime (from Project Euclid)
Vendor: Duke University Press
2/2/2016I added a resource record and information to CORAL.
2/1/2016 I was able to get the invoice and it has been paid.
1/20/2016 We received an email on August 5, 2015 that 2016 pricing was available for Euclid Prime and that we should be receiving a renewal in August but I can't find the renewal in my email--I will contact them about it today. The notice said there are 27 titles in the 2016 collection including one new title: PROCEEDINGS OF THE INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON GEOMETRY, INTEGRABILITY AND QUANTIZATION.
See excel spreadsheet on the Tech Services drive in the following folder that includes additional packages not listed here which includes notes about requesting renewals: Y:\Acquisitions\Serials\EJ Packages\SirsiFundedOrderlines-EJpackages_FY2017
Wiley Core Titles and Full Collection
NGL license (no consortia)
2017 amendment to the license dated January 1, 2011 and amended on January 1, 2014
(Notes from 2014) Amendment license for 1/1/2014-12/31/2016. Perpetual Access back to 1997 for core titles. Core collection fee for 2014 $144,419.41. Years 2 and 3 have 5% price increase cap but if average aggregate price increase for a calendar year is less than 5%, the lower percentage will be applied. Following titles not available via this Agreement but can be ordered separately: Econometrica; Quantitative Economics; Theoretical Economics; and Journal of the European Economic Association. Can swap core titles if do not exceed 5% of the value of the total Core Collection for any calendar year. Notify Wiley by Nov.1. Add new titles at full only-online institutional rate. Takeovers: added to core if library had a previous subscription for the year in which the title is transferred. Transfer out titles will be deleted from Core in year of transfer.
License includes 2011 Full Collection access back to 1997 but only to years paid if cancel subscription. About $5000. We have made the decision not to upgrade to more recent versions of the Full Collection because the new titles added each year have not been of that much interest to us. We started subscribing to the Full Collection in 2011.
10/29/2016 - I emailed Wiley rep to renew our 2017 Core and 2011 Full Collections. We will need a 2017 license amendment to sign.
11/15/2016 - Email sent by Mark Finley containing license to sign. Michael forwarded it to Kat to check while I was in Guyana. Looks like we may not have signed the license yet - Teri checking further - 3/6/2017.
3/8/2017- Mark Finley noticed we have not signed the license and sent another copy for us to sign.
Project Muse Premium
Paid through EBSCO. Received invoice 8/24/2016 but held and paid in FY2017 on 9/23/2016.
Saved EBSCO invoice in CORAL but have not compared it to a list from the publisher yet. 10/20/2016
Sage Premier All Access
2nd year of 2016-2018 TSUS consortia license
10/19/2016 I responded to EBSCO's email and included a list of the 909 titles for Sage Premier 2017 package from Sage's website to compare to the list of 778 titles EBSCO had sent plus notes about 6 titles for which we have to maintain separate subscriptions. See details in CORAL.
10/27/2017 - Totishia Oden from EBSCO said she sent me an old title list and the one I had sent to her is correct. I am still checking on one title that EBSCO says was removed but Sage still has on their list: POLITICAL SCIENCE.
Springer
TSUS consortia. Vendor: EBSCO
EBSCO has this one package set up on its e-package renewal system.
I emailed EBSCO 10/22/2016 saying:
The Springerlink e-package renewal has the correct SHSU Subscribed titles and cost for those titles.
However, according to our Texas State University System consortia license we also have access to the Non-subscribed Americas package and to the titles of our consortia members.
If the Available Titles in the e-package renewal are supposed to represent the Americas package and/or our consortia member titles, then it is incorrect because it has 2,116 titles whereas our Americas package has 1377 titles and our unique consortia subscribed titles including our library’s subscribed titles is 205. Why are there so many more Available titles on EBSCO’s list compared to our TSUS lists?
I am attaching files from EBSCONET and from our consortia for you to look at.
The files mentioned are on the Tech Services drive in the folder: Y:\Acquisitions\Serials\Journal Renewals including EBSCO\2017 Journal Renewals\EBSCO Springer 2017
1) Copyof_REVISED SPRINGER_JOURNALS_ 2017_TSUS_RENEWAL MASTER GRID_9.22.16
2) EBSCO_Springerlink_E-packageRenewal_TooManyAvailableTitles_DV47460-69_2016Oct22
10/262016 - Totishia Oden from EBSCO responded that she is following up with our Springer E-resources rep to verify the discrepancy in the EBSCO Available title list compared to the publisher's list.
IEEE Computer Science Digital Library
Vendor: IEEE
10/24/2016 I emailed our rep, Georgann Carter, approving the renewal of our 2017 e-journal package for $22,045 which is a 3% increase over last year.
She had also sent info about 3 video collections that are one-time purchases that I passed on to Cole Williamson as the Computer Science bibliographer and asked him work with Zach Valdes if he wants to purchase any of the collections.
Ann Holder said last year that this e-journal collection is needed for accreditation.
10/27/2016 - We received the invoice but Trina noticed it has tax so I emailed the rep and sent a tax exemption certificate
American Chemical Society - ACS
Vendor: Texas State Library and Archives Commission
2 packages: Web Editions (current issues) and Legacy Archives (older issues) - renewal emailed to Russlene W at TSLAC on 8/30/2016
Complete Chicago Package
Vendor: EBSCO
Renewal email: Rich Connelly, University of Chicago Press, 6/22/2017.
