Skip to Main Content

Acquisitions Homepage

Firm Orders, Standing Orders and Subscription acquisitions

Introduction

Types of Materials

The library collection includes many types of materials such as:

  • Books and e-books
  • Journals and e-journals
  • Databases
  • DVDs and e-videos (also called streaming videos or streaming media)
  • Music scores and music cds
  • Maps, microfiche and microfilm,  manuscripts, photographs, etc.

Some of these materials are given as gifts to the library. Some are also government documents and materials that the library digitizes.  The Acquisitions Department does not handle those materials and they are not included in this discussion of the library material budget.  The library's Acquisitions Department deals with resources that are purchased for the library collection.

There are some items that are paid for by the Library Business Manager but unless those items are added to the library collection and are made available to all patrons, they are not included in the library material budget discussed here. Also, not included here are what are referred to as bibliographic utilities or services which are used by staff to do their work such as YBP's Gobi database, Baker & Taylor's Title Source, OCLC cataloging service, EBSCO Usage Consolidation Service--these are paid by the Library Business Manager.

As of fiscal year 2015, the Library Business Manger has also begun paying for binding (for books and journals) and preservation services (microfilming of the Huntsville Item and Houstonian).

Types of Purchasing

Firm Orders - one-time payment for material.  Example: a book costs $100 -- the book is ordered, the book and an invoice for it is received, the invoice is paid, the book is added to the library collection. Nothing further is done with the order or payment. Variations in the selection of titles in recent years include:

  • Titles selected and/or authorized by librarians (for print books and e-books)
  • Patron-driven acquisitions (PDA) -- for e-books: patron usage triggers a purchase and e-book is "owned"
  • Short-term loan (PDA STL) - for e-books: patron is allowed access to the e-book for a limited amount of time at a reduced cost (i.e., a percentage of the list price of the e-book is charged for each loan)

Standing Orders - order is placed with the vendor for a title so that whenever an edition of the title is published, the vendor automatically sends the volume to the library with an invoice for that volume. The order carries forward from one year to the next.

Subscriptions - order which covers one year of issues or service is placed with the vendor for a title (usually a journal or a database).  The invoice is sent and paid at the beginning of the subscription term.  Issues are sent or online access is provided without any other invoices for the remainder of the term. Orders are renewed for the following term.  Order number remains the same from year to year as long as the format or service remains the same.

Based on Texas law, our library is exempt from the university purchasing department authority which means we can place orders for our materials directly with our vendors instead of having the purchasing department (now called Disbursements and Travel Department) place the orders for us.  We use the Sirsi Acquisitions system to record our orders, purchases and payments. However, the actual payments are made by the university.  We enter information about the invoices (which are considered to be 'orders') into the university's financial system (Banner).  The Accounts Payable and Controller Offices then make the payments to the vendors.

Library Materials

Sirsi Funds, Budgets, Purchase Order Numbers, and Vendors

Sirsi funds and orders have been designed to indicate how the resource is purchased and in some cases the type of resource.

Firm orders:

  • Funds begin with F-
    • Followed by 3 digit subject code. Ex: F-HIS is the firm order history fund
    • Some special library funds have LIB preceding the subject fund. Ex: F-LIB-REF is the Reference fund
    • EB after the subject code indicates the fund is used for e-books. Ex: F-HIS-EB is for history e-books
    • PDA after the EB code indicates the e-book was purchased as part of the PDA program: F-HIS-EB-PDA
    • STL fund for e-books which are part of a PDA program but charged as a short-term loan: F-LIB-EB-STL
    • SM after the subject code indicates the material is streaming media such as an e-video: F-HIS-SM
    • Firm order budgeting:
      • The Head of Technical Services allocates an amount each year to each subject area based on the level and types of programs offered by the university, the average cost of materials for the subject areas, and various other factors affecting the subject areas. 
      • The total amount to be divided among the subject funds is limited by the money allocated by the university in the firm order accounts.
      • Since university accounts are separated into pools for physical versus online resources, the Head of Acquisitions (with the help of the Technical Services Library Associate, Acquisitions Librarian, and Electronic Resources Librarian) create an estimated budget for physical versus online expenditures as well as for PDA purchases and PDA Short-Term Loans. Decisions are made about which university funds to use for which types of materials.  These decisions are recorded in the Sirsi F-LIB-ACQ fund's "Extended Information" field although no money is recorded in this fund.
      • The money for the subject areas are added to the F-xxx fund budgets to be used for all types of materials for that subject area (i.e., books, dvds, music cds, e-books, PDA e-books, e-videos, and one-time purchase of e-journals and databases. 
      • To prepare an estimate of the amount that will be needed for print and electronic firm orders that is provided to the Library Director for the library budget request to the Provost for the following year, the Head of Acquisitions (with the help of the Head of Technical Services, the Technical Services Library Associate and  the Acquisitions Librarian) looks at the amount spent in the previous year plus an inflation rate of about 5% for unknown increases. At times when the overall materials budget is tight, the Library Director may ask that no inflation rate should be added to the firm order budget estimate.
      • Generally, the budget for on-going standing order and subscription costs are estimated first and may impact the firm order budget figures; that is, the firm order budget may be decreased if money is needed for on-going costs.
  • Purchase order numbers begin with FO-
    • Followed by a 5 digit number.  The first digits of the number represents the fiscal year and the other digits are sequential.  Ex.: FO-15032 means fiscal year 2015, the 32nd order of the year. No distinction is made in the purchase order number for books versus dvds or music cds or other physical items.
    • Suffixes are used for:
      • E-books: FO-15032EB (no distinction is made for PDA or STL e-book purchases)
      • Streaming media: FO-15032SM
      • Replacements: FO-15032REP
      • Rush orders: FO-15032RUSH
      • Texana materials: FO-15032TEX
      • P-card purchases: FO-15032PC
      • One-time electronic journal purchases: FO-15032OTEJ
      • One-time electronic database purchases: FO-15032OTRAS
  • Vendors do not have any suffix. Ex: YBP

Standing Orders:

  • Funds begin with SO-
    • Followed by 3 digit subject code. Ex: SO-HIS is the standing order history fund
    • Some special library funds have LIB preceding the subject fund. Ex: SO-LIB-REF is the Reference fund
    • E prefix used before the subject code indicates the fund is used for electronic standing orders. Ex: E-SO-HIS is for electronic standing order for history
    • Standing order budgeting:
      • The Head of Acquisitions allocates a general amount for print standing orders and a general amount for electronic standing orders based on the amount spent on these materials in the previous year plus a 5% increase for inflation. 
      • Rather than dividing these amounts among the subject areas, the print standing order amount is added to the budget for the SO-LIB-ACQ fund and the e-standing order amount is added the budget for the E-SO-LIB-ACQ fund.
      • These amounts are also adjusted based on the total amounts that are allocated in the university standing order funds.  (The Head of Acquisitions may move amounts between the pools within the university standing order funds in order to better reflect the expected expenditures for print versus electronic.)
      • In the Sirsi standing order (i.e. recurring order) funds, no amounts are encumbered for the orders until the invoices are received with the volumes that are sent for each title.  As soon as the invoice is paid, the encumbrance becomes an expenditure. It is difficult to estimate how much money will be needed to cover the volumes that may be published and sent for the year.
      • To prepare an estimate of the amount that will be needed for print and electronic standing orders that is provided to the Library Director for the library budget request to the Provost for the following year, the Head of Acquisitions (with the help of the Technical Services Library Associate and  Acquisitions Librarian) looks at the amount spent in the previous year plus any known increases (e.g.the cost of the West Library Maintenance contract for print SO titles may be a known amount) plus an inflation rate of about 5% for unknown increases.
  • Purchase order numbers begin with SO-
    • Followed by a 5 digit consecutive number starting from 10001. (The fiscal year is not represented because the same order number carries forward from one fiscal year to the next fiscal year.)
      •   Ex.: SO-10001, SO-10002, etc.
    • Suffixes used:
      • ER suffix is used for electronic standing orders: SO-15032ER
      • Occasionally an alphabetical suffix of A, B, etc. is used to indicate a relationship between two orders such as a title change or change in vendor.  This type of suffix has not been used consistently.
  • Vendors have a suffix of -SO. Ex: YBP-SO

Subscriptions:

There are 3 major types of subscriptions: journals, databases, and e-book subscriptions. At this point  in time, e-video subscriptions are treated as databases.

