Acquisitions Homepage

NEW ACCOUNT CODES for Library Acquisitions - FY2016

Original code: 727600 (do not use this code in BearKatBuy because it routes the order to university IT department)

Subaccount titles (these were approved by Lisa Lucas in the Controller's Office via email sent 8/11/2015 to Teri Oparanozie)

• 727601  Library E-books/E-videos (OT)
• 727602  Library E-books (PDA)
• 727603  Library E-journals/Databases (OT)
• 727604  Library E-books (Subscription) 
• 727605  Library Databases (Subscription)
• 727606  Library E-journals (Subscriptions)
• 727607  Library E-standing Orders
• See below for 2 additional codes for electronic resources 727608 and 727609

Original code: 738200

Subaccount titles

• 738202  Library Physical Journals 
• 738203  Library Physical Standing Orders

Existing code for books:

• 738900 Library books

Existing Codes – Jackie Conrad uses these

• 728400 – Personal Property – Animals Expensed (We have Data Processing Services)
• 730000 - Consumables
• 720300 – Registration Fees – Employee
• 721000 – Fees & Other Charges
• 727300 – Reproduction & Printing services

Notes from getting the account codes set up:

I spoke to Lisa Lucas (x42552, csh_lat@shsu.edu) in Controller’s Office who sets up the account codes. 

• The codes need to be within the numeric range of the current codes because they are still tied to pools and she assigns them consecutively (so we can’t skip numbers and increase by multiples of 10 like 727610, 727620, etc.)  
• She needs the original account code and the titles for the subaccount codes that we want to create.  The subaccounts will be numbers like 727601, 727602, etc.   
• She will actually assign the numbering because some subaccount codes are already in use; e.g., 738201 is being used for employee books or something like that.
• Titles for codes are limited to 35 characters including spaces but can use characters like dashes and slashes.
• Renee Starns told me these codes are only going to be set up in the test system for now and we can change them after we do the training before they are created in the production system.
• OT means one-time purchase, similar to firm order
• I don’t think we should set up codes right now for the test system for e-videos, dvds, music cds, etc. because when we need to discuss more about the best way to handles those. We can use Sirsi to get reports on these rather than creating more groups that have to be balanced between Sirsi and BearKatBuy.  Also, IPEDS is still not very clear on how these materials need to be tracked, so we can deal with those later.  So Library Books will still include dvds, cds, microforms and library firm order e-books and e-videos will be paid on the same account code. E-video subscriptions are currently coded as databases in Sirsi and currently are paid on the same accounts as databases.
• I put “Library” at the beginning of each account code to clearly identify them as library materials.
• Library E-books (PDA) includes purchased and short-term loan PDA

REVISIONS TO ACCOUNT CODES for Library Acquisitions - FY2017

On 9/6/2016 I emailed Lisa Lucas (csh_lat@shsu.edu) and Amanda Withers (Interim Controller, withers@shsu.edu, x42289) to request these changes and to make sure they are set up to NOT route to the university IT department. TLO 8/23/2016

Original code: 727600 (do not use this code in BearKatBuy because it routes the order to university IT department)

Subaccount titles

• 727601  Library E-books/E-videos (OT)
• 727602  Library E-books (PDA) - use this for PDA only; use new code for STL
• 727603  Library E-journals/Databases (OT)
• 727604  Library E-books (Subscription) 
• 727605  Library Databases (Subscription)
• 727606  Library E-journals (Subscriptions)
• 727607  Library E-standing Orders
• 727608 Library E-media (Subscription) 
• 727609 Library STL  (We have only had STL of e-books but some vendors are providing STL of e-videos as well. I am making this description general so that we can use it for both types of materials in the future if desired.)                    

*************************************************************************

NOT IMPLEMENTED but a reminder as to what was considered:

I considered having a separate account code for firm order E-media (also referered to as streaming media) but we have spent less than $2000 on these types of materials in FY2016 so it doesn't seem worth having a separate account code for now.  My initial proposal was:

• 727601  Library E-books/E-videos (OT) -- Stop using 727601. Replace it with 727610 and 727611 (see below)
• 727610 Library E-books (OT)                          
• 727611 Library E-media (OT)                         

IPEDS counts physical media. It includes microforms, graphic, and cartographic materials in this category.  We don't have a separate account code for physical media like cdroms, dvds, music cds, etc. but we did create funds in Sirsi for F-MUS-CD, F-MUS-DVD, F-DAN-DVD for which these types of materials are ordered. We also have fund level 4 coding for CD and DVD to pull the expenditures together. Do we need an account code for Physical Media or are they mixed on invoices with other types of materials? Trina says physical media are mixed with print books on the invoices so we will not create a separate account code for physical media.  