The University of Chicago Press would like to thank Sam Houston State University for your continued subscription to the Complete Chicago Package.
We are contacting you now because the time to renew your subscription to the Complete Chicago Package for the 2018 calendar year is quickly approaching.
Chicago is pleased to offer Sam Houston State University two options for renewing in 2018:
Your existing Current Content subscription includes all content that was published after the journal went online, usually about 20 years for most titles, for a total of 82,000 articles. The Full Run CCP grants access back to Volume 1, Issue 1 of every journal – roughly 400,000 articles.
I responded 6/22/2017: Do you know if the backfiles of some or all of these University of Chicago Press titles are available in JSTOR? We have purchased most of the JSTOR Archive collections so I wouldn’t want to pay for the backfiles again if the content is already available in JSTOR.
EBSCO - paper copy of renewals dated 6/1/2017 for:
APS ALL Online -- APS renewal/invoice received - COMPLETED
IEEE Computer Science Digital Library - IEEE vendor - emailed vendor to renew it - 11/1/2017
Table of Contents
ScienceDirect (TSUS consortium) Cataloging E-Journals. 2
September 11, 2007, Update to ScienceDirect 3
September 12, 2007, Update to ScienceDirect 4
December 3, 2007 Update to ScienceDirect 5
November 24, 2008 Update to ScienceDirect 5
Wiley Project (TICUL consortia) – Cataloging E-Journals. 6
Update to Wiley 12/21/07 TLO.. 6
Update to Wiley (Wiley taking over Blackwell titles) 8/22/08 TLO: 7
Wiley 2009 Renewal – Serial Cataloging 8/25/08: 7
Individual Journals paid through Ebsco – MIT Press as publisher 8
American Physiological Society Journal Legacy Content 8
Sage Premier –TSUS consortia (and Sage Criminology Fulltext Collection) 9
Sage Update: 4/10/08, TLO.. 10
Springer E-journal package (TICUL consortia) 8/22/2008 TLO.. 11
Springer Update, gg 12/5/08. 11
Springer Update, gg 8/18/10. 11
American Society for Microbiology Journals. 12
Ecological Society of America Journals. 12
Gale Virtual Reference Library (individual e-books) 12
How to Handle for Annual Statistics for ACRL and Academic Library Survey. 12
Handbooks in Economics (Elsevier e-books) 13
Reference Universe (Paratext) 14
American Institute of Physics. 15
American Institute of Physics – Dropped Titles. 15
EMERALD (management journals) 16
EMERALD (management journals) Update 2/3/09 – gg. 17
EMERALD (management journals) Update 1/27/09 – tlo. 18
EMERALD (management journals) Update 3/9/09 – tlo. 19
American Chemical Society (ACS) Web Editions and Legacy Archives – 1/28/09 –tlo. 19
Texas Historical Newspapers. 19
American Periodical Series. 20
New York Times Historical Database (Proquest) 20
Utilizing a spreadsheet created by Sandy Greening, a project was undertaken beginning in late August, 2007 to analyze electronic resources to which the library individually subscribes through Elsevier ScienceDirect as well as those resources for which access is granted via consortial agreement. Seated within the Science Direct package is a previous package of licensed and subscribed titles through Academic Press (IDEAL).
The purpose of this project is to facilitate the extraction of data, when desired, to check the viability of URLs for electronic resources; track changes, cancellations, additions, etc to title listings in electronic journal families and packages; and assist with statistical reporting.
Electronic journal titles missing from the catalog are being imported from OCLC.
All ScienceDirect titles are being edited as follows:
Early in the project note was made of the fact that many of the titles are not shown as HELD in OCLC.
A problem with the display of 007 fields in the production server was addressed. The 007 field displays correctly in the test server but not in the production server. Both the 007 and 899 fields tested well in the test server, and information can be pulled from these fields even in records containing multiple occurrences of these fields. Linda Turney will apply a “fix” to the production server in an effort to solve the display problem. She will also configure the 899 field in the production server. The 007 and 899 fields will then be tested in the production server.
After successful testing, work will continue on the ScienceDirect project including the addition of 899 fields in each bibliographic record. Codes for these fields will be taken from a table created for this purpose as well as for future projects and reports. Each 899 field will contain:
|
Subfield b |
Format/Type of Material |
|
DB |
Database |
|
EB |
Electronic Book |
|
EJNL |
Electronic Journal ONLY |
|
JNL |
Journal |
|
EJP |
Journal Package |
|
Subfield c |
Method of Acquisition |
|
Indv |
Individually Subscribed |
|
Consor |
Consortially Subscribed |
For the Academic Press (IDEAL) package of licensed and subscribed titles seated within the Science Direct package, the 899 fields will be configured with subfields “a” and “b”. Subfield c will not be coded and will be considered as undefined for these titles. Some journal records already contain a 710 field with Project Ideal coding. These 710 fields will not be edited.
Coding in this manner occurs when the spreadsheet shows that no member of the consortia owns the title; the only reason the consortia has access is because SHSU bought the title through Academic Press.
The table containing 899 codes will be revised with an addition of one or more columns holding funding codes and/or description to support statistical gathering and information needs. Teri Oparanozie and Linda Turney will collaborate on this revision.
The applied fixes and configurations for the 007 and 899 fields appear to have been successful. Testing is yielding positive results.
