Research Guides: Environmental and Geosciences: Find Articles

Environmental and Geosciences Databases

This page contains links to library databases containing journals relevant to Environmental and Geosciences. It is not meant to be comprehensive. For assistance, contact the subject librarians.

"Grand Canyon National Park: Kaibab Formation Number 2504" by Kristen M. Caldon/National Park Service

Databases

General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Provides citation and abstracts, plus some full-text to articles in all sciences, inlcuding geology, goephysics, hydrology, sedimentology, and paleontology.

Additional Databases

Annual Reviews Science Collection This link opens in a new window Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others. There will be new password requirements beginning 1/10/17.
Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Electronic Collections Online This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals from 1995 to early 2012 (content addition ceased Feb 1, 2012). Provides indexing, abstracts, and limited full text for journals in most subject areas.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Factiva.com This link opens in a new window
Useful for GEOG 4351
Houston Chronicle Historical and Current, 1901-present This link opens in a new window
Part of NewsBank. Useful for GEOG 4351.
Huntsville Item, 2007-present This link opens in a new window
Part of NewsBank database. Useful for GEOG 4351.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Marcive Web Docs This link opens in a new window Provides access to citations and cataloging information for publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. This includes U.S. government agencies and their departments. MARCIVE indexes Senate and House hearings, agency-sponsored studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, subject bibliographies, and conference proceedings dated 1976 to the present.
MarketLine Plus This link opens in a new window
Useful for GEOG 4351
Newsbank / Readex This link opens in a new window
Useful for GEOG 4351
New York Times (2008-Recent) - ProQuest Digitized Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Useful for GEOG 4351
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window Simultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window Combined catalog for tens of thousands of libraries around the world. Books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscript/archive collections, sound recordings, films/slides, maps, video.

Environmental and Geosciences

Environmental and Geosciences Databases

Databases

Additional Databases

Quick Searches

Engine Orange Search