Morris Informal Reading Inventory by
In one concise volume, Darrell Morris provides a complete tool for assessing students' reading ability. Unlike most informal reading inventories (IRIs), Morris's approach incorporates measures of automaticity (word recognition and fluency) together with oral reading accuracy and comprehension. This results in more efficient, accurate, and thorough assessments. Included are an examiner's manual and all test materials for the basic IRI (grades 2-8) plus a separate beginning reading inventory (grades K-1). In a large-size spiral-bound format for ease of use, the book features more than 90 pages of word/letter lists, illustrated reading passages, and other test materials, all with permission to photocopy.
Bader Reading and Language Inventory by
The Bader Reading and Language Inventory, 6th edition, was constructed for use by teachers for K-12 and adult students, reading specialists, and clinicians. The design of this inventory allows examiners the flexibility to obtain information for measuring a reader's growth, assessing the effectiveness of specific reading approaches, and diagnosing specific literacy needs. As experienced teachers look for patterns of behavior to observe learner's strengths and needs. This can be accomplished with an assessment model that includes personal interviews and student reflection, observations, informal and formal tests and diagnostic teaching. The Bader inventory provides several valuable, research-based tools and guides to complement this assessment model balancing assessment practice without overtesting students.
Developmental Literacy Inventory by
The Developmental Literacy Inventory is an informal reading inventory and more.nbsp; Its graded word recognition lists and reading passages, all written especially for this instrument, allow teachers to assess students' silent and oral reading comprehension, fluency, and word recognition with narrative, social studies, and science passages at reading levels from Primer to high school.nbsp; Word recognition lists, spelling inventories, and an emergent literacy instrument that includes assessment of phonemic awareness and concept of word enables teachers to diagnostically assess students from kindergarten to high school.nbsp; Comprehension questions about each reading passage tap a wide range of comprehension skills including recall of explicitly stated information, inferential thinking, and vocabulary usage.nbsp; Two equivalent forms of the inventory allow retesting at the same levels with different passages.nbsp;
The Critical Reading Inventory by
This is the only reading inventory on the market to support the treatment of reading as a "thinking" process through questions and assessments that measure not only readers' ability to recall facts, but also whether they can draw logical conclusions about those facts and respond critically to those conclusions. This book includes both narrative and expository readers' passages for use with pre-K readers through readers in grade 9; and is written in an accessible, inviting style. Through the use of longer passages, multi-level assessments, and case studies, the authors provide a truly effective means to secure a differential analysis of a child's reading comprehension performance. Three distinct levels of comprehension questions: text-based, inferential, and critical-assist in grouping readers by ability levels, from simple recall to critical engagement with text. Case studies of three levels of diagnostic analysis helps teachers understand the difference between readers who are having genuine difficulty and readers who are simply reluctant. Rubrics for retelling and for fluency stress that word recognition must be assessed within the context of comprehension. Inclusion of the simplified miscue analysis technique highlights both the reader's strategies and his/her orientation.
Analytical Reading Inventory with Readers Passages by
Analytical Reading Inventory is a thorough diagnostic reading inventory with clear step-by-step instructions for test administration. This instrument can be used to measure the reading progress of typical, remedial, and gifted readers. The Analytical Reading Inventory comes with a Readers Passages booklet and two CDs. One CD walks listeners through a case study, while the second CD supports students use of a study guide packet. These CDs help them to understand how to complete each portion of the ARI to evaluate a student's reading level and performance, and why each assessment of the ARI is important. New to this edition is an alignment of the ARI tests to standards.
