Specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries provide a starting point for research. In addition to providing definitions and brief overviews, specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information, historical perspective, terms to be used when searching the literature, and references to important research in the field. Listed below is a sampling of specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries available at the NGL; additional titles can be located using the library catalog.
Comprises 128 essays by leading scholars analysing the most important, influential, innovative and interesting thinkers on education of all time. Each of the chronologically arranged entries explores why a particular thinker is significant for those who study education and explores the social, historical and political contexts in which the thinker worked.
Encompasses over 1,000 articles across 24 individual areas of coverage, with 1,500 contributors representing over 100 countries, capturing a complete portrait of this evolving field. Web-enhanced with supplementary multimedia audio and video files, hotlinked to relevant references and sources for further study.
A substantive dictionary of over 500 terms relating to learning theories and environments. Definitions range from approx. 100-700 words, and each term is identified by its primary type of learning theory: cognitivism, constructivism, behaviorism, humanism, or organizational learning.
Call Number: Read Online or REF LB15 .E47 2003 v. 1-8
Publication Date: 2002
An eight-volume comprehensive encyclopedia covering over 850 topics. The lengthy articles, on such topics as technology, processes, institutions, people, and roles in the teaching process, contain bibliographies and internet sites. The largest section contains court cases and legislation.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials DirectoryThis link opens in a new windowUlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Provides publication details, including acceptance rates and key metrics, for journals in many disciplines. "Journalytics" list identifies high-quality journals; "Predatory Report" identifies likely predatory journals.
Oxford ReferenceThis link opens in a new window(number of simultaneous users is limited) Combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference.
Reference UniverseThis link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.
Handbooks provide a synthesis of background material which is scattered throughout the literature. There are a large number of handbooks in the field of education; many are designed for specific subject areas. Below is a sampling of those available at the NGL.
Handbook of Research on Gaming Trends in P-12 Education by Donna Russell (Editor)Provides current research intended to aid educators, school administrators, and game developers in teaching today's youth in a technology-immersive society. Featuring exhaustive coverage on topics relating to virtual reality, game design, immersive learning, distance learning through 3D environments as well as best practices for gaming implementation in real-world settings.
Call Number: Read Online
Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Response to Intervention by Shane R. Jimerson (Editor)Provides a comprehensive, updated overview of the science that informs best practices for the implementation of response to intervention (RTI) processes within Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (MTSS) to facilitate the academic success of all students. The volume includes insights from leading scholars and scientist-practitioners to provide a highly usable guide to the essentials of RTI assessment and identification as well as research-based interventions for improving students' reading, writing, oral, and math skills.
Call Number: LB1029 .R4 H36 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Research on Advancing Critical Thinking in Higher Education by Sherrie Wisdom (Editor)Explores the effective methods and tools being used to integrate the development of critical thinking skills in both undergraduate and graduate studies. Due to the difficulties associated with teaching critical thinking skills to learners of any age, this publication is a crucial addition to the scholarly reference works available to pre-service and early career teachers, seasoned educational professionals, professors across disciplines, curriculum specialists, and educational administrators.
Call Number: Read Online
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Urban Educational Leadership by Muhammad Khalifa (Editor)This authoritative handbook examines the community, district, and teacher leadership roles that affect urban schools. It will serve as a foundation for pedagogical and educational leadership practices that foster social justice, equity, and advocacy for those who have been traditionally and historically underserved in education. The handbook s ten sections cover topics as diverse as curriculum, instruction, and educational outcomes; gender, race, and class; higher education; and leadership preparation and support. Its twenty-nine chapters offer both American and international perspectives.