The above represents some slight revisions to email sent to Ann Holder on May 3, 2016 (see below). No action was taken on this email as far as I know (as of Sep 6, 2016) --it is superced by the changes mentioned above:

Michael, Trina and I have been discussing the following and we would like to request some new account codes.

We currently use account code 727601 for Library E-books/E-videos (OT) [OT means one-time referring to firm order purchases].  IPEDS counts e-books separately from e-videos and we catalog them separately as well.  We would like to be able to track them separately financially.  Therefore, we would like to have account codes that separate the e-books from the e-videos.  We would like to start using these new codes for FY2017 so hopefully they can be created before August 2016.

I think it would be best to create 2 new separate account codes to take the place of 727601. Then we would stop using 727601.

If the following codes are not currently being used for anything else, I would suggest:

727608 Library E-Books (OT)

727609 Library E-Videos (OT)

Also, I would like to add account code:

727610 Library E-Videos (Subscription)

FYI, we already have 727604 for Library E-Books (Subscription)

The product descriptions need to be uniform to be able to search them easily to get consistent results. They also need to be unique because the search function in BearKatBuy is keyword and a search for "books" would bring up both "ebooks" and "print books" if those product descriptions were used. Also, dashes are interpreted as spaces so it is best NOT to use dashes. Searching for JR, SO, or DB brings up orders placed by other departments on campus.  Adding LIB before each of our product codes without a space or dash should help ensure that we retrieve only library orders.

Proposed Product Descriptions as of 9/18/15: (Using all caps for consistency although the advanced search is not case sensitive)

LIBEBOOKS (for ebooks/e-videos)

LIBPDA (for PDA purchased) (both LIBPDA and LIBSTL use account code 727602 ; but for balancing with Sirsi we are using separate BKB Product Descriptions to make it easier to identify the payments. Proquest sends separate invoices for PDA versus STL so this will work well for them.  Springer, if we start that PDA, does not separate their invoices so purchased and STL will be on the same invoice.  We will have to decide how to handle those if we determine we can afford their PDA prices. Since the blanket POs are by vendor, we can have 2 blanket POs for Proquest [one for PDA and one for STL];  whereas for Springer we may have just one blanket PO.)

LIBSTL (for PDA short-term loans. See notes in LIBPDA description.)

LIBOT (for e-journal/database one-time purchases)

LIBEBSUB (for ebook subscriptions)

LIBDB (for databases)

LIBEJ (for ejournals)

LIBESO (for E-Standing Orders)

LIBJR (for print journals or microform journals)

LIBSO (for print standing orders)

LIBBKS (for print books/music cds/dvds)

Also, when creating blanket purchase orders, the Product Description should be preceded by "LIBBLANKET"

(e.g. LIBBLANKET LIBEBOOKS).

This will allow us to search for and display all library Acquisitions Dept blanket POs together.

Note: BLANKET, BLANKET PO or BLANKETPO brings up orders from other departments on campus. POBLANKET or LIBBLANKET did not bring up other departments' orders.

One-off vendors using Library Order Form:

• Receipts use quantity rather than cost.  An invoice will be added as "1 EA" meaning "1 each." This is similar to the way it was done in Banner.
• Catalog number is required.  Proposed catalog number coding which is unique enough to bring up just library Acquisition Dept orders:
  • LIBFO for any type of firm order
  • LIBSO for any type of standing order
  • LIBSUB for any type of subscription

Norma O'Bannon from Disbursements has informed us that a receipt can have only one invoice attached.