Essentials of WISC-V Assessment by
The comprehensive reference for informative WISC-V assessment Essentials of WISC-V Assessmentprovides step-by-step guidance for administering, scoring, and interpreting the Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children (WISC-V). Packed with practical tips for more accurate assessment, this informative guide includes numerous case studies that illustrate a range of real-world issues. Special attention is devoted to the assessment of individuals who have significant learning difficulties, such as learning disabilities, and who speak English as a second language. The WISC-V is a valuable assessment tool, but it must be administered and scored appropriately to gain meaning from score interpretation. This book gives you an in-depth understanding of the WISC-V assessment and interpretive process to assist practitioners in: Conducting efficient and informative WISC-V assessments Utilizing WISC-V in cross-battery and neuropsychological assessment Applying WISC-V in the identification of specific learning disabilities Utilizing WISC-V in nondiscriminatory assessment of English language learners Writing theory-based WISC-V reports Linking WISC-V findings to interventions based on individual performance As the world's most widely-used intelligence test for children, the WISC-V is useful in diagnosing intellectual disabilities and specific learning disabilities, as well as in identifying giftedness. In this volume, sample reports demonstrate how WISC-V assessment results may be linked to interventions, accommodations, modifications, and compensatory strategies that facilitate positive outcomes for children. Essentials of WISC-V Assessment is the all-in-one practical resource for both students and practitioners. The book can be used on its own or with companion software (purchased separately) that provides a user-friendly tool for producing psychometrically and theoretically defensible interpretations of WISC-V performance, and may be used to develop interventions based on each child's strengths and weaknesses.
Essentials of WIAT-III and KTEA-II Assessment by
Quickly acquire the knowledge and skills you need to confidently administer, score, and interpret the WIAT-III and KTEA-II Essentials of WIAT-III and KTEA-II Assessment is the only resource providing practical, step-by-step instruction in the accurate and effective use of the Wechsler Individual Achievement Test, Third Edition (WIAT-III) and the Kaufman Test of Educational Achievement, Second Edition (KTEA-II), two popular measures of individual achievement frequently administered for educational planning, transitional programming for students with disabilities, and vocational guidance. Like all the volumes in the Essentials of Psychological Assessment series, this book is designed to help busy mental health practitioners, and those in training, quickly acquire the basic knowledge and skills they need to make optimal use of a major psychological assessment instrument. Each concise chapter features numerous callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as test questions that help you gauge and reinforce your grasp of the information covered. Offering up-to-date and rich information beyond what is available in the tests' manuals, Essentials of WIAT-III and KTEA-II Assessment includes case studies illustrating how to make optimal use of the tests. In addition, the book is packaged with an accompanying CD-ROM containing a program allowing users to enter KTEA-II data to obtain growth scores; useful files to assist users in the proper administration and scoring of the WIAT-III Written Expression subtests; and a cross-battery approach for both tests. Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
Essentials of WJ III Tests of Achievement Assessment by
Quickly acquire the knowledge and skills you need to confidently administer, score, and interpret the WJ IIITM The most widely used comprehensive assessment test-the Woodcock-Johnson-has been newly separated into two distinct tests: Achievement and Cognitive Abilities. The WJ III(TM) Tests of Achievement include reading, mathematics, written language, and knowledge tests. To use these tests properly, professionals need an authoritative source of advice and guidance on how to administer, score, and interpret them. Cowritten by the creator of the Woodcock-Johnson and a coauthor of the WJ III(TM) Tests of Achievement, Essentials of WJ III(TM) Tests of Achievement Assessment is that source.
The Special Educator's Comprehensive Guide to 301 Diagnostic Tests by
This important resource is an update of the best-selling book The Special Educator's Resource Guide to 109 Diagnostic Tests. The greatly expanded second edition contains 301 new and enhanced tests, which are vital to understanding assessment in special education. Designed as an easy-to-use, hands-on resource, the book is filled with practical tools, information, and suggestions. Step-by-step, this practical guide explores the various stages of evaluation, interpretation, diagnosis, prescription, and remediation.
Adaptive Behavior Assessment System-II by
Adaptive Behavior Assessment System-II summarizes information on adaptive behavior and skills as well as general issues in adaptive behavior assessment with the goal of promoting sound assessment practice during uses, interpretations, and applications of the Adaptive Behavior Assessment System-II. Adaptive behavior and skills refer to personal qualities associated with the ability to meet one's personal needs such as communication, self-care, socialization, etc. and those of others.
