Acquisitions Homepage

Starting with FY2020 (September 1, 2019 - August 31, 2020), the Library will be purchasing library resources that are needed for the COM program. 

The FOAP the library will be using for COM online purchases/subscriptions is 212112-470000-720-40.

212112 is the fund: Osteopathic Medicine Support

470000 is the organization: Newton Gresham Library

720 is the account: O & M Pool for electronic resources

40 is the program: Academic Support

Note: Account code 790900 Teacher Retirement Reimbursement may show up when using the FGIBDST command in Banner, but the amounts listed come out of the 701 fringe benefits pool, not the 720 library materials pool. Using the FGIBAVL command with the 720 pool will show the balance for just the library materials. Please ignore the 790900 amounts. See the discussion in the attached  email file below.

The FGIBDST command can be used to show the expenditures for the different types of material codes like databases, e-journals, etc.

 

ADDITION OF PRINT BOOK RESOURCES (6/15/2020)

Associate Dean of Biomedical Sciences, Mari Hopper, wants a couple of copies of print books to be added to their library room at the COM building. Checking on FOAP to use--TLO 6/15/2020

It was decided in FY2020 when the COM Biomedical Sciences department requested 2 copies of a print book (which was ultimately purchased by the library using our P-card and the Biomedical Sciences FOAP), that in the future,

• The COM department or unit should purchase the print book and give it to Arwen Meador, the Medical Librarian, to process for Reserve checkout

In FY2021, COM had some excess money due to several factors such as prepaying in FY2020 for some materials, vendors not charging as much for come as originally expected, and zero inflation offered by some publishers due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  The Dean of COM authorized some of those excess funds to be used for firm order one-time purchases of 13 e-books and 7 print books.

The library should be able to move money from the 720 online pool to the 770 print pool in the 212112-470000 FOAP.  Account code 738900 will be used even though the books will be housed at the COM library rather than the main library.   - TLO 5/20/2021

• Arwen will add these items to a cart in GOBI if available. If not, we’ll need to talk about the best place to acquire them from.

• Trina says it will not be a problem to keep these titles separate from regular library orders because YBP does not mix orders
• The regular 738900 account code will be used in Banner and the COM location will be used in Sirsi Workflows

 

***************************************************************************

Authorization to use the usual library account codes

11/6/2019 email:

Teri,

Please proceed with your purchase using the below account codes.  If something needs to change, we will work with you and the COM.  Lynn Clopton is working on this and will be in touch with you but we don’t want to hold up your purchase.

Thank you,

Lenora

---------

Lenora C. Chapman, C.P.A.

Associate V.P. for Finance and Operations

Sam Houston State University

(936) 294-1997

lenora.chapman@shsu.edu

****************************************************************

Same account codes that the library usually uses:

• These materials are not capitalized.
• 727601  Library E-books/E-videos (OT)
• 727602  Library E-books (PDA)
• 727603  Library E-journals/Databases (OT)
• 727604  Library E-books (Subscription) 
• 727605  Library Databases (Subscription)
• 727606  Library E-journals (Subscription)
• 727607  Library E-standing Orders
• 727608 Library E-media (Subscription) 

 

• These materials are capitalized
• 738900 Library Books (firm order) - includes other physical materials like dvds, as well 

*********************************************************************

For transfer of funds into the COM FOAP for payment of resources, I contact Lenora Chapman and Clair Collin and who authorize Lynn Clopton to add the funds.

 

Lenora C. Chapman, C.P.A.

Associate V.P. for Finance and Operations

Sam Houston State University

(936) 294-1997

lenora.chapman@shsu.edu

 

Clair Collins, MA

Director of Faculty Development & CME 

Sam Houston State University

College of Osteopathic Medicine

Box 2303 Huntsville, TX 77341

Office: (936)294-2372 | Fax: (936)294-4399

Clair.Collins@shsu.edu

 

Lynn Murray Clopton, MBA

Director of Financial Planning & Budget

Sam Houston State University

clopton@shsu.edu

936-294-3997 Office

936-294-1335 Fax

******************************************************************

 

 

There is a limit of 20 characters for fund codes.  

COM-ACQ (for entire COM budget)   Fund levels: 1) blank, 2) MED, 3) Electronic, 4) blank , 5) NOT_PDA, 6) blank

COM-F-MED (print books - firm orders) Fund levels: 1) Firmorder, 2) MED, 3) Non-Elect, 4) blank, 5) NOT_PDA, 6) 738900 (ADDED 6/15/2020)

COM-F-EB (e-books – firm orders)     Fund levels: 1) Firmorder, 2) MED, 3) Electronic, 4) EB, 5) NOT_PDA, 6) 727601

COM-F-SM (streaming media – firm orders)    Fund levels: 1) Firmorder, 2) MED, 3) Electronic, 4) SM, 5) NOT_PDA, 6) 727601

COM-F-OT (one time purchases of e-journals or databases)     Fund levels: 1) Firmorder, 2) MED, 3) Electronic, 4) OT, 5) blank, 6) 727603

COM-S-EB (e-book subscriptions)     Fund levels: 1) Subscript, 2) MED, 3) Electronic, 4) EB, 5) blank , 6) 727604

COM-S-EJ (e-journals or e-journal packages like JAMA)     Fund levels: 1) Subscript, 2) MED, 3) Electronic, 4) EJ, 5) blank , 6) 727606

COM-S-RAS (database subscriptions)      Fund levels: 1) Subscript, 2) MED, 3) Electronic, 4) RAS, 5) NOT_HOST , 6) 727605

COM-S-RAS-HOST (database subscriptions hosting fee)      Fund levels: 1) Subscript, 2) MED, 3) Electronic, 4) RAS, 5) HOST_FEE , 6) 727605

COM-S-SM (streaming media subscriptions)       Fund levels: 1) Subscript, 2) MED, 3) Electronic, 4) SM, 5) NOT_HOST , 6) 727608

For IPED purposes, I believe we still need to report the expenditures the way we do for our other resources (e.g. e-books versus e-journals vs databases vs streaming media, etc.)  We will need to track the expenditures in Sirsi so they can be reported for IPEDS.

For fund levels in Sirsi, we will use the same fund level coding that we use for other funds. When searching by fund level, be aware that the COM resources will be included in the results.  To eliminate the COM resources, it may be necessary to search by part of the fund ID. For example, search by E-S-RAS to pull up database funds that don't include COM. To include only COM databases, search either COM-S-RAS or search fund levels: 1) Subscript  2) MED and 4) RAS

 

Also, especially starting next year in FY2021 there will a large number of resources for which invoices will have to be split between COM and the library.  In Sirsi we can split the orders on 2 funds. On the Subs Payment spreadsheet, we would just indicate the split as we currently do (i.e., notes referring to the 2 payments)

 

I am not currently anticipating setting up blanket POs for COM expenditures for FY2020. We’ll have to see how to handle that for next year and about adding the licenses for their resources as well.

LIB_COM group email includes: Eric Owen, Michael Hanson, Kat Landry Mueller, Arwen Meador, and Teri Oparanozie

Kat set up some shared sites for COM: 

The Sharepoint site (https://myshsu.sharepoint.com/sites/COM-NGL) has a shared Excel file we’re collaborating on - https://myshsu.sharepoint.com/:x:/s/CoM-NGL/COM_NGL_2019MeetingData  (Different format of same link where all of the COM Resources’ costs are on the shared COM_NGL_2019MeetingData.xlsx on OneDrive )

Kat, Teri, and Clair Collins (Director of Faculty Development & CME for COM) have access to these.