Research Guides: College of Osteopathic Medicine (COM): Community Faculty

COM Librarian

Christina Seeger

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

College of Osteopathic Medicine, 305B/408

(936) 202-5334

Welcome

This guide was created as a dashboard of the most used resources for preceptors, table trainers and other SHSU affiliated users involved in educating future doctors from SHSU-COM. It is not an exhaustive list of available resources, however, so feel free to browse the library's website (https://library.shsu.edu/) or the various pages of this guide should you need anything additional, or to check what the students have access to. I welcome any suggestions for making this guide better suit your needs, and am available if you require additional assistance or need to know more about any of the resources available to you through the library..

Christina Seeger, CPhT, MLS, AHIP
Your SHSU-COM Librarian
seeger@shsu.edu

Clinical resources

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate® is a point-of-care resource providing access to evidence-based recommendations covering 25 specialties.

Instruction for mobile (app) access to UpToDate:

1. Login to UpToDate web using your SHSU username and password
2. Click on “Register” on the top right corner to create a personal account
3. Visit iTunes or Google Play Store and download the UpToDate app
4. Open UpToDate app, login using your personal account info
5. Sign in to UpToDate web every 90 days to maintain access to the UpToDate app
For more information on maintaining mobile access, see UpToDate Access Maintenance page
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialties in a variety of formats. With more than 1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish with over 13,000 videos and millions of images. To access certain features, you will need to register for an account and the setup must be from on-campus , using your SHSU email address.

Research/Literature Resource

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome. Sam Houston State University's subscription includes access to: AccessMedicine, Case Files Collection, Case Files Teaching Collection, AccessEmergency Medicine, AccessSurgery, AccessAnesthesiology, AccessCardiology, AccessPharmacy, AccessNeurology, AccessHemOnc, AccessObGyn, AccessPediatrics, and JAMAevidence.
CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health journals and other publications of the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialties in a variety of formats. With more than 1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish with over 13,000 videos and millions of images. To access certain features, you will need to register for an account and the setup must be from on-campus , using your SHSU email address.
Clinical Pharmacology by ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey is a comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals in making sound medication decisions by providing the fastest and most current clinically relevant drug information. Content includes: Drug Monographs, Patient Drug and Disease Education, and more. To access certain features, you will need to register for an account and the initial account setup must be from on-campus, using your SHSU email address.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Journals

JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association
Reports on the progress in clinical medicine research and developments in other areas related to medicine.
Journal of Osteopathic Medicine
The Lancet
A medical publication from Great Britain, featuring articles of interest to the medical world, with heavy emphasis on research techniques.
more...less...
3 mo delay to full-text access
New England Journal of Medicine
Delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, and the global medical community.
more...less...
3 mo delay to full-text access