Essentials of WJ IV Cognitive Abilities Assessment by
The step-by-step guide to administering, scoring, and interpreting the WJ IV: Tests of Cognitive Abilities. Provides expert, practical advice on how to administer, score, and interpret the WJ IV COG#65533;. Designed to be an easy-to-use reference, the text goes beyond the information found in the WJ IV#65533; examiner's manual to offer full explanations of the tests and clusters. This essential guide also explains the meaning of all scores and interpretive features and includes valuable advice on clinical applications and illuminating case studies.
Essentials of KABC-II Assessment by
Quickly acquire the knowledge and skills you need to confidently administer, score, and interpret the KABC-II Now designed for children aged three to eighteen, the KABC-II is among the top tier of children's tests of cognitive ability. The best source of information on the new edition of the K-ABC, Essentials of KABC-II Assessment provides students and practitioners with an unparalleled resource for learning and application, including expert assessment of the test's relative strengths and weaknesses, valuable advice on its clinical applications, and illuminating case reports.
PISA 2009 Assessment Framework by
This book presents the theory behind the development of the 2009 PISA survey. The re-worked and expanded framework for reading literacy includes not only the assessment of reading and understanding printed texts, but also an innovative component to assess how well students read, navigate and understand electronic texts. Also there is provision For The basis of measuring mathematical and scientific competencies. Finally, it presents the theory behind the questionnaires used to gather information from students, schools and parents on students' home backgrounds, students' approaches to learning and school learning environments.
Bayley-III Clinical Use and Interpretation by
One of the most widely used assessments of infants and toddlers, the BAYLEY-III measures the major areas of development including cognitive, language, motor, social-emotional, and adaptive functioning. This book provides an introduction into use of the BAYLEY-III in each of these five areas. Covering all major areas of development, the book is informative for a wide range of professionals who use the BAYLEY-III to evaluate development of infants and toddlers from multiple perspectives including psychology, speech and language, and occupational/physical therapy.
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology by
This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. It begins with an in-depth portrayal of psychometrics: the quantitative underpinning of testing. It then provides thorough, up-to-date and informative chapters related to five general application areas of testing - industrial/organizational psychology, clinical psychology (including health psychology), counseling psychology, school psychology, and educational testing
Assessment in Education by
Following on the success of 2008's Major Work, Student Assessment and Testing (ed. Harlen), this new four-volume Major Work revisits the topic of assessment in education but shifts the focus to take a more detailed look at important aspects of the subject previously only touched upon, such as: Assessment carried out by teachers Advances in technological approaches to assessment, most notably in computerized adaptive testing Our understanding of assessment for learning (including peer and self-assessment, formative assessment and feedback) Ethical dimensions such as students' rights and entitlements This new collection brings together the best existing work in these areas, and is introduced by a newly-written contextualising chapter by the major work's esteemed editor, John Gardner.
SAGE Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment by
The Sage Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment provides scholars, professors, graduate students, and other researchers and policy makers in the organizations, agencies, testing companies, and school districts with a comprehensive source of research on all aspects of K-12 classroom assessment. The handbook emphasizes theory, conceptual frameworks, and all varieties of research (quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods) to provide an in-depth understanding of the knowledge base in each area of classroom assessment and how to conduct inquiry in the area. It presents classroom assessment research to convey, in depth, the state of knowledge and understanding that is represented by the research, with particular emphasis on how classroom assessment practices affect student achievement and teacher behavior.
Tests by
The fifth edition of this valuable resource contains the latest information on over 2,000 assessment instruments. The update of the 1997 edition reflects test revisions, new tests, and tests that have gone out of print. Tests has three sections--psychology, education, and business. These sections are further divided into 90 sections, enabling users to readily identify tests that meet their assessment needs. This book does not review or evaluate assessments, but does present concise descriptions in a quick-scanning, easy-to-read format. Each entry contains a statement of the instrument's purpose, a description of the instrument, intended populations, scoring procedures, cost, and publisher information. In addition to primary classifications, entries are thoroughly cross-referenced in the index section. The fifth edition of Tests has five indexes, making this reference user-friendly. Besides the Test Titles and Authors indexes, you also get indexes of Publishers, Tests Not in the Fifth Edition, and Publishers Not in the Fifth Edition. A listing of publisher's web site addresses is also included.
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System
