Research Guides: College of Osteopathic Medicine (COM): Faculty Resources

Resources for Teaching

This list of image and illustration collections is provided educational use. Please check the copyright statements on the site before using an image. Most of the sites listed on this page permit users to download the images for non-commercial purposes, such as in for use in lectures, as long as the source of the image is included. For more information see the SHSU guide on copyright and FAIR use: https://shsulibraryguides.org/copyright.

Adobe Express Adobe Express is an all-in-one design, photo, and video tool to make content creation easy. Quickly and easily make stunning social content, videos, logos, and more with generative AI features powered by Adobe Firefly.
Clinical Key Multimedia Image and video collection organized by specialty
Duke University Image The purpose of this guide is to help you easily locate photographs, charts, diagrams, videos, and other medical images on the Web.
LWW Health Library Audio and Video collection to complement the LWW Health Library collections.
MedPix MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. The content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, and many other search options.
Open i Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine (National Library of Medicine)
University of South Carolina medical Images Collection Please check the copyright statements on the site before using the image. Most of the sites listed on this page permit users to download the images for non-commercial purposes, such as in for use in lectures, as long as the source of the image is included.
University of Utah Collections Search over 400 digital collections, containing over 1 million digital photographs, maps, books, videos, audio recordings, and other items.
MedOne Education
Storyblocks Through Storyblocks.com, SHSU Online now has unlimited access to a library of over one million royalty-free downloads. Team members can search through thousands of stock assets using their own accounts and have unlimited stock media downloads, including images, videos, audio, and template collections. Storyblocks also has a built-in custom editor called “Maker.” With this anyone can create amazing graphics using the many customizable templates available. If faculty members wish to use an image or video resource from Storyblocks, they can contact their SHSU Online instructional designer who will be able to assist in obtaining the necessary resources.

Several library-subscribed resources provide instructor access to slides, cases, images and other multimedia. Registration is required, please check the resource page for more information.

For consistency, SHSU-COM syllabi should list course textbooks and resources in AMA Style.

The basic format for a textbook (if 6 or more authors list the first 3 followed by et al.):

Author AA, Author BB, Author CC. Title of book. Edition number (if beyond first). Publisher name; year of publication.

Editor AA, Editor BB, Editor CC, et al. eds. Title of book. Edition number (if beyond first). Publisher name; year of publication.

Example:

Klaassen CD, Watkins JB III, eds. Casarett & Doull’s Essentials of Toxicology. 3rd ed. McGraw-Hill; 2015.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The basic format for an electronic journal article:

Author AA, Author BB, Author CC. Title of article. NLM Abbreviated Title of Journal. Year of publication;volume(issue):complete page numbers or e-locator. doi: (if not provided, omit and replace with an accessed date and a URL)

Example:

Towfighi A, Markovic D, Ovbiagele B. Utility of Framingham coronary disease risk score for predicting cardiac risk after stroke. Stroke. 2012;43(11):2942-2947. doi: 10.1161/STROKEAHA.112.668319

For more in-depth descriptions and additional formats, see the Citing Your Research Guide: https://shsulibraryguides.org/com/citations