Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instructional Materials Collection: Collections within the Collection

Collections within the Collection

The Instructional Materials Collection contains titles addressing multiple aspects of EC-12 instruction, represented in smaller collections within the collection. They include:

  • EC-12 Texas State Approved Textbooks
  • EC-12 Instructional Materials
  • Special Collections
    • Difficult Conversations in the Classroom KitsFunded by a 2020 Teaching Innovation Grant, these twelve mini-collections are intended to expose pre-service educators to high quality, award-winning children’s literature that could be used to address difficult topics that arise in the classroom. Each kit consists of 10-14 print children's books, oriented toward Grades K-3, and a professional text relevant to the kit's focus. 
      • DCC Kits A & B - Examines topics including race & ethnicity, disability, different family structures, poverty, homelessness, mental health, and immigration/migration. Some included titles are also available as ebooks.
      • DCC SPED Kits 1 & 2 - Examines the experiences of differently-abled individuals including those with vision, hearing, and speech impairment, physical malformation or impairment, and intellectual & cognitive disorders or syndromes.
      • DCC BESL Kits 1 & 2 - Examines topics relevant to bilingual learners including acceptance & inclusion, family & community, language & culture, and immigration & migration. Included titles are presented in English & Spanish, English & Portuguese, or multiple languages.

Difficult Conversations in the Classroom Kits

Difficult Conversations in the Classroom Kits are available for SHSU faculty check-out at the Newton Gresham Library Circulation Desk. Individual children’s literature titles are available for general check-out in the Children’s Literature Collection.

Difficult Conversations in the Classroom Kits are available for SHSU faculty check-out at the Newton Gresham Library Circulation Desk. Individual children’s literature titles are available for general check-out in the Children’s Literature Collection.

These individual Difficult Conversations in the Classroom Kit children's literature titles are available electronically to current SHSU faculty, staff, and students through Newton Gresham Library. To access the ebook, click on the book title, then click online access on the catalog record.

These individual Difficult Conversations in the Classroom Kit children's literature titles are available electronically to current SHSU faculty, staff, and students through Newton Gresham Library. To access the ebook, click on the book title, then click online access on the catalog record.

Special Education Difficult Conversations in the Classroom Kits are available for SHSU faculty check-out at the Newton Gresham Library Circulation Desk. Individual children’s literature titles are available for general check-out in the Children’s Literature Collection.

Special Education Difficult Conversations in the Classroom Kits are available for SHSU faculty check-out at the Newton Gresham Library Circulation Desk. Individual children’s literature titles are available for general check-out in the Children’s Literature Collection.

Bilingual Difficult Conversations in the Classroom Kits are available for SHSU faculty check-out at the Newton Gresham Library Circulation Desk. Individual children’s literature titles are available for general check-out in the Children’s Literature Collection.

Bilingual Difficult Conversations in the Classroom Kits are available for SHSU faculty check-out at the Newton Gresham Library Circulation Desk. Individual children’s literature titles are available for general check-out in the Children’s Literature Collection.

Your Friendly Librarian

Profile Photo
Ashley Crane
Contact:
936-294-4686
abc064@shsu.edu
NGL 223J

 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System