We will use the BearKatBuy receipt number for the Sirsi check number as the link between the 2 systems.--REVISED 10/715--use E-invoice number as the Sirsi check number.  We encountered a problem with Educational Music Service (EMS) invoices which have a discounted amount if paid by a certain date listed on the invoice.  Norma O'Bannon has told us we have to entire the entire amount of the invoice in BKB, then if Accounts Payable is able to pay the invoice by the specified date, they will enter the discounted price as the payment price which shows up in the E-invoice but not in the receipt.  The E-invoice number is also in Banner so in order to match Sirsi with Banner, which is the definitive payment system rather than BKB, we will use the E-invoice number in Sirsi as the check number.   Usually the receipts are being changed into E-invoice numbers the same day that the receipt is entered into BKB or the next day.

(The Banner command FGIENCD can be used to see the balance remaining on the purchase order which can be matched to the Excel payment spreadsheets that are being kept by Acquisitions.).

No need to rename the receipt number or add a packing list name

The E invoice number that is created in BearKatBuy IS the invoice number that will feed over into Banner.  The reason we did not see the E invoice numbers in BANWEEK testing is that the invoices we used were from last fiscal year and already existed in Banner so an error occurred in trying to re-use them.  Norma was able to modify those invoice numbers in BearKatBuy by adding an 'A' to the end of the invoice number and then they fed over into BANWEEK within a minute or two (the time it took for posting to occur in Banner) after she resubmitted them. 

Invoice error messages can be seen in BearKatBuy if you display the PO, select the Invoice tab, click on the hyperlinked E invoice number, and select the History tab.  Norma said she spends much of her day looking at the invoice errors and correcting them.

Norma O'Bannon says we need to have a receipt date on our invoices. This is mainly because the Prompt Payment Law says for state funds the invoice must be paid within 30 days of when the material is received or when the invoice is received.  However, in general, Norma prefers that we have a receipt date on the invoices whether they are paid on state or local funds.  We will either stamp the receipt date on paper invoices or insert a receipt date into PDF invoices following the format: NGL received [date][initials]. We include NGL to distinguish the library receiving the invoice from Accounts Payable receiving it when we send it to them.

Reports for balancing between Sirsi and BearKatBuy/Banner:

• I asked Renee' Starns and Norma O'Bannon if there is a BearKatBuy report that can give a total of net balances from all blanket POs for a FOAP or for an account code so we don't have to look up each PO separately.

Trina and I have also talked about the structure of the files we should keep for invoices that will be attached to the BearKatBuy receipts and the structure of files to keep track of PO numbers, Receipt numbers, E-invoice numbers and amounts (and now possibly I invoice numbers) for balancing purposes.  More on that later.

9/28/15 If an invoice has a statement on it that payment will be a discounted amount if paid by a certain date, Norma O'Bannon has told us to enter the full amount of the invoice rather than the discounted amount into BearKatBuy.  If Accounts Payable is able to pay before the date specified, the discount will be taken when paid.  Trina will enter the full amount in Sirsi and add a Comment on the receipt in BearKatBuy to bring the discount date to the attention of Accounts Payable.  She will also put an asterisk at the end of the receipt number that we record on the invoice and/or Excel spreadsheets to check the E invoice number to see the actual amount paid.  If the discounted amount was paid in Banner, she will adjust Sirsi to match Banner. (This situation happened with Education Music Service blanket PO P0048496)

10/26/15 Jermie was told that if we cancel a purchase order in BKB, it does not automatically dis-encumber the money in Banner so we have to go into Banner and disencumber the money. 

10/26/15 For our one-off vendors for which we use the Library Order Form, there is not a field to check to not send the BKB purchase order to the vendor which is present in the Blanket POs.  There is an option to change the Distribution setting from Fax to Custom.  If Manual is selecting as the Custom setting, it means the department (in this case the library), will send the purchase order themselves instead of a PO being sent from BKB. However, we usually have not had to actually change the setting because a default can be set at the vendor level by Procurements.  If we have a problem with a vendor receiving a PO from BKB, let Renee' Starns know so she can change the vendor information. We did have a problem with American Association for Advancement of Science on purchase order P0049924 but Renee' changed the vendor settings after it was discovered.

Renee's exact words were: 

Every vendor has to have a default distribution set in order for the PO to complete.  If it hits our Invalid Distribution workflow approval folder then Jeremy or I set to Manual distribution, which just means the dept. will distribute in their own manner (ordering online, sending out an email, fax, hand delivery, etc). 