  • Journals
    • Funds begin with the following prefixes depending on the format and/or type of subscription
      • S- (print,  print+online, or microform journals) followed by 3 digit subject code: S-HIS
      • E-S-EJ- (online-only journals) followed by 3 digit subject code: E-S-EJ-HIS
      • Journal budgeting:
        • The Head of Acquisitions allocates a general amount for print journals which is added to the budget of the S-LIB-ACQ fund and a general amount for e-journals which is added to the budget of the E-S-EJ-LIB-ACQ fund.
        • These amounts are also adjusted based on the total amounts that are allocated in the university serial funds. (The Head of Acquisitions may move amounts between the pools within the university journal funds in order to better reflect the expected expenditures for print versus online.)
        • In Sirsi, the amount paid for a journal is rolled forward as an encumbrance on the subject fund attached to the order.  Therefore, there is an amount automatically encumbered for each subject area at the beginning of each fiscal year.  This amount does not include inflation for the new year but as the invoices are paid during the year the expended amounts include any price adjustments.
        • To prepare an estimate of the amount that will be needed for print and e-journals that is provided to the Library Director for the library budget request to the Provost for the following year, the Head of Acquisitions looks at the amount spent in the previous year plus any known increases for the coming year plus an inflation rate of about 10% for unknown increases.
    • Purchase order numbers
      • Prefix followed by 9 digit EBSCO title number for EBSCO orders, or by 5 digit consecutive number starting with 10001 for non-EBSCO orders
      • S-EJ- (online-only journals): S-EJ-123456789 or SEJ-10001
        • Online journal memberships, combinations, or packages -- the title number of the membership is used for each of the titles in the package followed by the suffix M01, M02, M03, etc.: S-EJ-123456789M01, S-EJ-123456789M02, etc.
        • M1 has been used when there are fewer than 10 titles in a package, M01 for 10 to 99 titles, M001 for 100 or more titles. More recently, M01 has been used even when there are fewer than 10 titles in a package in case the number starts at fewer than 10 but later increases to more than 10.
        • For packages that come within a package, a suffix letter will be used to identify the subpackage: S-EJ-10001M15A, S-EJ-10001M15B, etc.
      • S-JR-F- (microfiche or microfilm journals): S-JR-F-10001
      • S-JR-P- (print only journals): S-JR-P-123456789 or S-JR-P-10001
      • S-JR-PE- (print+online journals): S-JR-PE-123456789 or S-JR-PE-10001
      • S-PKG- (print or print+online journal memberships, combinations, or packages where the subscription includes more than one title) followed by the package subscription title number followed by suffix designating the number of titles in the package: S-PKG-123456789M01,   S-PKG-123456789M02, etc. or S-PKG-10001M01, S-PKG-10001M02, etc.
        • For packages that come within a package, a suffix letter will be used to identify the subpackage: S-PKG-10001M15A, S-PKG-10001M15B, etc.
  • Databases
    • Funds begin with E-S-RAS-
      • Followed by 3 digit subject code: E-S-RAS-HIS
    • Purchase order numbers begin with S-RAS-
      • Followed by 9 digit EBSCO title number or 5 digit consecutive number beginning with 10001 for non-EBSCO orders: S-RAS-123456789 or S-RAS-10001
