Acquisitions Homepage

FY2016 money not spent (most will roll back into library fund balance but HEAF may be taken by the university.)

TEX (Texana) remains in fund 310417.

Trina,

Please make the following changes to the database blanket POs.  I have an invoice from Proquest for Ulrich’s Web for which there is not enough encumbered on the blanket PO.

Mergent Blanket PO P0048492: disencumber the remaining $2,177.00-- Completed 8/22/2016

When the Mergent money has been disencumbered, add $709.00 to Proquest Blanket PO P0048513 which currently has $2,841.00 encumbered.--pending 8/22/2016.  That will give a total of $3,550 (which is the total for the Ulrich’s Web invoice.)

I am adjusting the FY16 Sub Payment Records spreadsheet to show these adjustments but we can’t pay the Proquest invoice until the adjustments have actually gone through on Banner.

Thanks,

Teri

Trina and Michael,

As of this morning, August 18, 2016, the overall free balance in Sirsi for the F- funds is $363.81.  However, the free balance in the STL fund (F-LIB-EB-STL) is $6372.50.  Also, the free balance for the F-LIB-ACQ fund is $5082.00.  Basically, we have used up the STL and ACQ money and $1290 for PDA on print YBP orders because Trina is short by about $11,250 for YBP Print. (For FY2017, it may be better to keep the STL money separate from the regular F funds by changing it to G-F-LIB-EB-STL.  Then it will not be included in the free balance of the other F funds. We could also do that for the ACQ money.  The PDA money is harder to track since it is divided up among all the subject funds so have to leave that as is.)

Anyway, to have the money needed for YBP Print, Trina and I have talked about taking the following steps.

Trina will balance the firm order Sirsi and Banner accounts because we are seeing a difference of $166.93 in the overall expenditures.  There is also a 75 cent difference in the print encumbrances. (Trina just found the $166.93 difference – P-card orders that have not posted to Banner yet.) (Trina found the 75 cents and is fixing it.)

Trina will ask Lucy to go through the orders that are currently on order for YBP Print ($2697.78) to see if any are not currently in stock (i.e., status has changed from ‘in stock’ to ‘order available’ meaning it is not currently in stock.)  Lucy will cancel with YBP and in Sirsi the orders that are not in stock. This will give us a better idea of how much we will need for YBP Print orders that we can really expect to receive this fiscal year.

Trina will cancel the Harrassowitz orders ($42.00) with the vendor and in Sirsi and re-place the order in FY2017. (Ok with Bruce.)

For Baker, of the $41.23 encumbered, there is one order that is being shipped for $21.59. Trina will cancel the other order with the vendor and in Sirsi and replace it in FY2017.

Trina will do a change order to disencumber $6,372.50 from the BKB Proquest STL blanket PO and $1290 from the Proquest PDA blanket PO for a total of $7662.50.  This will be added to the available $370.22 of One-off EBK money for a total of $8,032.72.  After the change orders are processed, Teri  will request a budget transfer of this $8,032.72 from the 720 electronic pool (151800/470002 account) to the 770 print pool to use that money for YBP Print. This will leave zero in the 720 electronic pool.   With this being the interim between semesters, we do not expect much more activity for STL and PDA.  However, any other invoices that we do receive can be paid from either from the money remaining from the $69,000 in the database account or possibly from the standing order account if we don’t receive more invoices for Gale e-standing orders (current balance of $3151.52). Trina does not have any other e-book orders pending nor does Zach in terms of e-book package deals. I told Zach that we will have to wait until next fiscal year for any new e-book orders.

• We received a STL invoice of $695.07 and PDA of $437.95 on 8/19/2016 which Trina will pay from the remaining money from the $69,000 on the 151800/470008 account using the STL/PDA account code of 727602.
• We received another STL invoice of $558.22  and PDA of $86.93 on 8/21/2016
• Zach has a faculty request to host 4 e-videos on Kanopy at $150/yr for a total of $600--this will be treated as database subscription as usual on the 151800/470008 account.
• I have requested the budget transfer of $8,032.72 from 720 to 770 pool in 151800/470002--8/19/2016.
• 8/23/2016 Teri adjusted the Sirsi firm order and database funds to reflect the money being used from the 151800/470008 account for firm orders

In Banner there is $3,779.42 in the firm order print free balance (one-off print).  Of this, only $21.59 will be needed for the Baker encumbered order and $166.93 for the P-card orders.  Trina will use $3569.25 to add to the YBP Print blanket PO.

After the $8032.72 is transferred from the 720 pool to the 770 pool, we will do a final calculation of how much needs to be added to the YBP Print blanket PO.  This transfer was completed by 8/22/2016.

• 8/23/2016 Trina will add $7565 to the YBP blanket PO. This will cover the $6,544.88 of invoices that we currently have in hand minus $282.94 already on the blanket PO plus about $1160 of titles that are on order for which we may or may not receive invoices this fiscal year but rounded up to about $1300.  If those invoices are not received, on Monday, August 29, Trina will disencumber the amount remaining on the YBP blanket PO so that money can roll into the library fund balance.
• 8/23/2016 Trina will add $154.33 to the Alibris blanket PO to pay the remaining Alibris invoices
• This will leave $505.78 in the firm order print one-offs free balance for any last minute one-off print invoices.

Teri

From: Walker, Trina
Sent: Tuesday, August 16, 2016 4:01 PM
To: Oparanozie, Teri <LIB_TLO@SHSU.EDU>
Subject: Firm Orders

Teri,

This should be the last of the transfers for this fiscal year for FO.  Here is a breakdown of how things are looking:

The remaining balance on the YBP Blanket PO (P0048485) is $1610.75.  So, I will need $11,237.83 added to this PO (we can round it to $11,250).  There may be some cancellations, so the encumbered amount is subject to change.

TKW

In response to Trina's email, we made many budget adjustments.  See the 2 Excel files below for details.

Here is the email:

Teri,

Will you have a chance to look at the FO and SO budgets before you leave on Wednesday?  Money will need to be transferred to cover invoices coming in this week and next week.  Here is a breakdown of how things are looking:

Total Encumbered (FO) = $20,833.85

               **Alibris--$768.69

               **YBP--$19,805.72

               **Harrassowitz--$42.00

               **Baker-Audio--$67.44

               **Broude--$150.00

The only blanket PO that will need money is YBP (P0048485).  The current balance is $3569.86 with a shortage of $16,235.86.

----------------------------

As for SO, I have three YBP invoices that I need to pay that totals $4,711.18.  The total left on the blanket PO for YBP SO Print (P0048487) is $594.81 leaving a shortage of $4116.37.

Hope this all makes sense. 

TKW

As listed in the attached Excel file for Standing Orders listed below, the three budget transfers for Standing Orders have been processed so Trina will be able to encumber $10,000 for print YBP blanket PO to pay current invoices for $4,711.18 and have money for other invoices for the remainder of FY2016., TLO 8/8/2016

Email to Trina 7/18/2016

Hi, Trina,

In BKB, please disencumber $13,281.98 from EBSCO Blanket PO P0048494 for print journals.

Also, disencumber $5,392.37 from EBSCO Blanket PO P0048493 for e-journals.

Then we will be transferring $21,000 from print journals (151800-470004-770-40) to databases (151800-470008-720-40) and $5,000 from e-journals (151800-470004-720-40) to databases (151800-470008-720-40) for a total of $26,000.

Michael, this is less than the original $33,600 because we should be receiving an invoice around 8/15/2016 from EBSCO for CHRONICLE OF HIGHER EDUCATION e-journal for $6995 that we will be paying this fiscal year (FY2016.)  I originally thought we wouldn’t get the invoice until FY2017.

Trina, please let us know when these change orders are complete.

Thanks,

Teri

(The above information is based on July 15, 2016 Budget Update file - see the "Print JR 151800" and "EJ 151800" tabs in the file.)

7/20/2016 update: Ann H says we can spend $22,000 for one-time purchase of Mergent Manual archives so some of the money from journals will be needed for firm orders.  Also, before moving the journal money I am going through the print journal orders that are encumbered in Sirsi for the remainder of the year because some of those probably need to be canceled/cleaned up.

Michael,

TRANSFER $17000 FROM EBOOKS TO PRINT BOOKS FOR YBP PRINT ORDERS

I looked at this with Trina.  In addition to the $9956.71 invoices for YBP print orders that Trina has for this week and next week, there is $11,691 of orders encumbered for which she will also need money. I think the best thing to do for now is to move $17,000 from the e-book pool to the print pool to add to the YBP print blanket purchase order.  This will require transferring money on the university accounts which you and I can try to do in your account to see if your access works; i.e., $17,000 from 151800-470002-720-40 (e-book pool) to 151800-470002-770-40 (print book pool). However, first Trina is doing a purchase order change request to disencumber the $17,000 from the YBP E-Book Blanket PO (P0048485).  She will let us know when that goes through and then we can do the university accounts budget transfer. $17,000 has been disencumber from YBP e-book blanket PO and Michael was able to request budget transfer from e-book to print book pool (J0068051 7/19/2016).