On this one, the fax fed over from the vendor set up on the AP side, which is rare but sometimes they do provide AP a fax or email for vendor set up.  This is just an automated issue, as the fax or email is in Banner and when we sync the vendor/address over to BKB everything comes with it.  I’ve amended this vendor to be manual distribution.  Very few vendors provide fax or email on their set up forms, so this is normally not an issue, but does arise every now and then.  We just explain to the vendor the issue and then Jeremy or I go back into that vendor and set them as manual.

Testing firm orders in BearKatBuy Test system--approximately July-September 18, 2015

We are going live with BearKatBuy and entering the following blanket POs into Production BearKatBuy starting 9/21/15

Firm Orders

$400,000 firm order budget for FY2016 (all of this is in the 151800/470002/40 FOAP-- $100,000 is in the 720 pool and $471,535 in the 770 pool.  However, from the $471,535 I moved $29, 113.55 to the 720 pool for short-term loans, $89,436 to e-journals, and $102,985.45 to databases leaving $250,000 for non-electronic firm orders.)

2/1/2016: Banner shows adjusted budget of $250,000 in the 770 pool and $140,629.98 in the 720 pool (which includes $40,629.98 for STL and $100,000 for other electronic firm orders.) The total for all pools is $390,629.98. (We had to reduce the $20,866.45 that was carried from FY15 to F16 for short-term loans by $9,370.02 that was put back into the library fund balance.)  In order to have more money for STL we reduced the firm order budgets by $7986 ($100,000 - $7986 = $92,014.00) and increased STL budget by $7986 (i.e. $40,629.92 + $7986= $48,615.98).  This does not change the amount that is in the 151800.470002.720 pool ($92,014 + $48,615.98 = $140,629.98).

• P001 (abbreviated PO numbers—the numbers will be automatically assigned by the system): YBP print books $200,000
• P002 YBP electronic books $40,000
• P003 Proquest STL $50,000--don't add this one yet (we will be using money carried forward from FY15 to begin the year and this will be paid in Banner only--$20,886.46 PL435699).  Also, we did reduce this $50,000 to $29,113.55 because we didn't get more money from the library director for firm orders. 2/1/2016 we reduced the firm order F funds in Sirsi by $7986.00 and will use this for STL which increases the STL FY2016 money to $29,113.55 + $7986.00= $37,099.55. The FY2015 STL money $20,886.46 had to be reduced by $9370.02 which was put back into the library fund balance leaving $11,516.43 FY15 money spent on STL.  Total STL budget = $37,099.55 +$11,516.43=48,615.98.
• P004 Proquest PDA purchased $10,000. 2/1/2016- need to increase this by $5000 since we didn't do the Springer PDA.
• P005 Springer PDA $5000 (this amount is just a guess. If we decide on less than this we can add the remainder to the "Proquest PDA" budget). Found out that Springer minimum is $30,000. We need to see if this is a viable option for us to pursue--do not set up this PO.--Not a viable option. 2/1/2016 - add this $5000 to Proquest PDA
• P006 Alibris print books $25,000
• P007 Educational Music Service (EMS) print books (music scores) $3000--increased by $2000 from one-off money so now $5000 12/11/2015
• Other vendors (one-offs) print books/dvds/music cds $57,000--moved $2000 to EMS so now $55,000 12/11/2015. 2/1/2016- reduce $55,000 by $35,000 leaving $20,000 to reflect where the money is located in Banner.
• Other vendors (one-offs) ebooks $10,000 2/1/2016-increase $10,000 by $35,000 for a total of $45,000 to reflect where the money is in Banner.  Then subtract $7986.00 to use towards STL.
• Trina will setup these blanket POs in test system
• Trina will test paying invoices on some blanket POs and some one-off POs and create some procedures for paying (contact Norma O’Bannon to pay them in Banner test system as well so we can see what they look like in Banner.)
• Teri will prepare list of blanket POs for other areas (subscriptions, SO, journals)
  • Kat will test some of these with Trina's help

Replacements and Texana - These are firm order accounts but they have their own university accounts and are allocated in Sirsi separately from the other firm order subject funds.

