College of Business Administration - Open & Free Materials: Accounting

Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY
• Read instructor reviews.

This book is intended for an undergraduate or MBA level Financial Accounting course. It covers the standard topics in a standard sequence, utilizing the Socratic method of asking and answering questions.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

This textbook is an adaptation by Athabasca University of the original text written by D. Annand and H. Dauderis. It is intended for use in entry-level college and university courses in financial accounting. A corporate approach is utilized consistently throughout the book. The adapted textbook includes multiple ancillary student and instructor resources.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

This textbook is an adaptation by D. Marchand and Athabasca University of the original text written by D. Annand and H. Dauderis. It is intended for use in entry-level college and university courses in financial accounting. A corporate approach is utilized consistently throughout the book.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY
• Read instructor reviews.

Managerial Accounting was written around three major themes: Ready, Reinforcement and Relevance. This book is aimed squarely at the new learning styles evident with today's students and addresses accounting industry changes as well. Managerial Accounting by Heisinger and Hoyle also contains a handful of other pedagogical aids to compliment your lectures and help your students come to class prepared. From a focus on decision-making, to end of chapter materials that can only be characterized as very deep and very wide, to ethics coverage, group projects and spreadsheet applications—these features allow you to teach the course you want to teach and assign the materials you like to assign.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

The book provides a review of Introductory Accounting concepts and covers all topics essential to a first level Intermediate Accounting course: the conceptual framework and current landscape of financial reporting; statements of financial position, comprehensive income, cash flows and shareholders' equity; cash and receivables; revenue; inventory; property plant and equipment; intangible assets; and intercorporate investments.

• Open License: CC-BY
• Read instructor reviews.

This text covers all topics essential to a second level Intermediate Accounting course: current, long-term and complex liabilities, income taxes, pensions, leases, shareholders' equity, earnings per share, statement of cash flows including the direct approach, effects of changes and errors, and disclosures and analysis.

• Open License: CC-BY
• Read instructor reviews.

Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective uses annual reports of real companies to illustrate many of the accounting concepts in use in business today. Gaining an understanding of accounting terminology and concepts, however, is not enough to ensure your success. You also need to be able to find information on the Internet, analyze various business situations, work effectively as a member of a team, and communicate your ideas clearly. This text was developed to help you develop these skills.

• Open License: CC-BY
• Read instructor reviews.

This textbook simplifies and integrates annuity types and variable calculations, utilizes relevant algebraic symbols, and is integrated with the Texas Instruments BAII+ calculator. It also contains structured exercises, annotated and detailed formulas, and relevant personal and professional applications in discussion, guided examples, case studies, and even homework questions.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

The theoretical part of this book discusses: quality costs; the evolution of quality cost calculation; quality cost calculation models and their applications to date; and the specific way in which service companies operate. The empirical/practical part of the text presents the authors' model of quality cost calculation along with the adopted assumptions and cost structure, as well as the research methodology and verification of the use of the developed model in a selected service company.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-ND

The theoretical part of this book discusses: quality costs; the evolution of quality cost calculation; quality cost calculation models and their applications to date; and the specific way in which service companies operate. The empirical/practical part of the text presents the authors' model of quality cost calculation along with the adopted assumptions and cost structure, as well as the research methodology and verification of the use of the developed model in a selected service company.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-ND