This will leave about $1585.76 in the YBP E-Book Blanket PO.  If we need more for YBP ebooks, we can start taking some from the $7480.44 one-off ebook available balance, which will NOT require a university account transfer.

Likewise, if we need even more money for YBP print books for future orders, we can take some of the $6,957.82 one-off book available money which will NOT require a university account transfer.

CAN EXTEND BOOK ORDERING DEADLINE FROM JULY 25 TO AUG 8, 2016 IF NEEDED:

Trina and I also looked at year-end university deadlines and the amount of money in the free balance for firm orders.  In your email from June 5 about Cut Off Dates for Orders, we had told the bibliographers that July 25 would be the deadline for submitting orders.  If we have not encumbered all of the money by then, Trina and I think it would be ok to extend the deadline another 2 weeks which would be August 8.   Trina said the orders she places with YBP the week of Aug. 8 should arrive the week of August 22 which should be enough time to get invoices sent to the university by their Aug 29 deadline.  (Michael and I just talked about this and decided it is best to wait until July 25 and see at that point if the deadline needs to be extended. This would mostly affect Susan Strickland and the money she has left for placing orders and also the $5000 in the F-LIB-ACQ fund that Michael has been holding for STL that may not be needed for short-term loans.)

Teri

From: Walker, Trina
Sent: Thursday, July 14, 2016 12:01 PM
To: Hanson, Michael <hansonm@shsu.edu>; Oparanozie, Teri <LIB_TLO@SHSU.EDU>
Subject: Firm Orders

Michael and Teri,

I will not have enough on the YBP Print Blanket PO (P0048485) to cover invoices for this week and future invoices.  The current balance on this blanket PO is $2900.34.  Total of invoices to be paid this week and next week is $9956.71 (a shortage of $7056.37).  There is $10,957.82 in the print one-offs. It looks as though right now I will need about $4000 of this money to cover invoices for one-offs that are already on order, which will leave a balance of $6957.82 for future one off purchases.

On the YBP E-Book Blanket PO (P0048484), there is a balance of $20,154.48.  The total of outstanding e-book order that will come from this PO is $1568.72, leaving a balance of $18,585.76.

There is a remaining balance of $11,606.44 for one-off ebook purchases for secondary vendors.  The total of outstanding e-book orders that will come from this money is $4126.00, leaving a balance of $7480.44.

I’m thinking we may have to either disencumber money from the YBP E-book PO or move money from the 720 to 770 to cover print invoices.

I tried to be as accurate as possible so we will know what we need to do.  Let me know your thoughts.

TKW

NURSING SCHOOL MAY TRANSFER $8000 TO LIBRARY FO BUDGET FOR 3 E-BOOKS

Zach talked to me this morning about 3 e-book textbooks that the School of Nursing wants to have the library order which would be a 3-year license for $8000.  Zach is still in the process of talking with Ann Holder and others about this. Nursing would transfer the money to our library accounts.  I told Zach the Nursing can put the money into 151800/470002/720/40 account (preferrably) or 140100/470002/720/40 (we have been using this account for database purchases but we can use it for firm order if necessary). Zach also needs to clarify whether the $8000 would be invoiced this year to cover all 3 years. At the end of the 3 years we will have to check with Nursing to see if they want to pay more to extend the license.

The library would have to host the e-books but Zach checked and it is possible for us to do the hosting.

$80,000 for Houston Chronicle Historical Archive (one-time purchase and ongoing hosting fee)

Purchasing 1901-1985 but some years are still being digitized. 1901-1963 currently available. Using $80,000 from library fund balance which will be added to 151800/470002/720 account. The remaining $1,660 is from current acquisitions firm order account 151800/470002/720. In Sirsi I moved $1660 from F-SOC to F-HIS-OT budget and added $80,000 for fund balance money to F-HIS-OT budget. (With Michael's permission, Teri moved $1660 from F-SOC to F-HIS-OT because Susan Strickland said she will not need all of the $8106.98 free balance in the F-SOC fund.)

Annual hosting fee of about $2378/yr starting in FY2017.

The money was actually added to the account on 7/6/2016.

$69,000 added to databases 151800/470008/720/40 account on 7/6/2016 from Library student fee money.

• We will use most of this to pay ahead for database subscriptions for next year; that is, pay 2017 subscriptions in FY2016 to help alleviate some expected budget shortage for FY2017.
  • Databases: $61,070.86
  • STL $2152.29
  • PDA Purchased $671.28
  • Kanopy Streaming Media fees $600.00
  • Gale E-Standing Orders $1441.46
  • Total $65,935.89
  • Not spent $3064.11 (will roll back into library fund balance)

Trina,

Based on the following analysis, please update your FO BKB spreadsheet showing that you are moving $5,000 from ONE OFF EBKS EVIDEOS to PROQUEST-PDA. You can use a note like “Adjustment for PDA (6/10/16)”, similar to what you did for the 5/8/16 adjustment.  We do not need to move any money in the university accounts since the money is already in the correct pools. We don’t need to change the Sirsi funds either because the PDA and one-off e-books/evideos are both allocated in the F-xxx funds rather than being allocated to PDA or EBKS/Evideo funds  You will have to increase the Proquest PDA blanket purchase order in BKB by the $5,000.

On Feb 1 we added $5,000 to the PDA budget and have obviously used that up.  I looked at our spending based on your Excel spreadsheet for PDA versus One-Off Ebks/Evideos for Feb 1 to June 10, 2016. We only spent $663.86 more for PDA than for One-off EBKS/Evideos but the spending for the PDA has been spread out a little more evenly.

PDA: Feb $1,733.21; Mar $1,124.09, Apr $3,477.32, May $719.68, June 1-10 $445.91 for total of $7,500.21.  If we maybe spend another $1000 in June, $2000 in July, and $2000 in Aug = $5,000

One-off Ebks/Evideos: Feb $5.544.54, Mar $831.82, Apr $263.99, May $196, June 1-10 $0 for total of $6,836.35

We have a remaining balance in One-off Ebks/evideos of $19,512.97 so moving $5,000 of that to PDA will leave $14,512.97.  Obviously, we won’t need all of that for One-Offs but it serves as a placeholder for the money.

The other place we spend money on Ebooks is YBP-EBKS. It has a remaining balance of $20,770.85.  The spending there has been:

Feb $1,399.97, Mar $5,814.17, Apr $4,630.93, May $690.00 and June 1-10 $0 for a total of $12,535.07.

I also looked at what we spent overall on PDA in FY2015 ($10,732.63) versus what we have spent so far in FY2016 ($14,624.50). So we have already spent more this year than last year.

Teri

From: Walker, Trina
Sent: Friday, June 10, 2016 10:05 AM
To: Oparanozie, Teri <LIB_TLO@SHSU.EDU>; Hanson, Michael <hansonm@shsu.edu>
Subject: Proquest-PDA Blanket Purchase Order

Michael and Teri,

I will need funds added to the Proquest PDA Blanket PO (P0048685).  The balance as of today is $375.50.

Trina Walker

Journal MoneyTransfers and Budget Update

We didn't have enough in the EJ 151800-470004 pool 720 to pay BioOne $17,407.80 invoice.

• First I balanced the FY16 Sub Payment Record spreadsheets with Banner and Sirsi. For print journals Sirsi shows $606.72 more expended than Banner and Sirsi has $649.94 less expended for EJ than Banner.  Probably something(s) were paid in Sirsi as print rather than EJ or credits may have been applied incorrectly or wrong funds were used. This will be examined in more detail later.
• I ran PO detail reports in Sirsi to see what journals are still on order
  • EJ orders include $8930 for Info-Sci Journals, about $1000 for Vogue, and 3 titles that had some problems. Need to add JAMA +2 package when I get response for quote
  • Print journals--about $4,000 of orders still in Sirsi--I need to look at these more closely
• I requested a transfer of $27,408 (J0065732) from print 770 pool to 720 pool. This will cover $17,407.80 for BioOne, $8930 for Info-Sci Journals and about $1000 for Vogue.
  • I forgot there is still $12,675.02 encumbered on the EBSCO EJ blanket PO P0048493.  I need to have most of this disenbumbered but will wait until after the $27,408 transfer goes through.  Some of the $12,675.02 can be used for JAMA.
  • There was also $1,019.70 already in the available balance in the EJ pool
  • After the transfer I will also have Trina disencumber all except $4,000 of the $16584.30 on the EBSCO print blanket PO (P0048494).  There will be $8355.34 left in the Available Balance after the transfer plus $12,584.30 ($16,584.30-$4000.00=$12,584.30) = $16,584.30 Available Balance. A little of this may be used for the SIAM journal package.)
• After all of the above is done, we will still probably have about $25,000 or so left in Available Balances in journal pools that won't be needed for journals.
• I also looked at the need for Databases and E-book subscriptions. We should have enough money in the 151800-470008 720 pool to cover those. That includes about $17,000 inflation on the approximately $380,000 database orders still encumbered.  We also will be paying part of Compustat again - Kat is getting the invoice for that. College of Business Administration will be transfering money to us again for their part and for WRDS.

