Research Guides: Environmental and Geosciences: World Regional Geography

Research Librarian

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

World Regional Geography Research Guide Purpose

The purpose of this guide is to assist you in locating information about World Regional Geography provided by the Newton Gresham Library and the Internet. This guide is not comprehensive and is merely a starting point for research.

Databases

AGRIS This link opens in a new window AGRIS (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology) is a global public database providing access to bibliographic information on agricultural science and technology. AGRIS contains over 8 million bibliographic references on agricultural research and technology & links to related data resources on the Web, like DBPedia, World Bank, Nature, FAO Fisheries and FAO Country profiles.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) This link opens in a new window Global information, data, and statistics (in 6 languages) on food, food security/fighting hunger, nutrition, and sustainable management of agriculture, forestry, and fisheries.
MarketLine Plus This link opens in a new window Company profiles with detailed information on companies including company overview, key facts, business description, history, major products and services, top competitors and SWOT analysis. Industry profiles with key information on industries by country including market size, competitive landscape, forecast data and market performance.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window This platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.

Websites

globalEDGE Statistical data on 202 countries including history, economy, geography, politics, population, and more.
PRB (Population Reference Bureau) A group that works to inform policy development, programming, and funding decisions to improve people's lives around the world. Includes international population data.
World Factbook - CIA

Worldle & Seterra

Seterra
A map quiz site with voice features, customizable quizzes, and app options.
Worldle
This gives a picture of a country and you have 6 guesses to figure out which country it is.

Environmental and Geosciences