Library Provided Sources
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS, and Stata data files
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Source for quantitative facts in American history; statistical tables are also accompanied by source documentation and expert essays to provide historical context. Diverse topics include slavery, migration, health, poverty, crime, and more. Users can customize and download data tables.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Online This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Freely Available Sources
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
An agency within the U.S. Dept. Education responsible for collecting, analyzing, and reporting complete statistics on the condition of American education; conducting and publishing reports; and reviewing and reporting on education activities internationally.
Additional sources available from NCES:
• Digest of Education Statistics
• 120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait
• K-12 Practitioners’ Circle
• The Condition of Education
United States Census Bureau - Education
Provides information on a variety of educational topics including: educational attainment, school enrollment, public school system finances, school districts, teaching about statistics, and educational services.
Additional sources from the United States Census Bureau:
• Statistical Abstracts Series
• American FactFinder
Texas Education Agency
Texas has one of the largest education data bases in the world, known as PEIMS. Provides a treasure trove of information for researchers, parents and the public at large to mine and learn about the workings of 1,200 school districts and charters, as well as TEA.
Texas Higher Education Data
Texas' primary source for statistics on higher education. Contains reports, statistics, queries, interactive tools, and downloadable data, with links on enrollment and success, course and facilities inventories, interactive institutional locator maps, and degrees offered.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories. Contains a searchable database of UNESCO education statistics (1970-1997) as well as selected tables from the UNESCO Statistical Yearbook and 16 commonly used statistical indicators on education.
World Bank Group: Data - Education
The official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. The UIS produces a wide range of indicators by working with national statistical offices, line ministries and other statistical organizations.
National Student Clearinghouse Research Center
The research arm of the National Student Clearinghouse, the Research Center works with higher education institutions, states, districts, high schools, and educational organizations to better inform practitioners and policymakers about student educational pathways through accurate longitudinal data outcomes reporting.