Print Books -YBP Blanket PO adjustment

On May 20, 2016, Trina reported:  I will need funds added to the YBP Blanket PO (P0048485).  The balance as of today is $3515.99.  The total of invoices for next week’s shipment is $13,698.75. 

May 23, 2016: YBP blanket PO P0048485 is for print books from YBP.  With the invoices Trina mentioned we need $10,182.76 to cover them.  Trina and I talked about how much more we might need for YBP print for the rest of the fiscal year.  In Workflows we looked at vendor YBP-EDI for print and could see that we have an additional $15,688 encumbered for orders that haven’t been received yet. The $13,698.75 invoice has already been invoiced in Sirsi so the $15,688 is in addition to that. Trina and I agreed that for now we would increase the YBP blanket PO by $40,000 which will leave about $14,000 for new orders for YBP-Print. It can always be changed again later if we need more. 

We have $58,472.22 in One-Offs for print books.  This is the best place to move money from to add to YBP-Print.  It does not involve actually transferring any money in the university accounts or reallocating any funds in Sirsi. It just involves making changes on Trina’s Excel spreadsheet for how we have the print book money allocated.  Trina will subtract $40,000 from the One-Offs worksheet leaving about $18,000 there and add $40,000 to the YBP-Print worksheet and do a PO change in BKB to add the money to P0048485.

The One-Off spreadsheet serves as a placeholder for money that we haven’t allocated to a blanket PO, in addition to being the money used for actual one-off vendors.

We may need to transfer some One-Off print money  to EMS for Bruce’s music scores when the EMS blanket PO gets low. We don’t anticipate having many actual one-off vendor orders for the rest of the year.

This covers information Michael presented at the Tech Services Management Team meeting.

The $300,000 or so salary money from unfilled positions will not be given to the library because we have fund balances from student fees (about $376,000 of which $124,855 has been already allocated for use this year FY2016) and from the copy room money.  Ann Holder wants to spend down the fund balances so in the future the library will be able to get more funds from VP.  In general the money should be used for one-time purchases because this funding is not ongoing.  However, there are a few exceptions. Priorities are:

• JAMA journal subscriptions: change JAMA and JAMA Psychiatry to online and add JAMA Pediatrics for a 3 bundle package. Teri has asked EBSCO for an estimate which is expected to be about $3,000-$6,000.
• SIAM journal subscriptions - Teri will check on pricing for a print+online package including the 7 titles we currently subscribe to (no perpetual access to current online so keeping print + online for now--looking at changing 2 of the 7 titles from e-only to print+online as part of this)
• Pay ahead this year for database subscriptions starting in FY2017 (get together a list of titles for which we could request invoices to pay.)
• Zach is looking at e-book collections--if publishers pulled some of their titles out of collections we had, how much to purchase those titles
• Other one-time purchases from the Wish List that Kat has compiled. Erin Cassidy already prioritized hers. Michelle's are not prioritized.  Lisa Shen would like to have reference go through the list again. Need to be cognizant of the size of the ongoing hosting fees

Student fees are the only monies we can carry from FY2016 to FY2017 according to Ann Holder. We need to spend out our accounts this year for the most part.

Database and E-Book Subscription University Accounts

Ann Holder also directed that we spend the remaining money in HEAF 120400-470000 ($23,261.32) and Designated Tuition 140100-470002 $50,000 as soon as possible.

• Designated Tuition 140100-470002 $50,000:
  • About $20,000 of this will be used for Compustat that is shared with COBA. Kat requested an invoice but I don't know the exact amount yet
  • Of the remaining $30,000 we have spent $20,651.58 on Films on Demand leaving $4,907.42
  • I had to add an RAS 120400-470000 worksheet to the FY16 Sub Payment Records file for this
  • I also created an EBSUB 151800 worksheet.  We had been using the 120400-470000 account for EBSUB but now will be using some of the 151800-470008 account for EBSUB
• HEAF 120400-470000 ($23,261.32)
  • We have spent $23,261.32 for AMIGOS Proquest Congressional and Statistical databases leaving $16.51 in the account.
  • I had to add an RAS 120400-470000 worksheet to the FY16 Sub Payment Records file for this

Michael, Trina, and Teri met in Teri's office.

$57,255 in Sirsi F-LIB-ACQ fund which came from $54,855 extra Student Fee money in March 2016 plus $2400 that was already in ACQ will be reallocated as follows:

• $10,000.00 → F-LIB-EB-STL

  $2,000.00 →   F-AGR

  $5,100.00 →    F-ART

  $4,000.00 →   F-BIO

  $2,000.00 →   F-CHM (Chemistry)

  $5,000.00 → F-COM (Computer Science)

  $2,250.00 → F-DRA

  $6,000.00 → F-ENG

  $2,000.00 → F-FOR

  $2,500.00 → F-MCM

  $1,000.00 → F-PHL

  $1,000.00 → F-REL

  $8,500.00 → F-TEC

• Total: $51,350 (Plus remainder in F-LIB-ACQ $5,905 = $57,255)

• $5,905 will be left in F-LIB-ACQ for future needs ($5905 is $3505 of $54,855 and $2400 previously in ACQ).
• F-LIB-EB-STL -- anticipated Short-Term Loans needed for May to August 2016 based on a report Zach Valdes ran which showe we spent $20,000 during May to August 2016.  We have $12,852.83 currently in the STL fund so $10,000 more will be added.
• $41,350 (=$57,255 - $10,000 STL - $5,905 ACQ) will be allocated among the F subject funds for librarians who are out of money, etc.

Trina's spreadsheets and BearKat Buy blanket purchase orders

• Increase the STL budget on the spreadsheet by $10,000 and increase the blanket PO by $10,000
• Decrease the One-Off E-books/E-videos budget by $10,000 since it looks like we won't be using all of the remaining $29,708.97 balance for e-books so $10,000 of that can be used towards STL. 
• Trina won't have to make any change on her spreadsheet for the $47,255 (=$41,350 subject funds + $5,905 in ACQ).  The money is already in the One Offs worksheet as part of the $51,855 that was added there in March 2016.  If we need to move money in the 151800-470002 pools from 770 print to 720 online, we can do that later.  There is enough in the 720 pool for now.

Michael is emailing the affected bibliographers to let them know how much is being added to their funds, what the balance was previous to the additional money (some had negative balances) and the total new balance after including orders that Lucy currently has on hand that she will be placing against those funds.

Michael and Teri to talk about allocations to accounts for FY2017 budget from Jackie Conrad

Notes for FY2017:

• Separate STL from the rest of the firm order funds (different fund name?) and create separate Account Code for Banner
• Create account code for Banner for streaming media (firm order and subscription)
• We did not discuss the 2 items listed above

See revised notes from March 15, 2016 budget meeting

Looked at budget projections for FY2017. Talked to Ann Holder about projected shortfall of $187,393. Divided the shortfall among print books, e-journals, and databases.  Michael is updating the file Jackie sent and will add notes about our decisions.

Michael and Teri met on March 15, 2016 because Ann Holder was having a meeting with the VP Academic Affairs to provide a budget projection for FY2017. We had to do some fast calculations because we only had about 2 hours to prepare the information for Ann.

Teri created a folder on the Tech Services drive in the Materials Budget & Reports/FY2016 folder called "Budget Projection FY17". She ran Sirsi fund nesting reports and purchase order reports to use for the projection.  A summary of the figures Michael and Teri came up with is in the file "Budget Projection FY2017 estimate summary_withPercentages" and summarized below.

Ann wanted to leave the $350,000 firm order subjects budget without an increase and use a 5% increase for subscriptions.