      • Suffix of M01, M02, etc. may be used when titles come together in one package or are closely related: S-RAS-10001M01, S-RAS-10001M02, etc.
      • Suffix of letters like A, B, C may also be used in some cases to indicate relationships between titles; S-RAS-10001A, S-RAS-10001B, etc.
  • E-book or E-book Package Subscriptions
    • Funds begin with E-S-EB- (for single e-book subscriptions or e-book package subscriptions)
      • Followed by 3 digit subject code: E-S-EB-HIS
    • Purchase order numbers begin with S-EB- (single e-book) or S-EBP- (e-book package)
      • Followed by 9 digit EBSCO title number or 5 digit consecutive number beginning with 10001 for non-EBSCO orders: S-EB-123456789, S-EB-10001, S-EBP-123456789,S-EBP-10001
      • Suffix of M01, M02, etc. may be used when titles come together in one package or are closely related: S-EBP-10001M01, S-EBP-10001M02, etc.
      • Suffix of letters like A, B, C may also be used in some cases to indicate relationships between titles; S-EBP-10001A, S-EBP-10001B, or sub-packages
  • E-video or Streaming Media Package Subscriptions
    • Funds begin with E-S-SM- (for single steaming media subscriptions or streaming media package subscriptions)
      • Followed by 3 digit subject code: E-S-SM-HIS
    • Purchase order numbers begin with S-SM-  for either a single e-video or a streaming media package
      • Followed by a 5 digit consecutive number beginning with 10001: S-SM-10001 (i.e., Films on Demand - streaming media package); S-SM-10007 (Lighting for Film & Television - single e-video)
      • If needed, a suffix of M01, M02, etc. may be used when titles come together in one package or are closely related: S-SM-10001M01, S-SM-10001M02, etc.  (Not currently needed.)
      • Suffix of letters like A, B, C may also be used in some cases to indicate relationships between titles; S-SM10001A, S-SM-10001B, or sub-packages. (Not currently needed.)
  • Vendors have a suffix of -SER for all of the above types of subscriptions: e.g, EBSCO-SER; PROQUEST-SER; KANOPY-SER
  • Database, Ebook subscription, and Streaming Media subscription budgeting:
    • The Head of Acquisitions & Serials (with the help of the Head of Technical Services) allocates a general amount for databases which is added to the budget of the E-S-RAS-LIB-ACQ fund, a general amount for e-book subscriptions which is added to the budget of the E-S-EB-ACQ fund, and a general amount for streaming media subscriptions which is added to the budget of the E-S-SM-ACQ fund. These amounts are also adjusted based on the total amounts that are allocated in the university database/ebook/streaming media subscription fund.
    • In Sirsi, the amount paid for each database or e-book or streaming media subscription is rolled forward as an encumbrance on the subject fund attached to each order.  Therefore, there is an amount automatically encumbered for each subject area at the beginning of each fiscal year.  This amount does not include inflation for the new year but as the invoices are paid during the year the expended amounts include any price adjustments.
    • To prepare an estimate of the amount that will be needed for databases, e-book, and streaming media subscriptions that is provided to the Library Director (usually in April) for the library budget to present to the Provost for the following year, the Head of Acquisitions (with the help of the Head of Technical Services) looks at the amount spent in the previous year plus any known increases for the coming year plus an inflation rate of about 5%.