An additional subfield has been added. Subfield “z” will be used for notes. Notes will be preceded by a data entry person’s initials (lowercase) and a space. Note: use the same initials as appear in your SHSU email address.
|aSciDir|bEJNL|cConsor|zgig note notenotenote.
No need to add 899 coding for:
The ScienceDirect project is complete with the exception of cleanup on some holdings on a few titles that was delayed until now because of the legwork and time involved. These efforts will now be undertaken.
Security Journal is published by MacMillan Palgrave, not Elsevier ScienceDirect. We have an order through EBSCO for online only-single site access. Cost was $661 for 2008 subscription. TLO. 899 |aIndvEJNL |bEJNL |cIndv
Credo Reference (reference e-book package) (Originally called Xreferplus)
TLO 6/25/08
Wiley Package is contained within EJS because we pay for the package through EBSCO.
Code Wiley titles as |aWiley|bEJNL|cIndv for the titles for which we pay a fee. There are some titles that are “free” that are chosen by Wiley to be included in the package. These can change from one year to the next. I don’t think we have added bibliographic records to our catalog for those. (tlo 12/2/07)
Glenda Griffin received a list of Wiley titles from Teri Oparanozie. We own these 17 titles both in print and electronic format (except for one title that is online only: Journal of Investigative Psychology and Offender Profiling.) These titles are paid through Ebsco. The titles were edited as needed to contain correct and active URL’s and correct call numbers. Print MARC holdings records were edited and corrected. LHR’s were edited and corrected. 007 and 899 fields were added. 899 fields were added as |aWiley|bEJNL|cIndv for the titles for which we pay a fee. Free “access-only” titles were not added to the catalog.
The Wiley project was completed on 12/3/2007 (gg).
Glenda added a subfield z to the above titles so they look like:
899 |aWiley|bEJNL|cIndv|zgg Paid through Ebsco.
The titles Glenda added are the Wiley titles that SHSU subscribes to. This package is part of the TICUL consortium. We also have access to the titles from consortia members for a total of about 316 titles. These consortia member titles have not been added to our catalog. If these consortia titles are added, the coding for them would be: 899 |aWiley|bEJNL|cConsor.
Eric has a list of the 2007 titles on the t drive under: Electronic Resources/Title Lists/Wiley/TICUL 2007 Master Titles Held. I added a list of the 2008 Wiley SHSU titles to the t drive under: Electronic Resources/Title Lists/Wiley/Wiley 2008 SHSU titles.
Update to Wiley 12/21/07 TLO--I spoke to Janice about whether Glenda should catalog the consortia Wiley titles. She said she would rather have our subscribed titles to our other packages done before adding the consortia members’ titles from these packages (e.g. Wiley, Springer, etc.). Also, packages like the British Periodicals where we are paying for the backfiles as a one-time permanent purchase would also take priority over adding consortia member titles from packages like Wiley and Springer.
So, the cataloging for the Wiley titles can be considered done for now.
Also, Eric has added all of the Wiley titles (SHSU subscribed and consortia) to A to Z with the correct dates.
I also noticed that if the print bib record was used and there is also online access, two item records are attached: one for the print with an item type of MAGAZINE which displays in the OPAC as “Periodical” and one with an item type of ERESOURCE which displays in the OPAC as “Electronic Resource” along with their appropriate location codes.
Update to Wiley 1/16/08: The above paragraph notes the existence of item records with item type “electronic resource” for titles that also have an item record for a “magazine” (print). This has been changed. An item record for “electronic resource” is no longer added to records that have both electronic and print versions. An item type of “electronic resource” only exists for records that are online only because SIRSI forces us to create at least one item record for every title. Previous records have been cleaned up. gg
Lily Rodriguez (Wiley-Blackwell) Senior Account Manager emailed Eric on 8/19/2008:
Your decision to keep print will not impact your EAL. Print is always optional and I do not need to know which titles you will be keeping in print. You may order through the agent or through our customer service dept. Print will be 15% of the list price for 2009.
I will need to keep the two invoices separate for 2009, since they are different deals. You do not have a Blackwell collection license agreement, so you may continue to order your subs in the available formats through an agent or our customer service dept.
The Blackwell subscriptions will not be combined with your EAL for 2009. We will be introducing the new combined sales model to you for a 2010 agreement.
I hope I have answered all your questions-if not, please don’t hesitate to let me know.
I will have the invoice agreement letter sent to you for the EAL fees which will be invoiced direct.
Glenda received a list of 17 titles from Teri O. on 8/25/08 for Wiley renewals for 2009. These appear to be the same 17 titles from last year, so no new titles were added to the catalog. Teri noted the existence of a catalog record for Asia-Pacific Journal of Chemical Engineering (online). This title was previously an opt-in title for Wiley (free of charge) that now carries a cost. We are not adding this title to our collection. This catalog record could not be tied to any other package or collection, so it was removed. gg 8/25/08
899 subfield z note “paid through Ebsco” removed from subscribed titles 12/9/08. gg
Paid online directly to Wiley instead of EBSCO for 2009 subscriptions. Also, had faculty on campus review the print subscriptions which would have cost an additional 15% per title—decisions were to drop all of the print subscriptions…noted on EBSCO 2009 renewal. Tlo 11/3/08
899 subfield Z note “Paid through EBSCO” should be removed from our subscribed titles since we are now paying direct to Wiley for the online. Also, Glenda noted that subfield b will be changed from JNL to EJNL since we now have online-only. TLO 12/8/08, 12/11/08
899 subfield z note “paid through Ebsco” removed from subscribed titles 12/9/08. gg
Seven individual journals paid through Ebsco with MIT as publisher were analyzed and edited as needed. We purchase both online and print versions of these titles. A-Z links were added and/or verified for online access. 899 fields were added as: |aIndvJNL|bJNL|cIndv.
gg 1/31/08
Ann Holder told Eric to order this package of archival journal content. There is a one time fee of $1500 and no ongoing fees. This will be paid as a firm order but for the 899 fields we have coded it as EJP (electronic journal package.)