The beginning budget for FY2016 without carried FY2015 money was: $2,928,985

The budget projection we came up with was:

Firm order subjects budget: $350,000

Short-term loans: $80,000

Total firm order: $430,000

Subscriptions (including Standing Orders) with 5% increase: $2,655,434.25

Total Firm Order and Subscription: $3,085,434.25

We then calculated what percentage of the budget is being spent on print versus electronic and got:

82% electronic and 18% print

Looking at the above figures on 3/17/2016, I noticed that we included $12,400 for Replacements in subscriptions rather than firm orders. 

Firm orders should be:

Firm order subjects budget: $350,000

Short-term loans: $80,000

Replacements: $12,400

Firm Order Total: $442,400

Subscriptions (including Standing Orders): $2,642,414.25

Total Materials Budget: $3,084,814.25

For the calculation of the print versus electronic percentages, we forgot to include Standing Orders which are about $150,000 print and $50,000 electronic.  This would make the percentages for the entire material budget: Electronic 78% and Print (non-elect) 22%

The FY2017 budget amounts we came up with from the Sirsi fund nesting reports mistakenly did not include Standing Orders.

• $57,000 E-book subscriptions (not including about $18,837 for Safari Tech Books Online Current Package for FY17)
• $1,200,000 Electronic journals
• $1,000,000 Databases (not including amounts paid by other departments)
• $210,000 Print Serials (includes microforms)
• $430,000 Firm orders (Subject funds $350,000 and STL $80,000)
• $12,400 Replacements Firm Orders
• Total: $2,909,400
• $210,000 Standing Orders (includes 5% inflation over FY16 $200,000 budget)
• New Total: $3,119,400
• Plus appr $20,000 for Safari
• New Total: $3,139,400 (revised 3/27/16 TLO)

$3,139,400 - $3,085,434 = $53,966

BearKatBuy

• See "Other Notes" on BearKatBuy libguides page for info about invoices with discounts for payment by a certain date

Streaming media (e-videos) for which a $150 annual fee is paid to Kanopy (for e-videos already on Kanopy) to access/host the e-video (rather than purchasing the video from another vendor and paying only a $39 hosting fee to Kanopy)

• Linda Meyer recently ordered an e-video of this type
• Zach just received 3 requests from Mass Communication faculty for same type of e-video
• If we stop paying the $150 we no longer have access to these e-videos
• Zach and Teri talked about how to handle these in CORAL and Sirsi
  • Usually the Electronic Resources Librarian has been setting these up in CORAL but since Zach has the information and it doesn't require a new license, he can add the resource record in CORAL and then ask the ER Librarian to mark the routing complete. We are not sure how often this will happen so don't think it is worth setting up an entirely new routing at this point in time. (We have 2 routings in CORAL for e-book without license and e-book licensing required for different routings.  Kat will set-up similar for e-videos.)
  • In CORAL the resource is set up as Streaming Video, Electronic, Subscription. Zach will indicate which OCLC record to use.
  • In SIRSI we have been coding these as databases (RAS) because we do not have subscription funds for streaming media.
  • IPEDS statistics do have an expenditure category for Digital Media Subscriptions but for FY2014 we included these cost in RAS database costs.  Should we create new subscription funds in Sirsi for digital media? Have a separate meeting including Michael to discuss all subscription fund names. Include discussion of how to handle hosting fees.
• LIB_ACQ group distribution list for firm orders and standing orders invoices (Cherwell request can be made to request changes to people in the group.)
• LIB_ERL group distribution list for subscription invoices

New/deleted firm order funds in SIRSI

• In order to track expenditures for physical media in SIRSI, funds have been created for:
  • F-MUS-CD (for music cds). The Sirsi order number will have CD added to the end; e.g., FO-16001CD
  • F-MUS-DVD (for music dvds.) The Sirsi order number will have DVD added to the end; e.g. FO16002DVD
  • If CDs or DVDs are purchased for other funds, those funds can be set up as needed
  • No budget will be allocated for the CD or DVD funds, just as we do not allocate budgets for e-books or PDA purchased books
• Trina would like to set up P-card purchases similar to the above --use PC at the end of the fund and PO names
• Fund level 4 codes can also be set up for CD and DVD, and fund level 5 for Pcards so that orders can be pulled together-Teri needs to do this. In Fund Level 4 Teri added CD and DVD and deleted DS for Database searches which has not been used in several years. Teri also added to Fund Level 5 P-CARD for P-card purchases. 10/16/15
• F-ENG-FIC has been deleted because Michelle Martinez and Michael say we do not need to track these
• Need to inform the bibliographers about these changes (Bruce Hall knows about it.)

Library Materials Budget shortage--Michael will/has talked with Ann Holder about this:

• $20,000 for STL (short-term loans) (Teri reduced the Library Materials budget for STL by this $20,000 for now.)
• $50,556.45 for Databases/E-Book Subscriptions

FY2015 University inventory: $1335 difference between Acquisitions calculations and (Heather) Property Dept's 738900 account code report

• Trina found out that this was due to orders Jackie Conrad placed for materials that were added to the library collection but for which orders were not placed in SIRSI
• Trina updating FY2015 Statistics--Library Collection Expenditures which is used for the inventory.  Also, Cognos Transaction History report with 738900 account code can be selected to get the report that Property uses.  Trina can check this report periodically throughout the year for non-Acquisition purchases.

Springer's update about DDA project being offered for 1 year only due to Springer/Nature merger

Budget adjustments

• Teri needs to transfer money from Firm Orders print FOAP to E-journal and Database FOAPS and add allocations for subscriptions and standing orders to Sirsi funds

Library of Congress electronic fund transfer fee of $25 for Cataloger's Desktop and Classification Web--how to handle in Sirsi. Teri called Library of Congress and found out that this fee is for international transfers only; no fee for domestic fund transfers.

Naming convention for invoice files

• Abbreviate folder names
  • FO
  • SO
  • SUB
  • BKB PMTS (BearKatBuy Payments)
  • Inv for Invoice(s)
• Filenames in Subscriptions BKB PMTS folder
  • Vendor names (abbreviated if multiple words)
  • BKB Product Description (without LIB; that is, DB, EBSUB, EJ, or JR)
  • Invoice number
  • Date Received (YYYYMonDD) ex: 2015Oct03

BearKatBuy Update

• Went live with BearKatBuy on Monday, September 21, 2015
• Blanket purchase orders created for major vendors
  • Vendor selections and budgeted amounts for firm orders based on SIRSI FY2015 vendor report and 46% reduction in budget
  • Vendor selections and budgeted amounts for subscriptions based on number and amount of FY2015 PLs paid which is reflected in the FY16 Sub Payment Record file
• Review the updated procedures on BearKat Buy LibGuide page (changed NGL BearKat Buy Testing to BearKatBuy - Live)

Kanopy

• Streaming media request for closed caption service
  • Kanopy received a request from faculty member, Faith Demiroz, to have closed captions added to the "All About Ann: Governor Richards of the Lone Star State" streaming video that is hosted on Kanopy
  • Kanopy rep contacted Zach and informed him that captions can be made for $1 per minute of video ($83 for "All About Ann"). Zach verified that this is a one-time cost.
  • Captioned is different from subtitles. Captioned has contextual cues. Subtitles do not meet ADA standards Closed caption can be turned off or on. Captioned is always on and  .... Blue Ray is "SDH' (Subtitles for the Deaf and Har-of-Hearing.subtitles.
  • This is the first time we have had a request of this sort so need to discuss how to handle it. Zach tried to contact Ann Holder and Linda Meyer to let them know about this new development and seek their input. Questions:
    • Who should authorize this type of purchase...bibliographer, Head of Tech Services? (can be bibliographer or Zach)
    • Need to record the authorization in CORAL (yes, in location where the video is listed)
    • How to enter the order into Sirsi--use bib record of streaming media to which closed caption is being added, enter comment in orderline or "parts in set" of the orderline saying "closed caption", use streaming media fund that was used for the streaming media order
    • Any need to track in 899 of the bib record? Not in 899 but in field designated for captioning and indicate it is provided by NGL
• Authorizing and recording decisions to renew streaming media licenses such as the annual Kanopy hosting fees
  • Kanopy has begun sending emails about licenses that are expiring in 90 days or less
  • Zach has taken on the task of checking with the bibliographers to see if these licenses should be renewed and sending a response to the Kanopy rep. (Zach can get usage stats to show to the bibliographer)
  • Does this authorization need to be recorded in CORAL?  We do not have a policy for recording authorizations for subscription renewals in CORAL but should we be doing that as well?-not necessary for now since everything is authorized by Ann Holder for databases.
• Licenses with other streaming media vendors need to be looked at as well.

Teri showed Michael, Trina, and Zach the information she added to LibGuides about the testing of BearKatBuy.

