Acquisitions Homepage

GOAL OF ACQUISITIONS: To purchase materials for the library collection selected to support the research, curricular, and service information needs of university students, faculty, and staff from appropriate vendors in a manner which is timely, efficient, and cost-effective.

TRANSLATION:  Order and Receive Books, eBooks, Databases, Journals/Magazines, Music CDs, Music Scores, DVDs  (not including government document depository items or gift materials.)   Pay for materials, including one-time and subscription electronic resources.

Michael Hanson:  Head of Technical Services  (ext. 41620)    Email Michael

Coordinate the purchasing and subscriptions of the following material types in order to best suit the established collection development policies and maintain the quality of the NGL collection.

• print books
• eBooks
• streaming media titles
• non-book firm orders (DVDs, music scores, etc.).
• one-time electronic orders (OT) (ex. archives, back-files, etc.)
• serials (individual journals and journal packages)
• databases

Manage periodic projects throughout the year in order to identify gaps, maintain and weed the library collection

Liaison between Technical Services staff and other Library departments

Collaborates with Electronic Resources Librarian to gather, interpret and disseminate valuable library usage and cost statistics (including annual IPEDS statistics).

Assist the Electronic Resources Metadata Management Librarian and Head of Acquisitions to administrate EBSCO Publication and Full-Text Finder

Assists the Electronic Resources Librarian and Electronic Resources Metadata Management LIbrarian to administrate EBSCO Discovery System (EDS), and  ERM (electronic resources management) system:  CORAL

Assist the Electronic Resources Metadata Librarian with library catalog maintenance and policies/procedures.

Angela Morse:  Head of Acquisitions and Serials (ext. 41623)

Coordinate the ordering, receipt and payment of print and electronic serials; assist with authorization of standing orders

Coordinate & order subscription and one-time purchase databases

Reviews licenses for library materials and acts as coordinator between the Executive Director of Library services who has license signatory authority, the TSUS legal counsel, and vendors

Liaison between serials publishers and Newton Gresham Library

Troubleshoot e-journal access problems, including authorization to update holdings in the EBSCO Holdings Management system

Help coordinate and oversee the budgeting and reconciliation of accounts for the library materials collection

Sirsi Workflow admin for the acquisitions and serial control modules

Supervisor to Lucy Mendoza and Christine Charles

Zach Valdes:  Electronic Resources Metadata Librarian  (ext. 42512)

Coordinate & order eBook and eVideo sales, package/collection and other special orders

Co-administer & oversee PDA eBook program; troubleshoot eBook access problems

Liaison between monograph publishers/vendors and bibliographers

Supervisor to Tanya Cook, and functional supervision of Stephen Strubing

Lucy Mendoza:  Technical Services Library Associate (ext. 43837)  Email Lucy

Coordinate the ordering, receipt and payment of print monographs

Liaison between monograph publishers/vendors and bibliographers

Order, receive, and pay for all standing orders in SIRSI and Banner

Christine Charles:  Library Assistant II (ext. 43837)   

Order: firm orders (print monograph books) and eBooks from primary vendor (YBP), print books from secondary book vendors (Alibris), and non-book firm orders (DVDs, music scores, etc.)

Order and receive standing orders in SIRSI

Receive, check-in, and claim orders.

Return damaged or incorrect materials to vendors.

Tanya Cook:  Technical Services Library Associate

Stephen Strubing:  Technical Services Library Associate

 

 

​