Electronic Resources

Review of Database Cancelation

A subscription to a product may be canceled if:

• Usage statistics are consistently low over a significant period of time.
• The product is no longer cost-effective
• The content provided is no longer meeting the needs of Sam Houston State University users.
• A competitive or better product becomes available.
• The vendor fails to hold up their end of the agreement and/or provides poor service.
• A product’s price inflates such that it no longer is considered affordable.
• The product’s content is found to duplicate content in another database.
• A new vendor can deliver a superior product, including a more user-friendly search interface, providing greater and more reliable access at a reasonable cost, or meet other key criteria not being met by current database provider.

Adding a Trial Database in LibGuides

1. Go to http://shsu.libapps.com. Login with your SHSU username and self-selected password. (Use the link provided on the login page if you forget your password.)
    
2. Once logged in, use the large blue button at the upper left to switch from LibApps to LibGuides.                  
    
3. In LibGuides, choose Content -> Assets from the menu.               
    
4. On the Assets page, choose the A-Z Database List tab.          
    
5. Click Add Database.                  
    
6. Fill in the details on the pop-up window; you will need to scroll down inside that window to see all the fields (or use the control at the bottom right corner to resize the window). Fill in these fields (see screenshot, next page):
   1. Vendor (especially if it’s common, like EBSCO) – pick from the list or choose “Add New”
   2. Database Name
   3. Database URL (do not include the proxy prefix)
   4. Proxy -> Click the Enabled button
   5. Check the Trial Resource checkbox
   6. Description – You can add the SurveyMonkey link here, as well as a trial end date and any other desired descriptive information.
      1. Minimal HTML is required to make the SurveyMonkey address appear as a link. You can use this as a template, or just enter your own HTML tags:
         <b>Trial available until ENTER DATE HERE. Please <a href="PASTE SURVEY URL HERE" target=”_blank”>share your feedback online</a>.</b><br />ENTER DESCRIPTIVE TEXT HERE.

7. Now click the “Subject Associations” tab. In the SECOND box (not the Best Bets), drop down the list of subjects and select “Trial.” Then save the new database entry.

Editing / Deleting a Trial

1. Follow Steps 1-4 above to view A-Z Database List.
    
2. Use the text box at the top of the Name column to search for the database name.
    
3. If something needs to be entirely deleted (trial ended, no purchase), click the X at the far right end of the row to delete the database. Confirm the Delete in the dialog box that appears.
                                             
4. If something needs to be edited, click the pencil icon at the far right end of the row to edit the database’s details. Edit as desired. If we’ve purchased something and it simply needs to come out of Trial status, just uncheck the Trial Resource checkbox and remove the trial information from the Description.

EDC / rev 16 Oct 2014

Creating a Trial Survey in SurveyMonkey

1. Set up the online feedback survey.
   1. Log into SurveyMonkey.
   2. Click “Create Survey.”
   3. Select the radio button for “Copy Existing Survey.”
   4. From the drop-down list provided, select a survey to copy. It is best to select a very recent one, just in case any changes have been made since earlier surveys.
   5. Edit the survey name to reflect the current trial database.
   6. Click “Continue.”
   7. This takes you to a page “Design Survey”.  Click the tab “Collect Responses”.
   8. Click on “Next Step”.
   9. This shows you your survey link. Don’t copy it yet.
   10. Click “Change Settings” and change the following:
       1. Allow Multiple Responses = Yes
       2. Display Thank You Page = Yes (optionally, edit the message)
       3. Survey Completion = Redirect, but change the URL to https://library.shsu.edu
       4. CRUCIAL: Save IP Address = NO
   11. Scroll back to top and click “Save Settings.”
   12. Click “Change Restrictions” and set the following:
       1. Check “Set a Cutoff Date & Time”
       2. Choose an appropriate date based on the length of the trial
       3. Click “closed message” and replace the message with this: This survey has closed. If you would like to provide feedback about a trial database, please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian at lib_erl@shsu.edu. Thank you.
       4. Cilck “Update Message.”
   13. Click “Save Restrictions.”
   14. Now click “Edit Web Link” and copy the survey’s URL.

EC  04/2011; SAV 11/11/2011