We looked at the BearKatBuy Test system, the Banner test system called BANWEEK, and the BearKatBuy production system..

In Banner we looked at FGIBDST, FGIBAVL, FGIENCD, and FOIDOCH

We looked at the proposed BearKatBuy Product Description and Catalog Number codes

Teri

• Rollover problems explained
• Budget for FY2016 for firm orders: $350,000 to divide among subject funds; $50,000 for STL plus $20,000 carried for STL
• Zach suggested we might look more into PDA Evidence or usage based (EDA or UDA) options
• Ann Holder has approved starting a PDA EDA with Springer (pilot-we will be the first library to test it) - use funds allocated for EBL PDA per Ann H
  • Commit for one year
  • We can choose what titles we want to include and price limits (can have bibliographers select - self-mediated PDA if needed)
  • Trigger system not same as EBL
  • Rep coming next week to talk more about it
• BearKatBuy
  • Testing firm orders -- $400,000 (all of this is in the 151800/470002 FOAP--$100,000 is in the 720 pool and $471,535 in the 770 pool.  However, in the real budget $221,535 of this will be moved to subscriptions leaving $250,000)
    • P001 (abbreviated PO numbers) YBP print $200,000
    • P002 YBP electronic books $40,000
    • P003 Proquest STL $50,000  $29,113.55 (instead of $50,000 this will be $29,113.55 which is $50,000 minus $20,886.45 carried from FY15)--don't add this one yet (we will be using money carried forward from FY15 to begin the year and this will be paid in Banner only--$20,886.45 PL435699).
    • P004 Proquest PDA purchased $10,000
    • P005 Springer PDA $5000 (this amount is just a guess. If we decide on less than this we can add the remainder to the "Other vendors [one-offs] ebooks" budget)
    • P006 Alibris print $25,000
    • Other vendors (one-offs) print $60,000
    • Other vendors (one-offs) ebooks $10,000
    • Trina will setup these blanket POs in test system
    • Trina will test paying invoices on some blanket POs and some one-off POs and create some procedures for paying
    • Teri will prepare list of blanket POs for other areas (subscriptions, SO, journals)
      • Kat will test some of these with Trina's help
    • When will have a decision about using BearKatBuy versus Banner for FY2016- do we really have any choice
    • Will Michael be approving up to a certain amount and Ann above that?
    • Teri will add list of new codes on LibGuides in Banner/BearKatBuy page in Library Materials Budget
    • Teri spoke with Renee' and here is a copy of some of the info from email sent to those at the library who are involved with BearKatBuy:

      • Renee’ has completed a form for library Acquisitions Dept to use that does not get routed through the Procurement Dept.  It is in the BearKatBuy Test system and is called “Library Order Form Newton Gresham Library”.  This form is for the “one-off”smaller vendors for which we will not be doing a blanket purchase order. When the form is used in the production system, Renee’ will need a list of library personnel who will be allowed to use it, other university staff will either not see it or be locked out of it.  I think Renee’ said she will try to get this new form added to BKB production server by Tuesday next week, Sept 15.  Trina and Kat will try to test it before then. (Teri will be on vacation tomorrow and Monday, Sep 9 and 14.)

        The top 20-30 library vendors have been added to the BKB production system.  If we need to add others we can do so when creating the purchase order using the instructions that were provided – if it is a vendor we used in Banner we should list the Banner vendor ID and the supplier name. New vendors also need to have W-9s attached.

        Renee’ is trying to meet with Lisa Lucas today about the new library account codes (727601 through 727607) so that the purchase orders do not get routed to IT.  727600 will be routed to IT.

         (Jackie, there was some note from Lisa about 728400 being Personal Property – Animals Expensed that you had been using for Data Processing Services [bibliographic utilities].  Have you figured out what to do about that?)

        I talked with Trina, Kat, and Zach this morning about the following list of blanket POs to set up for testing the firm order funds.  The test system should now be pulling against the FY2016 budget so hopefully these amounts will work: (see above)

      • I asked Renee’ what it would look like in Banner if we had a blanket PO with 2 lines using 2 different account codes; for example, 738900 for $100,000 for print books which is part of the 770 pool and 727601 for $50,000 for ebooks which is part of the 720 pool.  She said if you look at FGIBDST you will see the amounts showing up in the commitment column for the appropriate pool.  If you drill down, the same PO number will appear in each list of commitments.  It will also show up in FGIENCD as 2 lines (sequence 1  and scroll down to see sequence 2.)  However, I think for our purposes it is better to have separate POs with separate FOAPs. 

• Need to clarify how much is in replacement budget (dvd project will increase amount needed)
• Firm order subject fund budgets cut 46% overall - Michael has a file on the Tech Services drive and will present it to library faculty at 1pm today
• Who is taking over Kinesiology (Thom or Cole?--Thom is) and Thomason? (Michael, Ann, Trent?--Trent with help of Ann); Lynn still helping with Nursing-yes and if she turns in orders for her other subject areas or reference she is still authorized to do that
   

Teri--Fiscal Year-End Update:

• Accounts Payable has invoiced all but $775.65 of Acquisition's FY2015 invoices.  They should be paid today per AP
• Balancing Sirsi and Banner
  • Databases and e-book subscriptions--all balanced
  • Standing orders--all balanced
  • Journals: print are $7.91 more in Sirsi than in Banner and e-journals are $7.91 less in Sirsi than in Banner.  There is probably some payment in Sirsi on the wrong fund but not worth taking more time to try to find it
  • Books: Trina is checking to see if Controller's Office can correct a $1200.39 payment that was paid on the 738900 print account code which should have been paid on 727600 electronic because it will affect the inventory report
    • After this is determined Trina can prepare the final Library Materials Budget and finish final reports--Wilbert Hightower has been able to make the FOAP correction
• Preparing for FY2016
  • Have firm order vendors been contacted about keeping FY16 invoices from FY15? Only need to contact YBP--Trina will do this
    • EBL -- PDA purchased and STL--no orders to carry forward in Sirsi from FY15 to FY16--don't need to contact vendor about keeping invoices separate
      • We are carrying forward about $20,000 from FY15 money to FY16 for STL which needs to be used first in FY16
  • Sirsi--rolling funds, vendors, orders--we set a meeting time for Friday, Sep 4 at 10:30am with Trina and Zach and Teri (location TBD).  Need to get some procedures for this added to LibGuide.
  • BearKatBuy--I contacted Scott Pope at Texas State University because Ann Holder told me they use the SciQuest product.
    • Scott said their Acquisitions Dept does not use SciQuest--the Library's M&O operations uses it , integrating with the SAP accounting system.  He told me to contact Aaron Sinkar, Asst Dir, Admin Svcs, University Library, 512-245-8840 (sinkar@txstate.edu) --Teri will contact him
    • I emailed Renee' Starns and Norma O'Bannon to see where they are with:
      • rerunning library vendor list
      • creating library Non-Catalog Form (which doesn't go through Purchasing/Procurements)
      • setting 7276** account codes so they don't get routed to IT
    • Teri plans to focus mainly on BearKatBuy next week
      • develop list of vendors and budget amounts for blanket purchase orders
      • see what orderlines need to be on those blanket POs
      • work with Jermie to have him enter some test blanket POs for subscriptions
      • Trina work with Dawn to enter test blanket POs for firm orders and standing orders
  • Preparing firm order subject allocations
    • Info from Ann Holder that Michael shared: I wanted to pass on one item that Ann said about the materials budget in my meeting with her yesterday evening (Aug 27). She is going to use some monies from unused salaries and some from the Fund Holding account to cover materials cost so that our working firm order budget will be $400,000. So that will be our base line for creating the subject fund budgets.
    • Michael has received some input from Kat, Teri, and Zach to help him with allocating the firm order budgets -- status? Still target date of week of Sept 8
      • Even with $400,000, have to cut about 40% of firm order budgets
      • Long term - Need to look at database and journals to determine where cuts need to be done for those and develop procedures for obtaining usage stats to be able to make more informed decisions.  Need to start getting this info before new librarian is hired
        • Pay-per-use journal model--NGL past experience with Sage-we could not eliminate the message that the patron had to pay even though the library was actually paying
        • Michael's experience with Elsevier and Wiley - worked well but that institution did not have graduate students which can run up the expenditures (UT Austin experience).  Keep usage stats if done
      • Trying to get usage stats for print book circulation to add to the calculations (Molly has helped configure a report and Linda Meyer helping as well).
      • Also pulling together e-book stats
      • Michael has a meeting with Ann H tomorrow
      • Ann wants some tweeking of library materials budget Teri prepared before November (Teri and Michael to meet)
      • Zach suggested getting usage stats to show need for materials
      • University Library Committee--status of this committee
      • Student advisory committee -- to get input from students (experience Michael has had with it has been good)