Types of University Funding

Funds

The university has different sources or types of funding.  The main types of funds that affect Acquisitions funds are:

The Banner Chart code is "S"

Institutional Fee - fund 150101 (all student fees including the library fee were combined into an Institutional Fee as of FY2021)

  • Library Fee (from students fees) - fund 151800 -- replaced by 150101 (Institutional Fee) as of FY2021.  
  • Used with organizations 470002 (books), 470004 (serials), 470006 (standing orders), 470008 (database,  e-book, and streaming media subscriptions)

Designated Tuition -  fund 140100 - no longer used for library materials as of approximately FY2018

  • Used with organization 470002 (books)

HEAF (Higher Education Assistance Fund) -  fund 120400 - no longer used for library materials as of approximately FY2018

  • Used with organizations 470002 (books) and 470004 (serials)

A few more specialized funds are:

Joe L and Sallie Clark Texana - 310417

  • Used with organization 470000 (used for books)

Xerox Machine Library (part used by Acquisitions Department is for Book Replacements) - 183100

  • Used with organization 470001 (used for books)

Money in these funds is further divided by Organization, Account Code (which is related to the format or type of material), Program, and Pool (which is tied to the Account Codes)

Organization Codes & Corresponding Funds, Pools, Account Codes, and Program Codes

NOTE: The Account Codes listed below changed when we began using BearKat Buy in FY2016.  TLO 4/7/2022

See: Library Materials Budget>NGL BearKatBuy - live starting 9/21/2015>NGL New Account Codes

The organizations are based broadly on the purchase types mentioned above:

470000 Newton Gresham Library (used with Texana fund 310417) for materials for the Library's Texana Collection

  • So far only physical materials have been purchased for the Texana collection
    • Pool: 770 (Capital Outlay Pool) for physical materials
    • Account Code: 738900 for physical book, dvd, music cd, maps, manuscript materials
    • Program: 40 (Academic Support)

470001 Library Exp and Equipment (used with Xerox Machine Library--Book Replacements fund 183100)

  • Pool: 770 (Capital Outlay Pool) for physical materials
    • Account Code: 738900 for physical book, dvd, music cd, maps, manuscript materials
  • Pool 720 (O and M Budget Pool)
    •  Account Code 727601 for e-books
  • Program: 90

470002 Library Books (used for all types of one-time purchases with funds 151800, 140100, and 120400)

  • Pool 770, Account Code 738900 for physical books, dvds, music cds, maps, manuscripts
  • Pool 720 (O and M Budget Pool), Account Code 727600 for online materials, in this case for one-time purchases including e-books, PDA e-books, Short-Term Loan PDA e-books, e-videos, one-time purchases of e-journal backfiles or databases
  • Program: 40 (Academic Support)

470004 Library Serials (used for journals with funds 151800 and 120400)

  • Pool 770, Account Code 738200 for print journals including print+online journal subscriptions
  • Pool 720, Account Code 727600 for online materials, in this case for online-only current journal subscriptions
  • Program: 40 (Academic Support)

470006 Library Standing Orders (used with 151800 fund)

  • Account (Pool) 770, Account Code 738200 for print standing order materials
  • Account (Pool) 720, Account Code 727600 for online materials, in this case for electronic online standing orders
  • Program: 40 (Academic Support)

470008 Library Fee Capital Expense (use for databases and e-book subscriptions with fund 151800)

  • Pool 720, Account Code 727600 for online materials, in this case for databases and e-book subscriptions
  • Program: 40 (Academic Support)

 

See the Cognos Budget Availability Ledger Report of University Funds for the Library

A Cognos report can be run and saved as an Excel file which will show all of the library FOAPS (funds, organizations, account codes, program codes) and amounts in each one. The data is current as of the day before the report is run.

This report should be run and saved when updating the Library Materials Budget Report .

The accounts used by Acquisitions will need to be extracted from this report since it will include accounts used by others in the library such as the Library Business Manager.

 

Annual Statistical Reports - Influence on Fund Reporting

For many years the library has had to provide expenditure information and counts of various types of library materials for the Academic Library Survey and/or the IPEDS report.  These reports collect information based on the library's fiscal year which is September 1 of one year to August 31 of the following year. The categories for which expenditure information is requested usually do not match exactly with the categories for which count information is requested.  The focus below is on the expenditure categories.

The construction of funds in the Sirsi Acquisitions system and use of the university accounts have been designed to help provide the expenditure information needed by the IPEDS/Academic Library Survey.

Primary distinctions:

  • One-time purchases (firm orders) versus on-going commitments (subscriptions and standing orders)
  • Physical versus online
    • Physical: books, dvds, music cds, standing order books, microfilm, microfiche, print journals, etc.
    • Online: e-books, e-videos, databases, e-journals, e-standing orders
    • Print+online journal subscriptions are paid as print/physical materials (local NGL library decision)
  • Current journal subscriptions versus non-current journal subscriptions
    • Individual online-only journals and online journal publisher packages (e.g. Sage Premier All Access e-journal package) which provide access to current issues of journals are treated as current e-journals and are paid and coded as EJ. Some journal archives provide access to the journal up to the current time and those are coded as EJ; for example, the Vogue Archive provides access to current issues—the most recent on the website now is March 1, 2015--so it has been coded as EJ.
    •  Most subscriptions to journal backfiles (e.g. Sage journal backfile hosting fees) or non-current journal subscriptions (e.g. African American Periodicals 1825-1995) are treated as databases and coded as RAS.  In some cases, additional years of content are added to a journal or journal package every year but the content is still several years behind the current year.  For example, we purchased archival issues of the Economist but we continue to pay an annual fee to have more recent issues added but in 2015 the most recent issues available are 2011 and next year issues for 2012 will be added.  This title has been coded as RAS.
      • The IPEDS/Academic Library Survey statistics used to make an exception for JSTOR journal archives by including them as current journals even though most titles are 3 to 5 years behind the current year. The 2014 IPEDS no longer has a separate category for electronic journals either in the expenditure or count sections of the report, so the issue of how to  handle journals is basically being avoided other than to classify them as on-going resources/payments.
  • Databases including aggregated journal indexing and abstracting databases like Academic Search Premier were categorized as Reference and Aggregation Services (which we abbreviated as RAS and began using in coding our Sirsi funds and purchase order numbers for those types of resources and have continued using it even though IPEDS recently has started referring to these types of resources as 'databases'.)
    • E-video/streaming media subscriptions are paid as databases and coded as RAS for payment purposes.
    • However, in FY2014 IPEDS introduced Digital/Electronic Media Subscriptions as a separate category for which counts should be recorded (although for the Expenditure section no separate category was set up for recording expenditures of Digital/Electronic Media subscriptions.  Expenditures for these materials are included with all subscriptions.) However, NGL may want to make adjustments in Sirsi to collect information about expenditures for these materials so that it can be correlated with the counts of these materials.
  • E-book subscriptions and e-book package subscriptions used to be coded as RAS but a few years ago we started to identify e-book packages (which included e-books with fairly recent publication dates) and coded those as EB or EBP subscriptions (e.g. Safari Tech Books). E-book package subscriptions of older materials are still categorized as RAS (e.g. Early American Imprints).  This is another area that needs to be re-evaluated.

Below are categories for which IPEDS requested expenditure information for fiscal year 2014 and which has been formatted in an NGL library report called the Library Collection Expenditures Report.  The FY2014 report calls for only the 4 totals highlighted in red below without regard to whether the materials are physical or electronic.  However, in previous years the IPEDS/Academic Library Survey reports did ask for a breakdown of costs for physical versus online resources. Since our library funds have been set up to report by format, and since the university's financial system also makes a distinction between physical and online formats, the following report still reports by format and then combines those for the totals requested on the FY2014 IPEDS report.

LIBRARY COLLECTION EXPENDITURES REPORT

FY2014 STATISTICS

  

 

Library Accts paid by ACQ  
INFO IS INCLUSIVE from 9/1/2013 to 8/31/2014   9/18/14 TLO & KLM
MATERIALS/SERVICES COST    $  3,423,391.55
ONE - TIME PURCHASES OF BOOKS, SERIALS BACKFILES, AND OTHER MATERIALS:    $   1,020,578.07
     
Total Physical Books and Physical Media    $                  614,791.98
Physical Media (Audiovisual-music cds, dvds): f/o    $                    10,812.18
Physical Books: f/o (not media or binding): f/o    $                  603,979.80
     
Total Digital/Electronic Books    $                  117,404.09
E-books (not PDA): f/o    $                    88,527.19
E-books PDA purchased: f/o    $                    28,876.90
     
Total Electronic one-time (not e-book): f/o    $                  288,382.00
    Electronic Media (streaming videos): f/o    $                                  -  
    Electronic one-time journal/database purchases: f/o    $                  288,382.00
     
     
OTHER MATERIALS/SERVICE COSTS    $        21,669.21
E-books STL: f/o    $                    21,669.21
Cartographic (rarely used, Maps, etc.)    $                                  -  
     
