Research Guides: Biological Sciences Research Guide: BIOL 4361: Evolutionary Biology

Librarian

Contact:

936-294-1119
shjohnson@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223K

BIOL 4361: Evolutionary Biology Course Guide

The purpose of this guide is to help you find information relevant for BIOL 4361: Evolutionary Biology. This guide is not meant to be comprehensive and serves merely as a starting point for researching the resources available.

General Biology Databases

The following databases provide electronic access to journal articles in Biology, its subdisciplines and associated science topics.

Biological Abstracts (part of Web of Science) The premier database for biology, botany, and related topics world-wide. Provides primarily citations, but does have some linking to full text articles.
ScienceDirect Provides electronic access to journals in all science disciplines, including Biology, Biochemistry, Agriculture, Genetics, Molecular Biology and Environmental Science, with many full text articles.
BioOne
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of todays most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
NOTE: Click More below for mobile instruction.
Mobile instruction:
- On your FIRST USE, connect to BioOne Mobile on the SHSU wireless network to automatically pair your device with SHSU's subscription.
- OR, IF NOT ON CAMPUS, follow these steps:
  - FIRST access BioOne from a desktop/laptop computer.
  - Open https://www.bioone.org/action/mobileDevicePairingLogin and obtain a pairing code.
  - On mobile device, go to bioone.org, click Settings, choose Device Pairing, and enter your code. Pairing must be done every 90 days.
Annual Reviews Science Collection Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Science Citation Index (part of Web of Science) Science Citation Index (Web of Science) provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of science disciplines, from 1984 to the present. The index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Project MUSE Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."

Google Scholar

Websites

There are many resources on the Internet related to Biology. The websites listed below are only an example and not meant to be an exhaustive list. Additionally, information from the Internet needs to be evaluated critically with attention to origin, author, motive, bias and age.

General sites:

American Institute of Biological Sciences
A scientific association supporting biological research and education.

American Society of Mammalogists
Founded in 1918 for the purpose of promoting the study of mammals.

American Society for Microbiology
Oldest and largest life science membership organization specifically for microbiologists.

Sierra Club
Grassroots environmental organization, focus on protecting the planet's environment, wilderness areas and the animals inhabiting them.

E-Skeletons
A website from the University of Texas at Austin providing an interactive environment to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy, both human and nonhuman.

Course Catalog Description

BIOL 4361. Evolutionary Biology

Evolution is the core theory of modern biology. Students investigate the major principles of evolutionary biology, from the history of evolutionary thought through theory and current concepts of evolution. Emphasis will be placed on molecular and cellular evolution, mechanisms of evolution including natural selection, gene flow, founder effect, and speciation.
Prerequisite: Minimum grade of C in (BIOL 1411, BIOL 1413, and BIOL 2440) or (BIOL 1406 and BIOL 1407), and BIOL 3450.

Learn How to Evaluate Sources

Evaluating Sources

Biological Sciences Research Guide