• Replacements are in FOAP 183100-470001-770-40 $12,400 and are in fund G-F-REP in Sirsi. At the beginning of the year we thought the Director's office was going to take at least half of the $12,400 so we only allocated $6,000 in Sirsi. On 3/17/2016 I allocated the rest of the $12,400 in Sirsi because it was decided that Acquisitions can use all of the money, especially if needed for the VHS replacement project. No blanket POs have been set up.
• Texana - money comes from the interest from an endowment set up by Joe L & Sallie Clark Texana FOAP 310417-470000.  The money is added to the 720 pool automatically and we have to move it to 770 for purchasing print materials. At the beginning of FY2016 there was $6622.50.  Money gets added automatically several times during the year.  In the Sirsi fund G-F-TEX we only allocated $6000.  We have spent less than $100 from that account as of 3/17/2016. No blanket POs have been set up. (In FY2015 we spent $1257.28.)

Standing Orders

• P001 YBP for print SO $45,000
• P002 Harrassowitz for print SO $7000
• P003 Gale for electronic SO $48,000
• One-off vendors
  • $2000 for other electronic SO (currently I believe Gale is the only vendor with whom we have E-SO orders.  This $2000 is just in case we happen to start an E-SO with some other vendor - it may be needed for the Gale E-SO or for other print SOs)
  • $98,000 for other print SO (includes $95,604 for West Library Maintenance Agreement which leaves $2,396 for other print SO vendors)

Subscriptions

• Journals
  • P001 Blanket PO for  EBSCO for print journals $190,000
  • P002 Blanket PO for EBSCO for e-journals $655,000
  • One-off vendors for print journals approximately $36,200
  • One-off vendors for e-journals approximately $491,430
• E-book Subscriptions
  • No blanket POs. All one-off vendors for approximately $85,722 (using first the $52,127 in HEAF 120400/470000/720 account)
• Databases (RAS)
  • P001 Blanket PO for AMIGOS for $95,000
  • P002 Blanket PO for Gale for $35,000
  • P003 Blanket PO for Mergent for $42,000
  • P004 Blanket PO for Proquest for 117,000
  • One-off vendors approximately $520,510

Subscriptions

• Receipt of invoices (database/e-book subscription invoices are received by the Electronic Resources Librarian and journal invoices are received by the Head of Acquisitions/Serials Librarian).
  • If invoices are received in paper format they should be stamped with the day they were received and "NGL/initials" of receiver should be written on them.
  • If invoices are received in PDF format, the receiver should open the PDF file and add receipt information at the top of the invoice; e.g., "NGL received [date, initials]"
  • I spoke with Norma O'Bannon and verified that the receipt date needs to be recorded on the PDF invoices
• Transfer of invoices to staff to enter invoice information into Sirsi Acquisitions
  • Paper invoices are given to staff
  • PDF invoices are saved in folder on Tech Services drive at Acquisitions>BearKatBuy Payments>Subscriptions>FY2016 Subscription invoices to pay in Sirsi. 
    • The filename should be: Vendor_[BearKatBuy Product Code]_invoice number
    • VENDOR-PROVIDER_TYPE_INVOICE#
      • Examples: APA_DB_56789, AMIGOS-OXFORD_DB_12345, Proquest_EBSUB_61040057, EBSCO_EJ_7529433, EBSCO_JR_0017919
• Adding invoices to Sirsi
  • Staff checks"FY2016 Subscription invoices to pay in Sirsi" folder at least once per day for new invoices
  • Staff enters invoice information from paper or PDF invoices into Sirsi and updates "FY16 Subs Payment Records" file which is on the Tech Services drive at Acquisitions>BearKatBuy Payments>Subscriptions
  • Staff transfers invoice PDF to "FY2016 Subscription invoices to pay in BKB" which is also in the Acquisitions>BearKatBuy Payments>Subscriptions folder
    • If paper invoice, staff scans and saves as a PDF using same file naming convention listed above
    • Paper invoices are filed in vendor filing cabinet but PDF invoices do not have to be printed
• Adding invoices to BearKatBuy (currently to be handled by Technical Services Library Associate)
  • Checks "FY2016 Subscription invoices to pay in BKB" folder at least once a day
  • Enters invoice information into BearKatBuy according to procedures for blanket PO or one-off vendor orders and receipts
  • Updates "FY16 Subs Payment Records" file with BearKatBuy PO number and receipt number
  • Pays invoice in Sirsi using BKB receipt number as the check number
  • Moves the PDF invoice copy to the Acquisitions>BearKatBuy Payments>Subscriptions>FY2016 Subscription invoices PAID in BKB folder in folders created for each vendor.