All, we have created a quick excel sheet showing you what we would get out of the archive offer from the American Physiological Society. It looks like the AJP has put a lot of the last 10 years worth of content on the web for free, but nothing before that. We have scattered holdings for a couple of the titles going back quite a ways, but nothing comprehensive. It would be worth it to buy the archive just to get the dreg-n-drabs off the shelves and have the full run of the titles. I have put the content we would NOT gain as red as we have current subs to that content already through our normal subscriptions. I have put the titles we have subs to in green. There is a column for our print holdings, and a column for what we get online. If you have any questions please feel free. See file: AJP Archive 02-28-08.xlsx
E
899 |a AmPhysioSJArc |b EJP |c Indv |z One time fee paid FY2008. No ongoing fees. TLO 2/28/08
Cataloging for this package completed in April, 2007 - gg
We added the Sage Premier online package in FY2007 and have been paying the invoice directly to Sage. We have to maintain our expenditures at a certain level for the Sage Premier package based on the Sage subscriptions we had in 2007. As part of this deal we have access to all Sage titles online back to 1999. Prior to the Sage Premier deal we had subscribed to “Criminology: A Sage Full Text Collection” which provided fulltext back to the beginning of each journal in that package. We are continuing to pay a fee for the Criminology FTC-- the 2008 Sage Premier invoice has a fee of $9,415.35 for the “SAGE Criminology FTC.” (Currently there is no one time purchase of the backfiles available for the Criminology Collection.) Other members of the consortia do not have access to the Criminology Collection.
However, there is an overlap of eight titles between the Criminology Collection and the Sage Premier SHSU titles. (The 2008 Sage Premier renewal does not list the Criminology titles individually like the 2007 renewal did but there is a list on the Sage website at ww.sagefulltext.com/home.aspx?id=1.) In 2007 we kept the overlapped titles because we still wanted to get them in print. In 2008 we dropped the print to most of the Sage titles. The consortia contract will be up at the end of 2008, so we maybe we can negotiate to drop duplicate titles at that time.
In the 899 field, I think we should code the Criminology Collection titles as SageCrim and code the Sage Premier titles as SagePrem. The 8 titles that overlap should be coded for both collections.
899s will be put in the print records since we still have print holdings even though we dropped the current print subscriptions. We will only code the NGL subscribed titles for now, not the consortia titles. Example:
For Sage Premier titles: 899 SagePrem |b EJNL |cIndv
And for the Sage Criminology Collection: 899 SageCrim |bEJNL |cIndv
The code “Sage” was used in the 899 field in about 5 titles, prior to deciding to use SagePrem. Glenda will change those to SagePrem. A few of these were titles that are also part of ScienceDirect but were transferred to Sage. In some cases the title is now part of Sage Premier as one of the consortial titles, so those are being coded with “899 SagePrem |b EJNL |cConsor” even though the other consortial Sage Premier titles are not being put into Sirsi yet.
We had a faculty review of Sage print titles and dropped most of the print (that is, we did not renew EBSCO print subscriptions) for 2008. For the drop form and list of titles see “T:/NGL/Tech Services/Serials/Forms/FY2008 Journals/Sage print sub drops”.
We decided during the faculty review of the Sage titles that we would keep print for the following 2 titles:
Journal of Management Education 1052-5629
Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin 0146-1672
Young Exceptional Children --We also decided to keep print through EBSCO for now for Young Exceptional Children which started distribution through Sage beginning March 2008. Ann Holder said we can review it for 2009 to see if we want to drop the print at that time. Eric filled out a Format Change form 2/28/08 for print to print-plus-paid-online through EBSCO.
Community College Review --A question about another title, Community College Review, came up at the beginning of February 2008. EBSCO had not renewed the print for 2008 and Ann said that was ok, we don't need the print for that title. (I was assuming this title was on our SHSU Sage Premier invoice for 2008 but it is not. It is on the consortia list so we do have online access to it.)
Sexual Abuse-- transferred from Springer to Sage in 2008. It will be part of the Sage Criminology Collection (and Sage Premier?) We still have a print only subscription with EBSCO for 2008 and have received v.20 no. 1 March 2008 issue. Need to see if we want to drop the print for 2009 if we have electronic access through Sage.
In response to Eric’s request, Nicholas Andersen from Sage sent an email on April 1, 2008 with the breakdown of 2008 prices for SHSU Sage Premier titles. It says there is an annual, contracted, 5% price increase per title and a charge for the Premier Access which is also subject to the contracted 5% increase over last year’s price. There is also a separate fee for the Criminology FTC. The file of the titles and prices is at: T:\NGL\Tech Services\Electronic Resources\Statistics\Sage Online Journals\Title lists\TSUS Consortial Deal.
