Skip to Main Content
Data Sets Online
These online datasets may be helpful or relevant to the study of Environmental and Geosciences. It is not meant to be a comprehensive list of all datasets available. Please contact the subject librarian for additional assistance.
"Hawai‘i Volcanoes National Park" by National Park Service
Huntsville City Maps and Geographic Information System (GIS) Data
This resource, prepared by the City of Huntsville, Texas, GIS division, provides a variety of GIS maps and reports on topics such as FEMA flood review, planning & development, property, and mapping control.
USGS National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program
The National Geologic Map Database contains over 88,000 maps, along with a lexicon of geologic names. The site also contains basic information and educational material about geologic maps.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2012.
NYU Spatial Data Repository
Note: Some datasets are freely available, others are proprietary to NYU users.
"The Spatial Data Repository (SDR) is NYU's portal for previewing and discovering geospatial data. The collection includes resources from open data and proprietary resources, and users can download layers and work with them in many GIS platforms." (New York Univ Libraries, Data Services)
Texas Geographic Information System (GIS) Maps & Data
This website from the Texas General Land Office provides a wide variety of downloaded GIS data sets related to the state. Maps and data are provided in the following subject areas: energy resources, professional services, oil spills and coastal response, and coastal management.
NASA North American Land Data Assimilation System
NASA's North American Land Data Assimilation System
The goal of the North American Land Data Assimilation System (NLDAS) is to construct quality-controlled, and spatially and temporally consistent, land-surface model (LSM) datasets from the best available observations and reanalyses to support modeling activities.
NASA's National Climate Assessment LDAS
The National Climate Assessment - Land Data Assimilation System (NCA-LDAS) is one of NASA's contributions to the National Climate Assessment of the United States.
NASA's Western LDAS
The Western Land Data Assimilation System (WLDAS), developed at Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC) provides water managers and stakeholders in the western United States with a long-term record of near-surface hydrology for use in drought assessment and water resources planning.
U.S. Data Catalog
U.S. Data Catalog
Catalog for accessing datasets gathered by the U.S. General Services Administration
U.S. Climate Data
Data related to climate change, currently includes data and resources related to coastal flooding, food resilience, water, ecosystem vulnerability, human health, energy infrastructure,transportation, and the Arctic region.
U.S. Maritime Data
Datasets for marine transportation including mapping and charting, energy use, commodity movement, international trade and finance, environmental sustainability, and more.
U.S. Ocean Data
Access data related to oceans, coasts, and Great Lakes. The National Ocean Council provides this site to support regional marine planning efforts across the country.
History of Open Source GIS