Electronic Resources

Smartlink in EDS 

I’ll try to add some context to the good questions that were posted on Smart Links. An example of Smart Links in EDS would be: user does a psychology search, record displays in the result list from PsycINFO, and has a PDF link. Even though PsycINFO as a database doesn’t have any full text, Smart Linking technology performs a match of the article to any EBSCO full text database or EBSCO E-journal subscription to make a seamless user experience. These PDF links are pre-validated so they are 1-click and 100% reliable (vs link resolver equivalent).

In reporting, “Smart Link To” is a subset of PDF Full Text (and Total Full Text) i.e. when a Smart Link click request occurs the end result is a PDF Full Text view. “Smart Link To” might not be a useful metric at an aggregated total library level. “Smart Link From” is most useful when viewed at a database level especially index-only databases. “Custom Link” is not included in Total Full Text.

At a database level (e.g. PsycINFO) you could add these 4 columns together to get a measure of your discovery user’s derived value i.e. they took action on a record most likely to get to the full text and underlying these actions it was the relevancy ranking driven by the rich metadata of the database that put the article record in a position for the user to notice.

1. Full Text Views
   1. User read article from full text database
2. Abstract Views
   1. User clicked into the detail record
3. Custom Link From
   1. The metadata of the record and relevancy ranking put this record in a position on the result list for the user to easily find it
   2. Full text was matched to a library holding, link displayed to an external publisher site, or to a Link Resolver
   3. User clicked the link, with or without causing an Abstract view
4. Smart Link From
   1. Same as #3 except SmartLinking brought the PDF into position automatically for them to directly access it
   2. Guaranteed that the user was rendered the PDF (unlike link resolver).

3 June 2013 - Duplicate records in EDS.  Known critical issue Ebsco response to #1157222.  SAV

29 May 2013 - Inconsistent article level linking for fulltext from EDS to SciELO.  #1172529.  SAV     Corrected by Ebsco and completed 31 May 2013.  SAV

5 September 2013 -- Turned on subject disciplines for EDS.  SAV

12 August 2013 -- Setup customlink for GVK- Gemeinsamer Verbundkatalog--a new fulltext collection available in EDS.  Used icon for non-journal article fulltext.  SAV

31 May 2013 - Changed link text for ScienceDirect custom link from "View this record from ScienceDirect" to "Fulltext from ScienceDirect."  SAV

29 May 2013 - Setup customlink for SciELO--a fulltext article collection available in EDS.  Used icon for non-journal article fulltext.  SAV 

20 May 2013 - Setup customlink for RECERCAT--a new fulltext collection available in EDS.  Used icon for non-journal article fulltext.  SAV

14 May 2013 - Setup customlink for AccessScience.  Used recently created icon for non-journal article fulltext.  SAV

14 May 2013 - Setup filmstrip icon for catalog info in EDS search results for streaming video.  SAV

14 May 2013 - Setup book icon for catalog info in EDS search results for ebooks.  SAV

12 December 2013 - Request to add Criminal Justice as optional subject discipline category.  Enhancement request #103391.  SAV

01 December 2011 - Change the default language selector to English.  Enhancement request #41995.  SAV