Trina

• 2 rush orders (Susan book and Zach dvd), overnight shipping is $50 but will do 2 day for about $15
• We have order cards from FY15 that weren't to start off FY16 ordering

FY2015 remaining orders and invoices:

• All invoices need to be submitted to Accounts Payable by 5pm tomorrow, Aug 28, 2015. 
• Databases and E-book subscriptions - we have received all the invoices we expect to receive for this fiscal year and they have all been sent to Accounts Payable
• Journals: still working on a few invoices but expect to have everything needed by tomorrow
• Standing Orders: Dawn has processed all the standing order invoices she has and is double-checking with Gale about any that may be outstanding but the statement she received did not show anything, so unless the Gale rep finds something unknown, or something comes in the mail today or tomorrow, standing orders are done
• Firm Orders: There was about $7000 still encumbered for firm orders as of Wednesday, Aug 26.  Trina and Dawn expect to be able to get invoices for about half of those orders.  They will cancel in Sirsi (but leave them on order with the vendors) any remaining orders and replace those orders in Sirsi as FY2016 orders. With having to use BearKatBuy for FY2016, we felt it would be a cleaner break to not have to carry forward any money except for PDA Short-term loans.
  • P-card order to be placed Sept 1 for rush order for Erin
  • Zach still trying to get $1600 invoice for Lisa's RKMA e-book business.--We have received the invoice.  Ann approved using some of Jackie's funds for this.  Teri will talk to Jackie about it.--Jackie said she has no problem with Acquisitions using our own money and she does NOT have any other money to give us for FY2015.

FY2016 Budget Projection on Tech Services drive:

• Michael talked with Linda M about circulation by call number report.  Need to see how much longitudinal data is available
• E-book preference policy factors: publishing factors; use by patrons
• PDA options
  • Springer info Zach has emailed to us; overlap with current PDA
  • tighter criteria to restrict PDA titles that are available
  • Look at database and journal usage
• Subject selectors expecting reduction in print but not to this extent
• Teri will run some Sirsi subject fund reports for past 5 fiscal years
• After we pull more of this info together we will need to present to Ann Holder for her input
• Pay-per-view journal article options

BearKatBuy

• Vendors
  • AP will run a report and add library vendors (how many will they actually add and how many do we need to tell them to add)
    • Net payment terms - library supposed to provide? Teri check on this
  • For Blanket POs - create projections for budgets (past history from Cognos reports and Sirsi and look at budget cuts)
  • Staff training -- Teri and Trina schedule some time with Jermie and Dawn to do some simple blanket POs and receipts in BearKatBuy so they can start getting used to the system.  Trina has worked with Dawn to set up her profile since Dawn was absent on that day of the training.

Action Items:

• For FY2015 budget:
  • Teri and Trina do final balancing of all accounts and see what money is left in which accounts.
  • Teri request budget transfer of all remaining amounts into the 151800/470002/720 account and encumber on Banner to carry forward for short-term loans

For FY2016 budget:

• Michael work on circulation of print books by subject
• Zach see how quickly usage stats can be pulled together for e-books/streaming videos by subject and by vendor
• Michael and Kat talk about usage stats for databases
• Michael and Teri talk about usage stats for e-journals
• Teri run reports from Sirsi on fund activity historically- 5 years

Teri

• Jackie, Library Business Office, will not have any money left in her accounts at the end of FY2015 to give to Acquisitions
• Jackie will transfer $19,000 (actually $19,722.97 with $19,570 needed) for the Compustat database upgrade from her 151800/470007 account to acquisition's database account 151800/470008/720 as soon as she gets word that the licensing is finalized
  • College of Business Administration will be transferring $16,666 for Compustat and $38,160 for WRDS platform for a total of $54,826 to NGL book account 140100/470002/720/40 for us to use to pay these database costs. Dawn and Trina will need to note that this amount is not for books when they are balancing and Jermie will need to note that it is for databases but is being paid from the book account. 
• Trina emailed: 151800/470002 is $18,654.56 in 720 electronic pool and $5,143.90 in 770 print for total of $23,798.46..  Sirsi cash balance is $23,297.23.  Free balance in Sirsi for books is about $6500.  Kat is checking on math AMS e-book order of about $2151 (includes discount for being an AMS member.)
• Trina put new Library Materials Budget Report on Tech Services drive
• Retention of paper invoice files
  • Since the new BearKatBuy procurement system will allow us to attach files directly into the system, there will be less need to print and scan paper invoices.  How will this affect workflow and retention of paper invoices? Some things to consider:
    • Firm orders probably still needs invoices printed to make it easier to match received books with the invoice?--yes
    • Are there notes written on the invoices that are usually scanned with the invoice
      • Need to electronically enter the receipt date/initials that we usually stamp on the paper invoices--yes
      • Are notes written on book invoices about damaged books, missing books, date received, etc. that will need to be added to the electronic invoice?--no, notes are made on our copy of invoices, clean copy is sent to AP.  We should keep our marked copy for one fiscal year past the current fiscal year.
      • For subscriptions we often write the Sirsi PO number on the invoices -- do that electronically instead
    • What folder and file names to use to keep the electronic invoices organized
      • File name should include at least vendor and invoice number
      • Folders should be made for at least Firm Orders, Standing Orders, and
    • Some invoices come in the mail in paper form only -- continue to scan those and keep those paper invoices for just current fiscal year in case scanned copy is not clear, gets lost, etc.
      • Recycle previous 3 fiscal years of current print invoices--FY2012 through FY2014 can be recycled.  Keep FY2015 and FY2016 for now.
      • I DO want to keep the EBSCO printed invoices/renewals/vendor files that are 2009 or earlier because we do not have electronic files for these year (these should be in binders).  They may be useful for proving perpetual usage rights.

BearKatBuy

• Teri check with Rene Starns about object codes and pools
• Group object codes by book, serials, so?

Baker and Taylor is getting out of the academic market and all our B&T accounts will be transitioned to YBP except for physical media (Baker Audio acccount). Transition within next 6 months but we will stop ordering regular books from B&T in FY2015

Zach

• BE Press invoice
• Zach out next week--Gale e-book sales-try to get invoices (about $1000) by tomorrow/cc Kat to follow up
• Springer PDA by annual collections (initial deposit $5000?--how invoiced? No platform driven reports) Talk with Ann H. Meet with subject selectors next fiscal year. Only a couple of libraries have used it.

Book funds

• About $14,000 left in free balance to order and $15000 encumbered. In Banner about $20,000 in 720 electronic pool and $11000 in 770 print pool.  Trina and Dawn keep an eye on balances in Sirsi and in Banner in case we need to move money between the pool

Standing orders

• Trina and Dawn watch balances in pools and let Teri know if money needs to be transfered

Subscriptions

• Teri ran report of subscriptions left to pay in FY2015 with renewal dates before Sept 15, 2015 which was emailed to Kat and Jermie
  • Teri will work on journals
  • Have Jermie call for invoices for databases and e-book subscriptions

Participants: Teri, Kat, Zach, and Trina

INFORMATION TERI WANTS TO SHARE:

FY2016 budget notes from Jackie Conrad:

• Acquisitions will still have one Designated Tuition account for books (140100/470002) with a budget of $50,000. (Teri is not sure what pool this will be in but we can move it as needed.  We will want to use this money first to use it up as soon as possible.)
• All HEAF accounts will be gone and the money will be placed in the Student Fee (151800) accounts
• The library budget for FY2016 is supposed to be equal to what we were allocated in FY2015 but it will start out about $21,000 short but the Vice-President of Academic Affairs has promised Ann Holder that we will be given that money.

Replacement book fund money for FY2015:

• We have about $7600 free balance in the Replacement account (183100-470001-90).  Trina will not be placing any more Replacement orders for FY2015. At the end of FY2014 we also had more than we needed and we spent about $4000 on regular book orders.  This year Jackie suggested we not use the remaining replacement balance for regular book orders unless there is a dire need for it. 
• As the end of the fiscal year approaches, continue to check on the remaining REP orders to see if they are going to be received in FY2015.  If not, cancel them.  It is preferable not to have to encumber money in Banner to carry forward in this account.
• Unencumbered money will automatically roll into the library fund balance and Jackie can re-allocate it to the Replacement account at the beginning of the fiscal year. The FY2015 allocation was $12,400.  For FY2016 we should not need that much.  That will be good for Jackie because it will give her more money to allocate to areas (outside of Acquisitions) that may be short next year.

