This guide was created as a dashboard of the most used resources for faculty, preceptors, table trainers and other SHSU affiliated users involved in educating future doctors from SHSU-COM. It is not an exhaustive list of available resources, however, so feel free to browse the library's website (https://library.shsu.edu/) or the various pages of this guide should you need anything additional, or to check what the students have access to. I welcome any suggestions for making this guide better suit your needs, and am available if you require additional assistance or need to know more about any of the resources available to you through the library.
Also of interest is the NGL Faculty Services page, with a listing of the variety of services available through the library.
Christina Seeger, CPhT, MLS, AHIP
Your SHSU-COM Librarian
seeger@shsu.edu
This list of image and illustration collections is provided educational use. Please check the copyright statements on the site before using an image. Most of the sites listed on this page permit users to download the images for non-commercial purposes, such as in for use in lectures, as long as the source of the image is included. For more information see the SHSU guide on copyright and FAIR use: https://shsulibraryguides.org/copyright.
Adobe Express Adobe Express is an all-in-one design, photo, and video tool to make content creation easy. Quickly and easily make stunning social content, videos, logos, and more with generative AI features powered by Adobe Firefly.
Clinical Key Multimedia Image and video collection organized by specialty
Duke University Image The purpose of this guide is to help you easily locate photographs, charts, diagrams, videos, and other medical images on the Web.
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
LWW Health Library Audio and Video collection to complement the LWW Health Library collections.
MedPix MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. The content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, and many other search options.
Open i Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine (National Library of Medicine)
University of South Carolina medical Images Collection Please check the copyright statements on the site before using the image. Most of the sites listed on this page permit users to download the images for non-commercial purposes, such as in for use in lectures, as long as the source of the image is included.
University of Utah Collections Search over 400 digital collections, containing over 1 million digital photographs, maps, books, videos, audio recordings, and other items.
Several library-subscribed resources provide instructor access to slides, cases, images and other multimedia. Registration is required, please check the resource page for more information.
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System
