Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
Academic Video Online: PremiumThis link opens in a new windowThousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Kanopy Streaming VideoThis link opens in a new windowThis platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.
ATLAS (Accomplished Teaching, Learning and Schools)This link opens in a new windowThis database provides professional teaching videos. Access to more than 1,400 cases covering most subjects, grades and school settings. Indexed to standards and frameworks for teachers and students, ATLAS cases offer a visual representation of these standards providing a clear image of accomplished teaching. All ATLAS cases are from National Board Certified Teachers. Each video case has been validly assessed as accomplished practice, according to National Board Standards.
JoVE: Essentials of Analytical ChemistryThis link opens in a new windowThis collection of simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations takes a broad look at quantitative analysis and instrumentation including electrochemistry, spectroscopy, chromatography, and mass spectrometry. Educators and students use our innovative video collections in the JoVE Science Education Library to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques at the undergraduate course level.
JoVE: Essentials of General ChemistryThis link opens in a new windowThis collection of simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations helps provide a solid foundation in general chemistry by showcasing basic lab techniques, demonstrating commonly used equipment, and exploring the theory behind fundamental methodology in Chemistry. Educators and students use our innovative video collections in the JoVE Science Education Library to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques at the undergraduate course level.
JoVE: Essentials of Organic ChemistryThis link opens in a new windowThis collection of simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations features techniques routinely used in the organic chemistry lab, focusing on regulating temperature and atmosphere during chemical reactions and post-reaction refinement. Educators and students use our innovative video collections in the JoVE Science Education Library to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques at the undergraduate course level.
LWW Health LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe LWW Health Library platform has just launched an exciting new quizzing feature, making it easier than ever for users to personalize their assessment experience. The new Quizzing tool allows you to take and/or build custom quizzes organized by subject and topic. Results are automatically saved so you can easily analyze areas of strength and weakness. The LWW Health Library is your portal to trusted Lippincott content—including our most commonly required textbooks and multimedia assets—for use in medical, pharmacy, and other health sciences programs.
This database also includes access to the following sub-databases:
1. Clerkship Collection - Health Library
2. Emergency Medicine Collection - Health Library
3. Internal Medicine - Health Library
4. Osteopathy Collection - Health Library
MackinViaThis link opens in a new windowMackinVIA provides easy access to eBooks, audiobooks, educational databases, and videos for K-12 students and teachers. Use MackinVIA on any desktop, laptop, or mobile device with Internet access; content can be embedded into Blackboard or other LMS.
Met Opera on DemandThis link opens in a new windowUnlimited access to more than 500 performances from the Metropolitan Opera. This resource is limited to ten users at a time.
National Theatre CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThrough a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. National Theatre Collection contains access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
NBC Learn Higher EdThis link opens in a new windowPlease note: The video download feature cannot be used on campus computers.
Large collection of educational streaming videos in many subject areas, including Agriscience, Criminal Justice, Education, Finance, Forensic Science, History, Journalism, Technology, and many more.
ALL videos include closed-captioning and text transcripts; click the CC button found on the right side of the video play controls, or click "Transcript" along the right edge of the video player. Details on NBC Learn Section 508 accessibility.
NBC Learn K-12This link opens in a new windowPlease note: The video download feature cannot be used on campus computers.
NBC Learn K-12 offers unique collections of video resources, primary sources, historic footage, images, mini-documentaries and text resources designed for use in the K-12 classroom. Includes the ability to search by Texas TEKS standards.
Nursing Education in VideoThis link opens in a new windowNursing Education in Video: Third Edition is an up-to-date collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. This resource provides access to Medcom's complete collection of 300+ full-length training videos allowing your patrons anytime, anywhere access to the latest resources available for nurse training so they can provide the best possible patient care.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC)This link opens in a new windowLibrary of current event topics, including the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Viewpoint articles allow students to explore each topic's many facets. Also features statistics and government data placed in context.
This link opens in a new window
PBS Video CollectionThis link opens in a new windowHundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS).