Electronic Resources

1^st article: “Tools, Techniques, and Training: Results of an E-Resources Troubleshooting Survey” Journal of Electronic Resources Librarianship (20195, v27, issue 2) http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/1941126X.2015.1029398#.Va_9O0ZWIfg

2^nd Article:  http://journal.code4lib.org/articles/10034

Slideshow (presented at ER&L 2013):  http://www.slideshare.net/libjennifer/e-resources-ereality-slidshare-18055793 

Reviews of “top 7” help desk FREE systems:  http://blog.capterra.com/the-7-best-free-help-desk-software-tools/

Help desk software option infographic:  http://www.capterra.com/help-desk-software/#infographic

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From our discussions, and from what I’ve read about features thus far, two of the biggest we need are

1. Email integration (emails sent to a specific account automatically create a ticket)
2. Automated routing (selection of 1 or more characteristics determines which TS librarian is “assigned” to each ticket.  Example: a reported outage of Gale Literary Criticism (database) would be routed to Kat; a problem with an EBL ebook would be routed to Zach)
3.  

Options to consider:

1. FreshDesk
   1. review: http://www.capterra.com/help-desk-software/spotlight/124981/Freshdesk/Freshdesk
      “Freshdesk is fourth on Capterra’s rankings of top 20 customer service software providers. Their free option is for up to three agents, with limited functionality.

Stand-out features:Easily prioritize certain customers based on SLA policies, Easily turn emails and tickets into knowledgebase articles, Use 16 different languages, Access via mobile-friendly site.”

2. website: http://freshdesk.com/helpdesk-features
3. cost: free (limited functionality) up to 3 “agents” (users).  Since we have 7 librarians in TS we will eventually need a paid plan; however we could “try out” using 3 users and see how we like it…
4. note:  NGL IT techs already use this system! J

2. Cayzu:
   1. review: http://www.capterra.com/help-desk-software/spotlight/134057/Cayzu/Cayzu
   2. website: http://www.cayzu.com/all-features/
   3. cost: $10/month per user.  First 3 agents are free so $480 per year for 7 users (3 free, 4 paid)?
   4. note:  smaller company aimed at serving medium size companies… (might be more responsive than a large company like freskdesk)
      
3. osTicket
   1. review:
      “osTicket has most of the features of a full-fledged help desk software tool, including a ticket filter tool to route incoming tickets from email, web forms, and phone calls to the right agents. I
      ts auto-responder helps you set up workflows by ticket type. Automatic canned responses are possible, and the system offers dashboard reports”
   2. website: http://osticket.com/features
   3. cost: free if we can get IT@Sam to host the free version; otherwise $9/person (figuring 7 librarians in TS = $63 per month = $756/year)
   4. note:
4. Agiloft
   1. Review: http://www.capterra.com/help-desk-software/spotlight/75637/Agiloft/Agiloft
   2. Website:
   3. Cost:  unsure.  Free edition includes up to 6 users
   4. Note:  seems like at least one university (California Polytechnical) is using this (IT dept).
5. LibAnswers
   1. review:
      “The biggest change with LibAnswers v2 is the ability to route incoming questions to specific departments via Queues. Each LibAnswers v2 system comes with a single queue, and you can purchase multiple queues based upon your unique needs.
      Each queue comes with its own customizable question submission form, SMS number, Twitter integration, and incoming email address. Set up different queues for different purposes and ensure that the right people are notified when tickets come in, reducing signal-to-noise ratio.”
   2. website: http://buzz.springshare.com/springynews/news-23/libanswersv2
   3. cost: $99
   4. note: already use LibGuides but would cost extra $99 per year.

Tags: troubleshooting electronic resources; tracking system; ticketing system; access problem log; electronic Resources; ER; access problems;

Ok, so it looks like setting up a separate ticketing area for Electronic Resources would cost an extra $99 a year, which is not really too significant, compared to the monthly pricing on the online form solutions that Zach and I had briefly discussed. (I understand that Fresh Desk is free, but I have little to no knowledge of it myself, so I’m unsure how LibAnswers would compare to it.)

I’ve already asked Linda about it; she said she will double-check with Ann but does not think it should be a problem. I’ve also reached out to our Springshare reps and asked if they could give us temporary trial access to a second queue, so that we could configure it, test it, and determine whether it will fit your needs before actually committing the funds.

I should know something about the trial request in the next day or so and will let you know. Even if they can’t set up the trial access, we can arrange a time to sit down together and look at our existing Reference queue, just so you can see the basics of what the system does, and from there we can determine whether it’s worth the upgrade.

Thanks,
Erin

From: Mueller, Kat
Sent: Wednesday, July 22, 2015 1:49 PM
To: Cassidy, Erin <ecassidy@shsu.edu>; Valdes, Zachary <ZAV001@SHSU.EDU>
Cc: Thompson, Molly <mthompson@shsu.edu>
Subject: RE: Attaching files to surveys

This is EXCELLENT news…  
(of course, I’ve spent a couple hours now reading reviews and features for FreshDesk and similar systems ;)

I think we would definitely like to look into this option! Ideally as soon as possible J

KLM

From: Cassidy, Erin
Sent: Wednesday, July 22, 2015 1:47 PM
To: Valdes, Zachary <ZAV001@SHSU.EDU>; Mueller, Kat <klandry@shsu.edu>
Subject: Attaching files to surveys

Hi, Zach and Kat,

Zach was recently asking me about users being able to attach files to surveys, to support database problem reports. I might have just stumbled onto a better option.

We subscribe to LibAnswers, which powers our live chat and text reference as well as our searchable FAQ database. It also has a component, which we don’t really use in Reference, that is basically a ticketing system (think IT@Sam’s Cherwell or the FreshDesk thing that our Computer guys use). We can customize a form for users to submit a question/ticket, and Attach a File is one option we can include on that form. Then those tickets go into the LibAnswers system where you can read them, track notes, update status, communicate answers back to the patron, etc., etc.

This might be something for us to experiment with, if you’re interested, to set up a second “group” for Electronic Resources (separate from Reference) and play with what it might look like to move database problem reports into this environment.

Cheers,

Erin Cassidy

Database File Cabinet Clean-up Project

1. Go through each cabinet in the Database file cabinet (generally each drawer is 1-2 years) and gather all folders for one vendor/resource (i.e. all files for "Accessible Archives", or "Elsevier")
2. Go to the Tech Services shared drive. 
3. Navigate to that vendor's folder
   (this is slightly tricky for vendors who have multiple products – use the Search box in the top right corner! 
   Please be very careful and check all possible places before creating a new folder!)
4. Make sure there are these folders within EACH vendor's main folder.
   1. Licenses
   2. Orders
   3. Title Lists
   4. Usage Statistics (If a “Statistics” folder exists, please rename)
5. If those folders do not exist, please create them.
6. Go through the folders pulled from the file cabinet and separate them into categories: 
   1. Licenses/amendments, etc. (this could include full licenses or one page amendments)
   2. Orders:  this can include "Add Title Forms", "Modify/Format Change Title Forms", "Close Title forms", invoices, price quotes, etc. 
   3. Title Lists.  This could be part of amendments (especially for collections, ebook pkgs, etc.), a printed spreadsheet, or Add Title Forms. “
      * Please rescan a second copy of ANY title lists for this Title List folder *
   4. Usage Stats: I expect these will be rare but if they did hand us printed usage stats, then you will scan these and add them to this folder. 
   5. If it is just promotional material, pamphlets, or email correspondence, you can scan it and put it in the vendor's main folder
      (i.e. do not put within the License, Orders, Title Lists, or Usage Stats folders!).
7. Scan each document.  Create appropriate titles using these instructions!
   1. Each file should have an appropriate name.  Please avoid using spaces.
      • Start with what it is in ALL CAPS (i.e. LICENSE, ORDER, INVOICE, USAGE STATS, TITLE LIST, EMAIL, )
      • Add an underscore_
      • Include the Resource/Product Name. Use normal capitalization (first letter each word)
        If references multiple resources/products, use the Vendor’s name
2. Then end the file name using the document date (start state, signature date, invoice date, etc.) in this format:  YYYYMonthDD.   
   • Please note that Month should be alpha, ALL CAPS, and the 3-4 letter abbreviation (i.e. SEPT, JUNE, DEC, AUG).  example 2015MAR05, 1994JULY22
3. Examples: 

• ORDER_AccessibleArchives2015JAN21
• TITLE_LIST_AlexanderStreetPress2014SEPT03
• INVOICE_Amigos2015MAR16
• USAGE_STATS_BooksInPrint1997JULY20

8. Please make sure you scan them into the correct folder!
   • ex.:  Y://Electronic Resources/Providers/Accessible Archives/Title Lists/examplefilename.pdf
9. If you run across any documents that you cannot figure out what they are, please ask Teri or Kat.  
   If we're not available, just please scan and put within the vendor folder on the TS Drive and let us know.    
   • If it is just promotional material, pamplets, or email correspondence, you can scan it and put it in the vendor's main folder (i.e. do not put within the License, Orders, Title Lists, or Usage Stats
     (i.e. do not put within the License, Orders, Title Lists, or Usage Stats folders!).
   • Naming nomenclature is the same. (i.e. EMAIL_EbscoDiscoveryService2010AUG14, PAMPHLET_IEEE1982JUNE13, etc.)
10. Once you're done scanning all contents of a folder, you can discard any "Add Title", "Modify/Change Title", or "Close Title" forms.  
    You can also discard any old invoices or order forms, printed usage stats, email correspondence, and any promotional materials.
    • DO NOT DISCARD ANY LICENSES or AMENDMENTS!  
      If in doubt --- ask KAT or TERI!! Any licenses or amendments will need to be added to the master vendor file within the admin office.  
      Please keep all found licenses/amendments together in a file folder and after completion of this project, we will discuss what needs to be moved to admin folders.