Probable budget transfers before the end of FY2015

• The amount of money available for e-journals is $1641.26 in the 151800-470004-720-40 account.  The amount of money that I expect will be needed for orders that have start dates before 9/15/15, not including price increases, is $7464.19 (this is the amount encumbered in Sirsi for EJ orders).  The bulk of that is for the Chronicle of Higher Education $6307. 
  • About $150 or so may be available from print journals (151800-470004-770-40).  (Calculation --Sirsi JR funds show $969.50 encumbered minus $192.50 for orders with renewal dates after 9/14/15 =$777 needed for print journal orders with renewal dates before 9/15/15. $950.83 available in 151800-470004-770-40 minus $777 needed for print journals = $173.83 may be available for e-journals. Assuming there will be some increase in cost over the $192.50 will leave less available - estimating $150 available.)
    • The $192.50 amount for orders with renewal dates after 9/14/15 came from a Sirsi List Orders, Lines report I ran called "List Orderlines Subs FY15 not pd yet renewal after Sept 14". I saved this file on the Tech Services drive in the Materials Budget & Repts folder>FY2015>FY2015>Library Materials Budget 2015 as of Jun 17. I looked at the order number to know which orders were journals versus databases or e-book subscriptions.
    • In Sirsi I am going to change the encumbered amounts to zero for the 4 remaining print journal FY2015 orders that have renewal dates after 9/14/15 and add COVERAGE notes to add the encumbered money back to those orders after we have rolled them to FY2016.  This will make it easier to see how much money is needed for the remainder of FY2015.--Done 6/30/15 TLO.
      • The Ledge S-JR-P-520970300  $32
      • Yale Law Journal S-JR-P-970673000   $55
      • South Texas Law Review S-JR-P-833972292 $44.50
      • Michigan Law Review S-JR-P-571533009   $61.00
  • Hopefully there will be money left in databases-ebook subscriptions 151800-470008-720-40 account OR firm order Short-Term Loans balance in the 151800-470002-720-40 account that can be transferred to e-journals (151800-470004-720-40) if needed OR Jackie in the Director's Office may come up with more money that can be used for any e-journal shortages.
    • In Sirsi I am changing the encumbered amounts to zero for 2 remaining database FY2015 orders that have renewal dates after 9/14/15 and adding COVERAGE notes to add the encumbered money back to those orders after we have rolled them to FY2016.  This will make it easier to see how much money is needed for the remainder of FY2015. The titles are from the same report mentioned above, "List Orderlines Subs FY15 not pd yet renewal after Sept 14".-Done 6/30/15 TLO
      • IPA Source S-RAS-10133 $400
      • eStatment Studies S-RAS-10081 $4340

Update from Jackie for end of year money:

• I talked to Jackie today, July 2, to see if she has a better idea of how much money she has left in her accounts that she may be giving to acquisitions for the end of the fiscal year. 
  • Previously she had said she was sure she would have at least $19,000 for the Compustat database upgrade. Today it sounds like she is not so sure of that. (However, Kat said we can pay in the new fiscal year if needed per the vendor.)
  • With staff changes Jackie doesn't know yet how much she will have a available.

DISCUSSED DURING THE MEETING

Teri is working today on some discrepancies in Sirsi journal funds - some e-journal orders have print funds in them.  Hope to clear these up and balance Sirsi with Banner and Jermie's excel spreadsheet today.

Trina updated the Library Materials Budget report as of July 1 (on Tech Services drive). Teri showed this report and noted that over ALL accounts there is $7,875.58 available even though there is a shortage for journals. (This does not take into account increases in prices for subscription materials which may not be recorded in Sirsi orders.)

Teri will put procedures on LibGuides about how to transfer money between Banner accounts (Jackie can help as well.) Teri and Kat are authorized to do this.

Firm order Invoices we know should be coming before the end of the fiscal year:

• Business Expert Press (Karen) working on sending invoice for e-book usage driven acquisitions program - Zach will ask her to send it by end of July 2015 at the latest.

• AMS (American Mathematics Society) - NGL is a member through our Math department -- e-book lecture series backfile (Ann Holder has the license)--Zach will get information to place order in Sirsi

  • Actually, the library pays a membership fee through serials which is needed for us to have the Mathscinet database but I think AMS treats it as as a departmental membership because AMS doesn't have library memberships per se. (This note was added after the meeting--TLO)

Trina said librarians have not been turning in many order cards even though she has asked.  If we have a faculty meeting next week, Teri/Zach remind librarians that e-books are a good way to get the material because you don't have to worry about them being out of stock. Also,  bigger e-book package orders or one-time database/e-journal backfiles are other ways to get larger amounts of money spent fairly quickly.

• Proquest e-book central - reference print available as e-book analysis--Zach will send the list for them to analyze but ask Ann Holder how she feels about duplicating titles
• Elsevier clear your shelf program - Zach check and send info to bibliographers (check with Ann Holder about her feelings about duplicating copies.)
• Zach will check with AMIGOS about Springer e-book subject collections available (Can't buy Springer e-book titles individually unless they are reference titles). Springer print books are all print-on-demand. Cataloging has to upgrade the MARC records for those.
• We generally have had firm orders encumbered in Sirsi to go along with money that is carried to the next fiscal year.  It would be possible to encumber some money for expected short-term loan usage or something like that.

PDA options from various publishers

• Springer and Gale have their own PDA programs. Zach discussed some of the details about the Springer option. He clarified with Kat that even with EBL, when enough short-term loans are triggered, we still have to pay full list price for the purchase which is the way it is for Springer as well
• If we were to have several PDA programs Zach suggested still using the ONLINE-PDA location in the records and using the 899 to distinguish one group from the other

Compustat database--Kat has sent changes in the license to the vendor to review

Participants: Teri, Zach, Trina

• Trina handed out a firm order fund nesting report dated June 17, 2015 (which was also placed in our mailboxes)
  • We discussed the $2500 encumbrance on the F-BUS-EB fund.  Zach explained that this is for the 2015 Business Expert Press usage mediated order--our library is the first one that will be using this purchase model.  An invoice should be received soon and paid in FY2015. The books have been loaded into the catalog and based on usage at the end of calendar year 2015, the business bibliographer will select 25 titles that will become a permanent part of our collection.
  • Teri explained to Zach that the G-F-REP and G-F-TEX fund free balances do not have to be encumbered in Banner to carry forward to next fiscal year but the money in the other funds does have to be encumbered in Banner to carry forward for orders that have been placed but not received in FY2015.
    • It is expected that the remaining HEAF money (120400/470002 Banner account) will be expended before the end of the fiscal year, leaving Student Fee money (151800/470002) for any orders that need to be carried forward to FY2016.  This will be good since we won't have HEAF money in FY2016.
  • Of the $61,2561.99 free balance, about $20,000 is expected to be used on STL so the amount actually available for bibliographer orders is about $40,000. 
    • This free balance will be monitored more closely as the end of the fiscal year approaches to be sure we don't place more orders than we have money for in the budget. When the free balance gets close to zero or a little below, ordering must be stopped if we have not already reached the deadline set to stop ordering.
  • Short-term loans may not be used as much this summer as last summer because the EBL system uses a unique identifier to know that the same person is using a book during the day whereas the ebrary PDA system charged each use as a new loan. We can adjust the F-LIB-EB-STL budget later in the summer if necessary.
  • Trina explained how the F-LIB-PCARD fund is adjusted as orders are placed on the p-card.  She is going to check with Jackie C. about how long it takes for the payments to show up in Banner.
    • Teri suggested it would be good for Trina to write up the p-card budgeting procedures to add to LibGuides.
  • Order cancelation procedures were briefly explained to Zach
• We reviewed the end-of-year payment guidelines and end-of-year firm order procedures that have been added to the Library Materials Budget page.  (Decisions are copied below from that page.)
  • Decided at the June 17th budget meeting, an email will be sent to bibliographers on June 17th informing them that:
    • Bibliographers should submit order cards whether their funds have a positive or negative free balance. (Note for Acquisitions-not included in the email: Acquisitions has NOT stopped ordering on funds that have negative free balances this year as has sometimes been done in the past.  However, bibliographers who have negative free balances have not been submitting many orders.  We want to encourage them to do that at this time so we can try to get all of the free balance money encumbered before the end of the fiscal year.)
    • the deadline for ALL orders to be submitted will be Friday, August 14.  This will give acquisitions time to get the orders placed during the following week and, hopefully, for items to be invoiced by Baker and Taylor by August 24th.
    • Beginning July 15^th, if you have a fund with a positive free balance, Acquisitions may use that amount for orders submitted on funds that are already overspent.
• Teri explained that there is a database subscription (Research Insight [Compustat]) for which the College of Business Administration (COBA) will be giving the library about $15,000 plus and an additional $45,000 or so for the WDRS platform.  The library will pay about $19,000.
  • Jackie is going through her May and June budgets and feels confident she will be able to give Acquisitions the money needed to cover the library portion (since it was not included in the FY2015 database budget shortage.) 
    • Jackie may also have additional money to give to Acquisitions. Some of this may be needed for e-journals.
  • Kat is still working on the licenses which probably will not be finalized until July. 
  • After the licenses are finalized, the COBA money will be transfered to the library firm order FOAP 140100/470002/720/40 because COBA does not have a 151800 fund from which the money could be transferred to the library's database 151800/470008 account.
    • This will need to be taken into account when doing firm order and database subscription financial balancing.

