Skip to Main Content
UNIV 1101/1301 Recommendations
Foundations for College Success by Authored at SHSU!
It is important to support the transition of students into college. First-year seminars are one of several high-impact practices reported to enhance student engagement and increase student success. This resource includes lessons on various topics commonly included in these courses such as critical thinking, reading and notetaking, health and wellness, advising, career exploration, and financial literacy.
College Success by
Publication Date: 2020 OpenStax
OpenStax College Success is a comprehensive and contemporary resource that serves First Year Experience, Student Success, and College Transition courses. Developed with the support of hundreds of faculty and coordinators, the book addresses the evolving challenges and opportunities of today’s diverse students. Engagement, self-analysis, personal responsibility, and student support are reflected throughout the material. College Success also includes an array of student surveys and opinion polls, and OpenStax will regularly provide the results to adopting faculty.
- Open License: CC-BY
- Publisher List Price: $0 (ebk)
College Success (University of Minnesota Libraries)
According to Department of Education data, 30 percent of college freshmen leave school in their first year and as many as 50 percent never graduate. College Success
is designed to help change that. College Success
has a student-friendly format arranged to help you develop the essential skills and provide the information you need to succeed in college. This is not a textbook full of theory and extensive detail that merely discusses student success; rather, this is a how-to manual for succeeding in college. The book provides realistic, practical guidance ranging from study skills to personal health, from test taking to managing time and money.
Learning Framework: Effective Strategies for College Success (Austin Community College)
This book was compiled and edited from the General Studies and Student Development Department at Austin Community College. This free digital textbook serves as a companion to EDUC 1300/1200/1100 Learning Framework: Effective Strategies for College Success at Austin Community College This book is an accessible and relevant way to explore the research and theory in the psychology of learning, cognition, and motivation as well as factors that impact learning, and the presentation of specific learning strategies.
Introduction to College Success
This course provides resources for first-year college students on the path to academic and life success. Time management, effective methods of communication, career exploration, and practical tools for academic achievement are a few of the topic areas covered.
Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence (Milne Open Textbooks) by
Writing in College is designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text. It is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes. It provides a friendly, down-to-earth introduction to professors' goals and expectations, demystifying the norms of the academy and how they shape college writing assignments. Each of the nine chapters can be read separately, and each includes suggested exercises to bring the main messages to life.
UNIV 1101/1301 Supplemental for Writing
Writing Guide with Handbook (OpenStax Textbooks from Rice University) by
aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles.
About Writing: A Guide by
Publication Date: 2016
This writer's reference condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student should need to successfully compose college-level work. The book covers the basics of composition and revising, including how to build a strong thesis, how to peer review a fellow student's work, and a handy checklist for revision, before moving on to a broad overview of academic writing.
Let's Get Writing!
A freshman composition textbook used by the English Department of Virginia Western Community College (VWCC) in Roanoke, Virginia. It aligns with ENG 111, the standard first-year composition course in the Virginia Community College System (VCCS).
The Process of Research Writing by
Publication Date: 2007
The goal of this book is to guide you through this process of research writing by emphasizing a series of exercises that touch on different and related parts of the research process.
The Word on College Reading and Writing (Open Oregon) by
Have you ever wished for a handy guide that would steer you in the right direction through all of your reading and writing assignments? This text aims to be that kind of guide. Written by five college reading and writing instructors, this interactive, multimedia text draws from decades of experience teaching students who are entering the college reading and writing environment for the very first time. It includes examples, exercises, and definitions for just about every reading and writing related topic you will encounter in your college courses.
Writing for Success by
Publication Date: 2015
Provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. Beginning with the sentence and its essential elements, this book addresses each concept with clear, concise and effective examples that are immediately reinforced with exercises and opportunities to demonstrate, and reinforce, learning.
UNIV 1101/1301 Supplemental Resources
Blueprint for Success in College and Career (Rebus Community) by
Blueprint for Success in College and Career is a students' guide for classroom and career success. This text, designed to show how to be successful in college and in career preparation focuses on study skills, time management, career exploration, health, and financial literacy.
This is a remix of existing OER, several listed above: A Different Road To College
by Lamoreaux, How to Learn Like a Pro!
by Nissila, Foundations of Academic Success
by Priester, College Success
provided by Lumen Learning, and one previously copyrighted textbook with content that is now openly licensed: Blueprint for Success in College
by Dave Dillon.
A Different Road To College: A Guide For Transitioning Non-Traditional Students (Open Oregon) by
A Different Road To College: A Guide For Transitioning Non-Traditional Students is designed to introduce students to the contextual issues of college. Non-traditional students have an ever-growing presence on college campuses, especially community colleges. This open educational resource is designed to engage students in seeing themselves as college students and understanding the complexity of what that means to their lives.
Foundations of Academic Success: Words of Wisdom (Milne Open Textbooks) by
Foundations of Academic Success: Words of Wisdom (FAS: WoW) introduces you to the various aspects of student and academic life on campus and prepares you to thrive as a successful college student (since there is a difference between a college student and a successful college student). Each section of FAS: WoW is framed by self-authored, true-to-life short stories from actual State University of New York (SUNY) students, employees, and alumni. The advice they share includes a variety of techniques to help you cope with the demands of college. The lessons learned are meant to enlarge your awareness of self with respect to your academic and personal goals and assist you to gain the necessary skills to succeed in college.
How to Learn Like a Pro! (Open Oregon) by
How to Learn Like a Pro! features the “big six” effective learning/study skills topics: learning styles and preferences, time and materials management, critical thinking and reading, note-taking, memory principles, and test-taking techniques. Each of the six units featuring a total of twenty-three lessons and accompanying exercises (with a dash of humor here and there) were developed with the diverse student body of the community college in mind as well as learners in other educational venues.
I Can Finish College by
College is a time of both great opportunities and great challenges. Regardless of your background, obstacles and adversity are sure to come your way. The key is knowing how to respond, how to navigate the system, and not letting anything get in the way of you reaching your ultimate goal. Wherever you're at in your educational journey, this book has the answers to your most difficult questions—and will answer the most important questions you need to know (and didn't know you had!).
No Limits by
Publication Date: 2018
Student Success and First Year Experience are learning community courses at UTA that teach new students academic success skills to aid their transition to college. The goal of the courses is to help students identify their individual needs, determine what resources are appropriate, recognize the faculty role in their development, and formulate a plan for an actively engaged and enriched experience from campus to career.
Six Steps To Job Search Success (Saylor) by
This book is a practical discussion of six actionable steps that students can take to land a job regardless of the market. In the first chapter, Six Steps to Job Search Success covers the different types of job searches: full-time job after graduation, internship, return to workforce, career change, relocation. The rest of the book is about how, regardless of the type of job search or overall market, one can be proactive and successfully land a job. This textbook outlines a structured approach, actionable steps, and stresses the importance of a student's willingness to see this through.