Research Guides: College of Osteopathic Medicine (COM): Library Resource & Research Guide

COM Librarian

Christina Seeger

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

College of Osteopathic Medicine, 305B/408

(936) 202-5333

Library Resource and Research Guide for Medicine

This guide is designed to support the learning and research activities of students in the DO program at the SHSU College of Osteopathic Medicine. Use the menu on the left to uncover resources essential for performing research in Medicine.

Off-Campus Access: Use your University credentials (Sam ID) to access library resources off-campus. More technical help for students is available from IT@Sam at: IT Sam resources for students

Essential Medical Resources

The following databases are recommended for research on topics in Medicine and related disciplines. Keep in mind, no single database includes all journal articles, reports, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc. Depending on your topic, you may need to use several databases to locate the information you need.

*Certain features (e.g., printing PDFs from ClinicalKey, self-assessment in AccessMedicine and LWW Health Library) require an individual account. Accounts must be established while on the campus network (on-campus or logged in with your SHSU ID) and your SHSU email address must be used for registration.

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Leading medical content in a variety of formats, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.
CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, authoritative literature across health sciences disciplines, with focus on nursing, allied health, and EBM practice.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
*The latest evidence in a variety of formats (journals, practice guidelines, textbooks, etc.) across specialties in Medicine.
Clinical Pharmacology by ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals in making sound medication decisions by providing access to the most current, accurate and clinically relevant drug information.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window A collection of books and other resources for medical education. Register for self-assessment, case studies and more.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
More than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and PubMed Central.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Various science disciplines
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations, and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, including Medicine.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Materials in the areas of life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

The following journals are leading sources for current research and information in Medicine and related disciplines.

General Medicine

JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association
Reports on the progress in clinical medicine research and developments in other areas related to medicine.
The Lancet
A medical publication from Great Britain, featuring articles of interest to the medical world, with heavy emphasis on research techniques.
more...less...
3 mo delay to full-text access
Nature Medicine
Focuses on immunotherapy, infectious diseases, vaccines, cancer, gene therapy, stem-cell biology and transplantation, and more.
more...less...
1 yr delay to full-text access
New England Journal of Medicine
Delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, and the global medical community.
more...less...
3 mo delay to full-text access

Osteopathic Medicine

International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine
Publishes research articles and review papers with particular emphasis given to basic science research, clinical epidemiology and health social science in relation to osteopathy and neuromusculoskeletal medicine.
Journal of Osteopathic Medicine
The official scientific publication of the American Osteopathic Association, as well as the premier scholarly, peer-reviewed publication of the osteopathic medical profession.

The following databases are open sources (i.e., unrestricted [cost or credentials]) of biomedical and life sciences information.

BMC (Biomed Central)
High quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome.
BMJ Research (British Medical Journal)
One of the world's oldest general medical journals.
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
Merck Manual for the Professional
Free online source of medical topics, images, videos, medical calculators and patient infographics.
National Center for Health Statistics
The Health, United States program (CDC) provides national trends in health statistics.
PLoS Medicine (Public Library of Science)
Publishes articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health.
PubMed Central
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

All of Us Researcher Workbench Registration required for genomic data. Registered researchers in the Researcher Workbench can create research projects using collaborative workspaces, cohort-building tools, interactive notebooks, and more. Currently, researchers must verify their identity and complete the All of Us Research Program data access process to access the Researcher Workbench and Registered or Controlled Tier data.
ClinVar
ClinVar is a freely accessible, public archive of reports of the relationships among human variations and phenotypes, with supporting evidence.
GeneReviews
GeneReviews, an international point-of-care resource for busy clinicians, provides clinically relevant and medically actionable information for inherited conditions in a standardized journal-style format, covering diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling for patients and their families.
MedlinePlus - Genetics
Find consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health.
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
An Online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders
UCSC Genome Browser
Use this resource to nteractively visualize genomic data.