Research Guides: Environmental and Geosciences: Economic Geography

Economic Geography Research Guide Purpose

The purpose of this guide is to assist you in locating information about Economic Geography provided by the Newton Gresham Library. This guide is not comprehensive and is merely a starting point for research.

Business Analysis Guide Link

Business Research
by Lisa Shen Last Updated Dec 13, 2024 114 views this year

Current Newspaper Databases

Austin American Statesman, 1989-present This link opens in a new window The major newspaper for Austin, the capital city of Texas. Provides thorough coverage of international, national and local news, with focus on issues affecting Austin and the Central Texas region. Also covers Texas-Mexico border issues, local news from Travis and Williamson counties, and local events and business.
Dallas Morning News, 1984-2016 This link opens in a new window A leading source of news for northeastern Texas and parts of southern Oklahoma, known for its extensive coverage of news in the Dallas-Ft. Worth area, as well as issues and events affecting the entire state, reporting of national issues and coverage of late-breaking news from around the world.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Journal articles covering topics on accounting, management, marketing, international business, organizational management, etc. Good global coverage, especially from the U.K and Western Europe.
Factiva.com This link opens in a new window Full-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources.
New York Times (2008-Recent) - ProQuest Digitized Newspapers This link opens in a new window This digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the New York Times without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Full-page, greyscale images are full-text searchable and offer keyword highlighting. Available issues will be approximately 3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
New York Times (online and app access) This link opens in a new window
You must register for an account using your SHSU (.edu) email address
Step 1: Navigate to AccessNYT.com
Step 2: Search for and select "Sam Houston State University"
You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete fields; use your @shsu.edu email address
Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)*
*The confirmation email may be routed to your spam folder. You must click the link in this email to complete the registration.
Step 1: Navigate to AccessNYT.com
Step 2: Search for and select "Sam Houston State University"
You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete fields; use your @shsu.edu email address
Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)*
*The confirmation email may be routed to your spam folder. You must click the link in this email to complete the registration.
Existing New York Times ID
If you have previously registered your @edu email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" Log in here" link for Step 3.
Wall Street Journal (2008-Recent) - ProQuest Digitized Newspapers This link opens in a new window This digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the Wall Street Journal without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Full-page, greyscale images are full-text searchable and offer keyword highlighting. Available issues will be approximately 3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
Wall Street Journal (online and app access) This link opens in a new window
A U.S. business and finance-focused, international daily newspaper based in New York City, featuring online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world as well as photos, videos, detailed analysis and in-depth original reports. The subscription is provided by the University.
How to Create an Account for Digital Access to the Wall Street Journal
Step 1. Click the link above.
Step 2. If prompted, enter your SHSU credentials to log into the SHSU network.
Step 3. Click on the drop-down window in the "Account Type" box.
Step 4. Select either Student, Staff or Professor.
Step 5. Create your password (This should be a new password. Do NOT use your SHSU password).
Step 6. Click the "I agree to the terms of use..." box.
Step 7. Click on the "Create" box.

Search Multiple Newspapers at Once

Access World News This link opens in a new window Search current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.
Engine Orange This link opens in a new window Find books, articles, films, and MORE with a single search, from the SHSU library catalog and a large number of selected databases.
Factiva.com This link opens in a new window Full-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources.

Resources

Industrial Location and Community Development by Barry M. Moriarty This study describes and explains the concepts, materials, and methods designed to make community industrial development programs more effective. It attempts to reconcile the three different--and often conflicting--interest groups involved: the industrial land user, represented by the manufacturer seraching for a location; the landowner, represented by the industrial or economic developer; and the community, represented by the planner and other government officials. Originally published in 1980. A UNC Press Enduring Edition -- UNC Press Enduring Editions use the latest in digital technology to make available again books from our distinguished backlist that were previously out of print. These editions are published unaltered from the original, and are presented in affordable paperback formats, bringing readers both historical and cultural value.
Call Number: HT167.M66
ISBN: 0807814008
Publication Date: 1980-10-15

Impact of Spatial Filtering on the Least Cost Path Method: Selecting a High-Speed Rail Route for Ohio’s 3-C Corridor

AAG Specialty Groups

Economic Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, & Journal of Business Communication. Trade journals and magazines, such as Business Week, The Economist, & Fortune. Datamonitor reports on companies (many with SWOT analysis), industries, and countries. One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text.
MarketLine Plus This link opens in a new window Company profiles with detailed information on companies including company overview, key facts, business description, history, major products and services, top competitors and SWOT analysis. Industry profiles with key information on industries by country including market size, competitive landscape, forecast data and market performance.

Video About Economy and Geographical Influence

Company Financials, Stocks, & Ratios

Public Company

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company financials & ratios, stock/equity reports, industry codes (NAICS & SIC)
Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Search by Company Name or Stock (Ticker) Symbol
Results incl. S&P Equity Research (stock reports) & S&P Industry Reports
Standard & Poor's (S&P) Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Individualized S&P account with additional data and customization options beyond NetAdvantage access. Click on more... below for account signup instructions
Capital IQ investigates financial news, market insights, company performance data and sector-specific data. The firm provides subscribers with intelligence on more than 62,000 public companies and 4.4 million private firms. Capital IQ provides detailed research and analysis of the stock market to a variety of stakeholders.

Private Company

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Some financial info available for selected private companies, search by name

Company Investigator (Westlaw)
Private & Public Company info, incl. corporate family tree & financials (when available)