Sirsi Admin

The Offline toolbar provides libraries an automated method to log transactions if the server is unavailable. The data is saved to the hard drive of a workstation and automatically transferred to the server. The main goals of using Offline WorkFlows are to check out material to registered users, register new users, and to receive and process returned material in an offline mode, when you are unable to connect to the SirsiDynix Symphony server. When the server becomes available again, a report applies the transaction files to the Symphony database.

1. Run Prepare GUI Offline Data report (prepstand) - Weekly (Administration group of reports) The report gathers policy and configuration information from the SirsiDynix Symphony server and prepares it for downloading to a WorkFlows workstation. It enables the WorkFlows client to have current policy and configuration so the workstation can be used in an offline mode in an emergency.
When the report runs on the SirsiDynix Symphony server, it creates to files in the /Unicorn/Standalone directory on the server.

The verifylist file contains all of the policies that are needed to run the Offline WorkFlows wizards.

The config file contains configuration information so Offline WorkFlows can operate in the same way as the fully functional WorkFlows client.

When the WorkFlows client connects to the SirsiDynix Symphony server, the verifylist and config files are automatically transferred to the Sirsi\Jwf\Configure directory on the workstation.

2. Update User Delinquency Status and the Update Select User Delinquency Status reports include an option called “Generate list of delinquent users.” OPTION up for discussion The file provides the staff with information regarding delinquent users while using Offline

On star up - check the Operate in Offline mode checkbox

Open the Offline toolbar

Set sessions settings

Once you can reconnect to the server, uncheck the operate in offline mode checkbox to log in

When the WorkFlows client connects to the server, the \Documents and Settings\login\Sirsi\Workflows\LOG\Library file is automatically transferred to the server as /Unicorn/Standalone/Library/standlog.x, where Library is the name of the library at which the transactions were recorded, and x is the station number. The original \LOG\Library file on the workstation is removed.

Run the Load Offline Transactions (loadstand) report to upload the transaction files to the Symphony database. You can select the date range of these transactions you’d like to load. The default is set for the last seven days.

Offline WorkFlows adds an override code to all transactions. However, certain offline transactions may not load. The following reasons commonly cause offline transactions to fail:

•  User is BLOCKED or BARRED (if the Update User Delinquency Status report was recently run and the delinq file is in the \Sirsi\Jwf\Configure directory on the client workstation).
• User not found
• Item not found

Other scheduled maintenace reports will take care of the rest (Consolidate Daily Logs, Statistics Log, Add delete update users)