The titles to which we have access including those from the consortia are in the following file:
T:\NGL\Tech Services\Electronic Resources\Statistics\Sage Online Journals\TSUS Premier Title List.
--TLO 4/3/08
Sage Update: 4/10/08, TLO—Discovered we have not received the last issue or two of most of the print 2007 subscriptions even though we have been claiming them through EBSCO. Perhaps Sage cancelled our 2007 subscription when we started the Sage Premier 2008 package. We did not tell EBSCO to cancel the 2007 orders. As far as I know we just marked them off the EBSCO 2008 renewal list. Carolyn faxed a list of the missing issues to Charles Rink (Carles.Rink @sagepub.com) at Sage today. He told her something similar had happened to Angelo State University and he will start sending us our missing issues and let her know when the process is completed. He will also try to find out what caused this to happen. Carolyn also told Hilda Murillo to hold off on contacting Sage about these titles since Carolyn has already done so.
NASSP Bulletin—this is on the list of Sage print titles to drop after 2007 but we have not received an issue since v.90 no.2 June 2006. I think it may have been part of the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) membership to which we still subscribe but it is no longer listed as part of that membership. We have closed the holdings with v. 89, 2005.
All titles in the Sage Premier package (only those individually purchased by NGL) and the Sage Criminology package were reviewed. 899 codes were added and missing records were imported. Editing was performed as needed.
We received the invoice for dual access (online portion of print plus online titles) directly from Springer for 2008 subscriptions in August 2008 for $4,068.12. (EBSCO handled part of the dual access renewal process but we ended up paying Springer directly.) The list of titles and prices for NGL is at T:\NGL\Tech Services\Electronic Resources\Statistics\SpringerLINK\Title Lists\2008. We paid the full print price including the shipping cost to EBSCO in December 2007 plus our 4.3% handling fee for a total of $44,658.32. (For 2009 I’m not sure if we are still supposed to pay the full print price or a deep discount print price and pay full online price? See Custom Rate Consortium Renewal Process info.—We are paying full print price (actually a capped print price—7% increase per year so it is less than regular list print price—tlo 1/27/09) to EBSCO and 10% online Dual Access Premium to Springer for 2009. Tlo 1/23/08)
A list of all of the titles for the consortia is at T:\NGL\Tech Services\Electronic Resources\Statistics\SpringerLINK\Title Lists\2008 All Springer Journal Collection_and_New Start 08. We have access to titles in both worksheets in that file for 2008 which is all of Springer’s titles except third party titles.`
Springer license says we can drop up to 2% of the base price but we are supposed to let Springer know by November 1st each year. During the term of this Agreement the annual subscription price of each journal will increase by no more than 7% per year. The Licensee agrees to pay the Licensee’s prior year rate plus 7%, or the current year list price, whichever is less. Licensee agrees to pay a Dual Access Premium of 10% of the current year’s list price for to each paper subscription for which paper and electronic access is required. Electronic access to new start-up journals will be included at no additional cost during the first year of publication. Electronic access to future volumes of these journals may be added at the request of the Licensee, at the start of the next subscription year.
Analyzed and edited 39 catalog records for titles purchased from Springer. Appropriate 007, 899 and 530 fields were added or edited. Individual links to A-Z were added, edited and verified. Consortial titles were not cataloged at this time.
Custom title list for SpringerLink in A-Z removed 8/18/10. The managed list in A-Z was turned on. Our consortial access includes approximatel 1,612 titles. The managed list contained a number in excess of the 1,612 titles. Titles without access were de-selected leaving approximately 405 extra titles in the managed Springer list in addition to our 1,612 consortial access titles. The 405 extra titles have some access; we don’t know why, but we left them on.
In February, 2008 a set of 1022 electronic serials catalog records for the American Historical Newspaper (Early American Newspapers), Series I, 1690-1876 was purchased from OCLC. A-Z access was added to each catalog record. Each record contains an 899 code of AmHistNews1|bEJNL|cIndv and AP2. A2 A44 as a call number. gg
Cataloging was completed for 7 electronic journals and one package level record for the American Society for Microbiology package on May 5, 2008. The 899 code AmSMicrobio|bEJNL|cIndv was added along with A-Z links for the 7 journals. The library owns print for 5 of the journals and two are electronic only. The 899 code AmSMicrobio|bEJP|cIndv was added to the package level record as well as the appropriate URL link. gg
Cataloging was completed for 4 electronic journals for the Ecological Society of America on May 13, 2008. The 899 codes EcoSAm|bEJNL|cIndv and JSTOR|bEJNL|cIndv were added as well as the appropriate URL link. Three existing records were edited and one record was imported. gg
Decision 6/28/07 by Janice, Teri, and Eric
Treat expenditures as individual e-books rather than Reference and Aggregated Services
--one time price for each title plus small annual hosting fee based on number of books (1-10 books is $50 per year hosting fee up to cap of about $600 for 50 books or over?)
--we have to make individual selections for these books rather than these being a collection the publisher/vendor puts together for us (like Xrefer Plus now CredoReference or Oxford Reference Books online)
--Credo Reference and Oxford University Press are treated as subscriptions by their vendors and have a substantial fee each year (They are more like databases; reference book databases)
--if we decide to purchase individual Oxford or titles for Oxford Reference Books or Credo Reference we will treat them as individual e-books (library owned).
--hosting fee is on a separate invoice and is listed as a subscription for GVRL but the 2005-06 ACRL Supplement Statistics say to include the hosting fee with the cost of the e-books so this means we will treat these hosting fees as e-book costs rather than as subscription costs. Will put short bib record in Sirsi and shadow it (“E-book hosting fees”.) In the “Parts in set” section of the purchase order line we will put the subscription period; e.g. GVRL 7/1/07-6/30/08. Also in a note in the PO line we will indicate from the invoice how many volumes the hosting fee is for; e.g. 1-10 books. The fund for the hosting fee will be E-F-EB-HOST. (This fund will be used for e-book hosting fees regardless of whether the books are NGL owned or consortia owned.)
--acquisitions will use E-F-EB-REF fund for these books to indicate that they are electronic, firm order, e-book, and Reference fund. The print version would be on the Reference fund so putting these on REF fund. (Decided not to break down these funds by whether they are NGL owned or Consortia owned—tlo 6/3/08.)
Use individual electronic resource records for each of these book titles even if we already have a print version of the title.
Put a note in the bib record somewhere that these are part of the GVRL collection so we can count how many we have to verify we are being charged the correct hosting fees each year.
May not need a separate record for Gale Virtual Reference Library in the catalog or on the library web page if these titles can be searched via the Credo Reference interface. Eric will verify this. 7/24/07 updated tlo
Upfront/one-time purchase, similar to your ScienceDirect (SD) journal backfile collections:
- One-time fee for perpetual access with 8% annual maintenance/platform fees.
- 24/7 unlimited access by all your authorized users
- Unlimited simultaneous access by your users
- Shelf space savings
- This option is provided with perpetual rights upon purchase.
- etc.
For 2008 one-time purchase price for Sam Houston State University is $10,900 with an additional $872/year maintenance costs for updates. (Invoice received is for $10,900 only; no 8% annual maintenance/platform fee for FY2008 for 1/1/08-12/31/08.)
The licensing will be done by an amendment to your existing ScienceDirect license by an amendment sent to your institution only. No new license is required.
Janice and I were discussing how these should be counted for statistics so we could figure out the funds to use in acquisitions. Count as e-books rather than Reference and Aggregation Services. For the one-time purchase use E-F-EB-ECO. (We also discussed using E-F-EB-REF since we think of “handbooks” as being more of a reference book than a monograph but we have some print volumes of the series and some of those are in MAIN; others in REFERENCE. But using ECO helps me to identify the subject area.) There will be an annual fee for access and ongoing updates to the series but Janice does not think there will be very many volumes added each year. We talked about using E-F-EB-ECO (or could use E-F-EB-HOST)for the ongoing fee since I was thinking of it as an e-book hosting fee but it could also be set up as a subscription since volumes may be added. There are sub-series within the main series and some of the sub-series titles have several numbered volumes. The publisher decides what will be in the set but it is basically all one series. I think the final decision may depend on how the annual fee is invoiced. I am leaning more toward using a firm order purchase order and voucher rather than a dated purchase order and voucher.
Eric thinks these should be counted as e-books rather than Reference and Aggregation Services since we are paying a one-time fee for perpetual ownership of these titles which is different than Oxford Reference Online or Credo Reference where we lose the access if we stop paying the subscription fees.
According Abe Korah, the print books that we currently have in the Handbooks in Economics series are:
Handbook of Law and Economics--2007--Reference book
Handbook of Agricultural Economics v1,v2--2001--Circulating book (no new editions)
Handbook of Labor Economics--1986--Circulating book (no new editions)
Handbook of Econometrics 1--1983--Circulating book (additional books 2-6A have been published, with 6A being published in 2007 which contains parts 14-17)
There are currently 23 titles (57 volumes) in the set. It does not come with marc records so we will have to bring in our own from OCLC. The titles are searchable in the ScienceDirect database. Urls are available that link directly to the individual titles.
TLO 6/25/08
Provides indexing to reference books both print and electronic that our library owns. The chapter headings and index pages are included. Electronic Resources Librarian sends them a file of information from Sirsi about our titles. We have to ftp a file to their production server and they update our holdings. We can do this 4 times a year.
899 |a RefUniverse |b DB |c Indv
Acquisitions is paying this as a subscription and counting it as a Reference and Aggregation Service (RAS).
TLO 6/17/08
Previously, the library received access to American Institute of Physics journals through a consortial agreement (for 2007 only). Currently, we do not own a journal package for American Institute of Physics; however, we do purchase individual titles from this publisher. These titles are thought of and referred to as “AIP journals” often enough that the decision was made to code them for AIP. Four titles were coded with 899__|aAmInstPhys|bEJNL|cIndv with a note in subfield |z as “previous consortial package through Amigos for 2007 only. These are now individual journals”.
gg 11/5/08
Eight titles were dropped from AIP. Several of these journals were still accessible in A-Z through other databases, mostly aggregator databases such as Academic Search Complete. In order to keep the catalog record and the electronic link in the catalog record, a decision was made to create a very general 899 code for the records that link to the aggregator databases only.