     
ONGOING COMMITMENT TO SUBSCRIPTIONS (INCLUDING STANDING ORDERS):    $   2,381,144.27
Physical    $                  386,629.82
Physical Standing Orders: Paper, combined p+e: s/o    $                  164,024.55
Physical Serials: paper, microform, combined p+e: sub    $                  222,605.27
     
     
Digital/Electronic    $              1,994,514.45
Electronic Standing Orders: s/o    $                    44,233.23
Electronic Serials/e-journals (title-level): sub    $              1,009,548.14
Electronic Databases/subs ("RAS"): sub    $                  871,354.40
Electronic e-book subscriptions  (e.g. IGI InfoSci Books, Safari, Oxford Reference, etc.): sub    $                    69,378.68
Digial Media Subscriptions (currently coded & included in Databases "RAS") - ex. Ambrose, Alexander Street Press, Films on Demand, etc.: sub    $                                  -  
     
OPERATIONS AND MAINTENANCE EXPENDITURES    $       23,247.64
PRESERVATION SERVICES (as of FY2015 to be supplied by Library Business Manager)    $                    23,247.64
Contract Binding: f/o    $                    11,181.25
Contract Binding: sub    $                    11,197.55
Preservation: other (not binding): sub    $                         868.84
Preservation: other (not binding): f/o rarely used!    $                                  -  
     
Late Fees    $                                  -  
Late Fees: f/o    $                                  -  
Late Fees: s/o    $                                  -  
Late Fees: sub    $                                  -  
     
LIBRARY ACCOUNTS paid by Acquisitions Dept    $3,446,639.19
Departments supplying information: f/o=firm order; sub=subscription; s/o=standing orders; e/r=electronic resources 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

BANNER UNIVERSITY ACCOUNTS & CARRYING MONEY FORWARD TO NEW FISCAL YEAR

 Update 4/7/2022 TLO--With BearKatBuy we cannot roll money forward to the next fiscal year. We have to spend it. For some vendors we have been able to set up deposit accounts (e.g. YBP Gobi for e-books and Kanopy for streaming media) so we can pay into the deposit account at the end of the fiscal year and then use that money for items selected during the following fiscal year.

The exception is the Joe L & Sallie Clark Texana account: 

Rolls forward without being encumbered:

Interest from Endowment Accounts—Joe L & Sallie Clark Texana (310417/470000)

  • This money does not need to be encumbered at the end of the fiscal year and Acquisitions does not encumber it
  • It rolls forward automatically
  • The endowment is actually in a separate account and the interest from the endowment rolls into the account that is used by Acquisitions
  • The interest is added to the account periodically throughout the year by the university and is put into the 720 pool.  Acquisitions generally uses this account for print books so the money that is needed for orders has to be transferred to the 770 pool
  • At the beginning of the fiscal year, an estimate of the amount that will be needed for orders during the year is transferred to the 770 pool and is adjusted during the year as needed

BELOW NO LONGER APPLIES TO ACQUISITIONS AS OF FY2021:

THESE NOTES WERE MADE BEFORE WE STARTING USING BEARKATBUY AT THE BEGINNING OF FY2016. TLO 3/17/2016.

Encumber it or lose it:

If this money is not used during the current fiscal year, it must be encumbered so that it will carry forward to the new fiscal year, otherwise the university takes it and it is no longer available to the library

State accounts

  • HEAF (120400)
  • E&G Fund (110100)

Local account: Designated Tuition (140100)

Rolls into library fund balance if not encumbered:

If this money is not used during the fiscal year and is not encumbered, it rolls into the library’s fund balance and can be pulled back out and transferred into the student use fee accounts or copy services accounts in the new fiscal year.

  • Jackie Conrad, Library Business Office Manager, often lets money roll into the fund balance at the end of the fiscal year
  • Acquisitions encumbers money in Student Use Fee Accounts and Replacements account to be able to track it better

Local accounts—library income:

  • Library Student Use Fee accounts (151800)
  • Copy Services income accounts--Xerox Machine Library (183100/470001—Replacements)

Notes from talking with Jackie Conrad 8/26/14—TLO)

SIRSI funds

 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System