Skip to Main Content

College of Osteopathic Medicine (COM)

Library and related resources to support the College of Osteopathic Medicine

Bookmark this Page! (OMS 3 & 4 and Residents)

This guide provides links to resources that may be helpful for clerkships. These are only a selection of resources available through the library or freely available online.  Please consult your clerkship syllabi for the required and recommended readings, Percipio for course-specific resources, and the other pages of the COM Library Guide or the Newton Gresham Library's website for more information and yet more tools and resources.

**Remember to log in to Up To Date (online) every 90 days to maintain app access**

Tools for Clerkship & Clinical Practice

The following point of care resources synthesize and evaluate the evidence from the primary clinical literature and allow for quick retrieval of information on diagnosis and treatment. 

Databases
Open Resources
Databases
eBooks
Databases
eBooks
Open Resources

Clinical practice guidelines contain recommendations that are based on evidence from a rigorous review and synthesis of published medical literature.  They are not fixed protocols that must be followed, but are intended for health care professionals and providers to consider (NCCIH). 

A select list of commonly-used guidelines,(and other sources of guidelines), are linked here. Remember to limit search results (article type>>guideline) in databases with limiters to get to current guidelines.   

Don't forget: Patient Education is available in several resources, including: UpToDate, AccessMedicine, and ClinicalKey,, in addition to the resources listed below.

Consumer Sources
Professional Sources

Tips to make your searching a little easier

Linking the SHSU Newton Gresham Library to your Google Scholar account allows direct access to library subscriptions and interlibrary loan options  Click the button made of three horizontal lines In the upper left corner of the page >> Settings >> Library Links >> type in SHSU and select Sam Houston State University -- Online resources @SHSU. You will still need to log in with your SHSU credentials to access the material linked by Google Scholar.. Alternatively, using the box below will add SHSU resource links to your results.

The same 3 line button gets you to advanced search, which provides useful limits and other features to focus your Google Scholar search results

Interlibrary Loan is available for resources we do not have electronic access to. Register for an account before you need it, and it will autopopulate from Google Scholar or database search results.

If you get stuck, can't find a resource/article/guideline after a diligent search , or need search assistance or more information, contact your librarian: seeger@shsu.edu

SHSU logoGoogle Scholar

Search for articles, documents, books, etc. Includes legal opinions & journals. Links to full text owned by SHSU.

 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System