However, note must be made that we are NOT making a focused effort to catalog all journals in aggregator databases. Furthermore, to quote Teri O., “If any other active code is in the bib record already, then we do not need to add the AgDb code since there will already be a reason for the url to remain in the bib record. For example, assume that a title is in JSTOR, AIP, and Wilson OmniFile and we have 2 codes in the bib record, one for JSTOR and one for AIP. Then the title drops out of AIP but is still part of JSTOR. We would not need to put the AgDb code into the bib because we would be keeping the url in the bib record due to the JSTOR access. However, if the access is AIP and Wilson OmniFile and it drops out of AIP, then we would put in the AgDb code because the only access left is through an aggregator database, and we would keep the url in the bib record.”
The code for the aggregator databases is 899__|aAgDb. We will not use a subfield |b or |c for these titles.
gg 11/5/08
AIP provides the platform for two titles, published by the American Association of Physics Teachers, that NGL purchases. NGL purchases the print and the online versions of these titles. These individual journals are NOT purchased from AIP. The journals received 899 coding as follows:
899__IndvJNL|bJNL|cIndv
gg 11/5/08
AIP provides the platform for a journal package published by the American Physical Society. NGL purchases the package. Included in this package is a search engine/database/archive titled PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive). PROLA contains searchable archived issues for the journal package. These journals were coded as follows:
899__|aAmPhysicalS|bEJNL|cIndv
One additional title, not included as a purchased title, is also available through APS. These were coded as:
899__|aAmPhysicalS|bEJNL|cIndv|zgg Free journal.
The package level record for APS is named APS-ALL and is an acquisitions order record with Billing as a location. This record is suppressed from public view.
gg 11/5/08
In 2003 we started a 3 year license for Emerald Fulltext (later called Emerald Insight?—the A-to-Z Find a Journal Title database provides a link to “Emerald Insight” but when you click on that link, the Emerald website just has “Emerald”—tlo 1/23/09) which provided fulltext online access to 110 Emerald journals, subscribed directly through Emerald. It cost about $2000 per year. It was counted for statistics as an e-journal package. We had 5 print subscriptions (Aslib Proceedings; The Electronic Library; Library Hi Tech; and Reference Service Review; and Policing) through EBSCO and could not drop the print as part of the license agreement and the print was at a reduced price. In 2005 we also subscribed at a reduced price of about $500 to the online version of Emerald Management Reviews which provided indexing to several hundred management journals which we coded as a database or Reference and Aggregation Service for our statistics.
I believe in 2007 or 2008 we switched to a package and paid it through AMIGOS called Emerald Management Xtra which provided fulltext to 125 journals and provided a discounted print price of $467 for the 5 print titles. We thought we got the Emerald Management Review with that but we didn’t.
For 2009 we changed to Emerald Management Xtra 120 (EMX 120) which provides fulltext access to 120 journals and includes Emerald Management Reviews.
At the beginning of FY2009 Eric and I thought that for statistics we should treat Emerald Management Xtra 120 as an RAS (reference and aggregation service) because it now combines 120 fulltext journals (which was called Emerald Fulltext) with Emerald Management Reviews which indexes over 400 journals. We have bib records in the catalog for Emerald Fulltext and Emerald Management Reviews. I had Carolyn key in a short bib record for Emerald Management Xtra and added a purchase order to it as an RAS order. (Glenda, we should probably catalog this and overlay this short record with an OCLC record.)
However, in November we found out that Emerald would allow us to drop our 5 print subscriptions or pay just $100 per title for the print. Ann Holder said to drop the print to 4 titles (Aslib Proceedings; The Electronic Library; Library Hi Tech; and Reference Service Review) but keep the print for Policing: An International Journal of Police Strategies & Management. Since we are using journals in this package to replace print and since there are so many fulltext journals in the package, I think it should be treated as an e-journal package. I changed the 2009 order in Sirsi back to an e-journal order and changed the information in the "Codes for Electronic Record Sets" back to EJP instead of RAS.
I believe we have not added bib records for the individual journal titles to our catalog for the 120 titles that are fulltext and I'm not sure about the priority for doing that. We do have a 3 year license for this package and have been subscribing to it in one version or another since 2003.
The library database webpage has Emerald Fulltext in the alphabetical list and on the business subject page. Emerald Management Reviews is not listed on the library webpage--perhaps it should be mentioned in the description for Emerald Fulltext and maybe we should change "Emerald Fulltext" to "Emerald Management Xtra?"
The price has increased greatly, partly because our university has increased in size and I think Emerald may now be pricing by FTE.
2009 EMX120 (3 year agreement)
2009 – $10,100
2010 – $10,706
2011 – $11,348
tlo 12/12/08, rev. 3/9/09
Five original titles were cataloged in this package:
899__|aEmMgt|bEJNL|cConsor (forjournals #1-4 above)
899__|aEmMgt|bEJNL|cIndv(for #5 above)
The remaining titles in the package will be cataloged as consortial. These titles were added into the catalog in February, 2009.
Since we are now paying a large amount for online access to the 120 titles in the Emerald Management Xtra package, and we have access to these titles due to our individual library’s payment, and since we no longer have to maintain print and have dropped print for all but one title thereby relying on this package in place of the print, I think we should catalog and code all 120 titles as individual (Indv) in subfield c of our 899 coding. Glenda got a list of the 120 titles from Eric and she and I were discussing the coding. We pay for this package through AMIGOS and may be getting a discount in the overall price but the package is not based on the subscriptions of the separate libraries combined. Rather, I believe Emerald selects the titles to be in the package and I believe the package is fairly stable.
