Research Guides: Biological Sciences Research Guide: Getting Started

Biology Subject Librarian

Contact:

936-294-1119
shjohnson@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223K

Biological Sciences Guide

This guide covers the resources available through Sam Houston State University as well as resources that are free of charge through other sources.

Remember: To access databases available through SHSU from off campus, you'll need to log in with your university user name and password when prompted.

E. coli bacteria by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases/Flickr CC BY 2.0

Recommend materials

Library Resource Recommendation Form
SHSU users may request the library purchase materials for the collection. (Note* NON-subscription materials only. In general, textbooks will also not be purchased using library funds.) Requests will be reviewed by to determine if item meets the criteria for inclusion in the collection.

Citation Management Systems

EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.

EndNote Web SHSU Library Research Guide
Mendeley
Zotero

Other Relevant Guides

Research Help

Call SHSU Reference (936) 294-1614

Text your question to (936) 229-3764

Request materials from another library (Interlibrary Loan)

One to One: Personalized help

Recommend materials for purchase
SHSU users may request the library purchase materials for the collection. (Note* NON-subscription materials only. In general, textbooks will also not be purchased using library funds.) Requests will be reviewed by NGL to determine if item meets the criteria for inclusion in the collection.

Reserve a Study Room

Reserve a Study Room
Reserve a study room for up to four hours a day for SHSU account holders.

Writing Center

Contact:

SHSU Writing Center

(936)-294-3680

asc@shsu.edu

Course Instruction Requests

Request library instruction
SHSU instructors may request in person or online library instruction here.

Biological Sciences Department Contact Information

Biology Department

Academic Advising

Undergraduate Studies

Graduate Studies

Department of Biological Sciences
2000 Ave. I, Lee Drain Building (LSB)
P.O. Box 2116
Huntsville, Texas 77341
Phone: (936) 294-1540 Fax: (936) 294-3940