• Participants
  • Ann H, Teri, Kat, Zach, Jackie, Trina
• Agenda
  • Databases and E-book Subscription shortage
    • Review "Calculation of Shortages for RAS EBS as of May 26, 2015" report for any cuts, additions, etc.
    • Cabell's Directories complete package for 2015 has increased by $2535 from $2850 to
      $5385 -- do we want to renew it? Aug 1, 2015 renewal date (new price not reflected on shortage report)--renew for this year; review next year
    • Finalize amount needed and what accounts the money will come from and be put into
      • Began looking at items that we would like to review in more detail (e.g. Country Watch, CIAO, AtoZ World Culture, and Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts.) Decided we do not have time to do reviews now so will pay the estimated amount remaining for the rest of the fiscal year including inflation: $191,97.45 rounded up to $192,000.
      • Get $130,000 from Jackie's state account: 110100/470001/720/40 and $62,000 from library fund balance which will be put into 151800/470008/720/40 account.
    • At beginning of Fall Semester 2015 do review of databases.
      • Kat discussed how Univ of Houston (?) uses an Access database to review databases coming up for renewal in the following 3 months--usage stats and costs are provided to selectors. (U of H presented this at ER&L 2015)
      • We can use SIRSI report to get list of all databases and renewal dates and prices, extract data into Excel (using procedures Zach has developed) and add usage data
      • Our problem is having someone collect the usage statistics - position replacing Monographs Acquisitions Librarian position could do this. We looked at the EBSCO Usage Consolidation system and found some of the 20 platforms we are paying for but not JSTOR, Elsevier, etc. which seem to be the journal packages. Need to ask EBSCO about this.
  • Other end of year money that is expected to be available and what it should be used for (one-time electronic non-ebook purchases?)- Not expecting to purchase any of these types of resources at the end of this fiscal year per Ann
  • Shortage of money for PDA short-term loans (STL)
    • $30,000 for e-books and STL already transferred from HEAF book (120400-470002) print-770 to online-720 pool on May 22, 2015. Sirsi funds not updated yet.
    • About $23,000 will be given to acquisition firm orders from Jackie's account to offset using print FO money for STL
    • In SIRSI the equivalent to the amount Jackie gives can be added to F-LIB-EB-STL fund.
    • Use regular Firm Order Banner accounts instead of getting $23,000 from Jackie.  However, Jackie will be giving Firm Orders $38,000 from library fund budget and putting it into 151800/470002/720/40 account
    • Zach should pull separate reports for STL and PDA purchases for Ann to look at
  • Firm order amount left available for bibliographers to order as of 5/28/15 is about $45,902 (FNR of 5/28/15 shows total free balance of $59,892.04 but this includes REP free balance of $7929.97 and TEX free balance of $6059.81 which need to be subtracted resulting in $45,902.)
    • Option 1
      • Do they need all of the $45,902 for print books? Use $25,000 or more of $45,902 for PDA (purchased and STL) . Call library faculty meeting next Friday and tell bibliographers to order only 'highly recommended' and 'essential' Choice cards.
      • If absolutely need it in less than 6 weeks  or for fall semester- URGENT on order card (don't pay extra postage)
    • Option 2--decided on this option
      • Have $38,000 from library fund balance to use for firm orders so we do not need to take money from current bibliographer subject funds to use for STL
    • In June and July, check the orders submitted by selectors that were duplicates of PDA or e-book subscription e-books to see if they are still in the PDA or e-book subscriptions.  If no longer in the PDA or e-book subscriptions, order the titles. If still in the PDAor e-book subscriptions, hold to check again next year--this was not discussed during the meeting but afterwards, Teri and Kat discussed it and Kat suggested that it should be done because there usually are not very many books that actually need to be ordered from this and we should have enough money.
  • University end of year deadlines and opening of FY2016 budgets/accounts--not discussed
    • See End of Fiscal Year Procedures LibGuides page
• Projects for Amie and Dawn if option 1 is selected since we would be ordering and receiving fewer books
  option 1 was not selected but there may be time for work on these projects at some point
  • JSTOR project;
  • VHS documentaries that we currently own in the Music Listening Room ( -are titles available in our streaming video databases; if not, can we convert it to dvd but have bibliographers review titles to see if they are still needed.  Question came up about converting VHS titles to streaming videos instead of dvds but Ann said there are problems with copyright for doing that and we would have to pay Kanopy hosting fees so converting to dvds is the better option.)
  • Zach projects
  • CORAL projects
• Summary of Decisions
  • Funding estimated database and e-book subscription shortage of $192,000 from Jackie's state account ($130,000 to be spent from 110100/470001/720/40 and $62,000 to be transferred from library fund balance to 151800/470008/720/40.) Jackie gave us an extra $2968 in the 110100/470001/720 account so the total was $132,968 instead of $130,000--TLO 6/5/15
  • Start of review of databases and e-books subscriptions in Fall 2015 semester for 2016 orders
  • For firm orders, do not reduce bibliographer subject funds to use for STL.  Jackie will be transferring $38,000 from library fund balance to 151800/470002/720/40. For now I am putting the entire $38,000 in F-LIB-EB-STL in Sirsi--TLO 6/5/15
  • It will probably take at least a week for the budget transfers to take effect due to the size of the transfers
  • Need to talk to EBSCO about why we are not seeing usage stats for some of our platforms in the Usage Consolidation tool
  • Zach should pull separate reports for STL and PDA purchases for Ann to look at
  • Projects were suggested that can be worked on as staff have time
  • In June and July, Firm Order Acquisitions staff should check the orders submitted by selectors that were duplicates of PDA or e-book subscription e-books to see if they are still in the PDA or e-book subscriptions.  If no longer in the PDA or e-book subscriptions, order the titles. If still in the PDA or e-book subscriptions, hold to check again next year.
• Items not on the agenda that were discussed:
  • SIRSI rep coming (link from Sirsi to CORAL at no extra charge?) BlueCloud- all modules not there yet, patron database problems. 2 meetings - one for library and one for univ IT
  • Kat is trying to find out which language database the Dept of Foreign Languages will renew for 2016, Mango through AMIGOS at $9234 or Rosetta Stone through EBSCO for $13,300
  • Ann still trying to find out if Mitchell Muesum (Dean, COBA)  will be paying to upgrade Research Insight for $49,000 ($55,000 with 10% discount) (part of that new system requires password access which the library would not be involved in managing) and get the Wharton platform (WRDS) for $42,000-$47,000

• Post-Meeting notes from Teri :
  • Firm orders: $30,000 was already moved from 120400/470002 print pool to online pool for STL and other e-book orders.  Continue to use the 120400/470002/720 FOAP for STL, PDA, and individual e-book selections because we want to use up the money in that account first. 
    • In Sirsi, add $30,000 to STL fund (E-LIB-EB-STL) and $8,000 to F-LIB-ACQ.  In this way, the amounts in the subject funds will not change but the overall firm order budget will have been increased by the $38,000 that Jackie is giving. Teri will get with Trina to do this and so Trina can see what changes need to be made to excel sheets that she, Dawn, and Amie keep
      • There is currently a zero budget but a positive free balance of $85.65 in F-LIB-ACQ due to a refund so when we add the $8,000, the budget will be $8,000 but the total free balance will be $8,085.65.
  • Databases and E-book Subscriptions
    • Will need to use the $130,000 state money (HEAF) before all of the remaining student fee money. except for the invoices currently in hand that we need to pay--those can be paid from student fee money (151800/470008).
    • Jermie will need to add to his Sub excel spreadsheet, a tab for RAS 110100/470001 and a tab for EBP 110100/470001.  PL numbers will be the same as usual. Once the money has been transferred he can start using these FOAPS
    • In SIRSI, need to calculate the amounts by which the E-S-EB-ACQ and E-S-RAS-LIB-ACQ budgets need to be increased