I also spoke with Janice to get her viewpoint on whether to code the Emerald Management Xtra titles as individual or consortia. She agreed that we should treat all 120 titles as individual.
Up to this point we have considered packages and databases purchased through AMIGOS to be consortia purchases because AMIGOS would negotiate a cheaper price with the publishers based on how many libraries would agree to subscribe to a particular product. (It used to be called the AMIGOS Plus service but I think it is now called the AMIGOS Member Discount Service.) We also pay a membership fee to be a part of AMIGOS. Janice suggested that we treat AMIGOS as a separate type of entity and indicate if a product is purchased through AMIGOS but not necessarily treat the product as consortial, because we don’t have to track our titles separately from the titles of the other members of AMIGOS. The deals where we have to track our individual titles (because we pay only for our titles but have access to other titles) are for Sage (TSUS), ScienceDirect (TSUS), Springer (TICUL), and Wiley (TICUL). One other package for which we track our individual titles is rather strange: American Chemical Society Web Editions (TexShare paid through AMIGOS)—we pay for 7 subscriptions but have access from ACS to about 30 titles.
I removed “(Indv/Consor)” from Emerald Management Xtra and from Emerald Management Reviews in the column that is labeled “Database/Package Method of Acquisition i/c”.
I have not yet indicated in the Codes table the packages which are purchased through AMIGOS.
The latest suggestion is to add a code to subfield c in addition to Indv and Consor, which would be |cAmigos.
Our final decision was to code the one title to which we still have a print subscription through EBSCO as Indv in the 899 subfield c in order to track it in the Emerald Management Xtra 120 package. The other titles in the package have been coded as Consor in 899 subfield c. Also, we will not add any separate coding in the 899 subfield c for Amigos since we can track this as a vendor in the acquisitions system in Sirsi WorkFlows. Also, I added back the (Indv/Consor) designation for this package in the Codes table.
This started out as a TICUL consortia deal. We had 9 titles with print subscriptions through EBSCO and paid an extra 10% to ACS and were provided with online access to those title plus about 20 other titles. We then added an annual subscription to the backfiles for all 30 or so titles for less than $1000 per year.
In 2005 the model switched so that we paid for the online subscription and the print subscriptions were 10% extra.
Five records were added to the catalog in February, 2009 for Plant Management Network. The records represented four journal titles and one package level record. 899 coding is as follows:
PlantMgtNet|bEJNL|cIndv (for the journals)
PlantMgtNet|bEJP|cIndv (for the package level record)
gg 2/24/09
57 records were added to the catalog in August, 2009. This project required original cataloging of 31 titles. These 31 titles were also contributed to OCLC.
As of 12/18/09, 1711 APS records were added and/or edited in the online catalog. All of these records were linked (URL added) to the online package via the A-Z list, and a number of them have updated MARC holdings and LHRs. A complete MARC holdings and LHR project for this set will be conducted at a later date.
gg 1/25/10
This database is comprised of two titles:
New York Daily Times
New York Times
Links from bibliographic records in SIRSI to the A-Z list were added 1/25/10
gg
In late March 2010, 79 PsycARTICLE titles were edited or added to the catalog. URLs and 899 coding were added.
In August, 2010, 49 Annual Reviews titles were edited as needed, thus updating the Annual Reviews collection. Of those, 25 were new imports from OCLC. The title list in A-Z was also edited to show current coverage and new titles added. Gg
We purchase the IEEE CS Digital Library as an undifferentiated package, meaning we are entitled to everything in the Digital Library package back to vol. 1 or as far back as the society has completed digitization. The DL consists of Magazines, Transactions, Letters, and Proceedings. To find out if we are entitled to access a title, go to the library page on the IEEE Computer Society library website. There you will see
http://www.computer.org/portal/web/csdl Going here tells you we are entitled to this title. ….BUT this page is not sufficient to determine why you aren’t seeing the title in A-Z. In this particular case, the Local History is needed.
HISTORY: As the computer science bibliographer, I noticed that in searching A-Z for a computer-related titles, the prolific Proceedings entries for the DL would fill up any search, plus the proceedings entries were always behind.. by at least 2 years, so new Proceedings were not reflected in A-Z. The proceedings have separate titles for each entry (one for 2009, one for 2010, etc.), so there are a LOT of entries, and the sheer numbers frequently would relegate entries for big-time computer science journal titles to the 2nd or 3rd screen of display in A-Z.
In 2010 we were continuing to have major linking problems with all Computer Society titles. I could not deal with the two situations of trying to get the links to work, and EBSCO having a hard time keeping up with refreshing the DL package of titles, so in the fall of 2010, I asked EBSCO to make a separate list of the titles for the CSDL that did not include the proceedings. (I may have told them to just include magazines and transactions, not realizing there is one letter. We can ask them to update the list to include the letters.) I figured we could always ask for the Proceedings as a separate group if we wanted to include them in A-Z. The display screens for computer-related titles are now much cleaner, and it is much easier to find journal titles. I should add that I also looked at our NGL Databases and indexing sources, and could not find any that indexed the proceedings … thus we did not appear to need them in A-Z for Linksource purposes. [This situation could change without notice as indexes change the sources they are indexing, so that is why we try to provide “just-in-case” linkout capability for all our titles.]
To summarize, we are entitled to everything in the CSDL, but the whole package is not represented in A-Z, per NGL request.
gg as per JPL 2/8/12
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System