Research Guides: Usage Statistics: Usage Statistics Project

Yearly Reviews: Usage Statistics

2021

NGL Resources by College/Subjects reviewed by subject librarians:

College of Arts & Media (ART, DAN, MCM, MUS, THR):
- See ART Dashboard on Tableau: CAM-ART Tableau Dashboard
- See MCM Dashboard on Tableau: CAM-MCM Tableau Dashboard
- See MUS,DAN Dashboard on Tableau: CAM-MUS,DAN Tableau Dashboard
- See THR Dashboard on Tableau: CAM-THR Tableau Dashboard

College of Business (ACC, BUS, ECO, MGT):
- See College of Business Dashboard on Tableau: COBA Tableau Dashboard

College of Criminal Justice (CRJ, CRJF):
- See College of Criminal Justice Dashboard on Tableau: CJ Tableau Dashboard

College of Education (CNE, EDU, LBS):
- See College of Education Dashboard on Tableau: COE Tableau Dashboard

College of Health Sciences (FCS, HED, KIN, NUR):
- See College of Health Sciences Dashboard on Tableau: COHS Tableau Dashboard

College of Humanities & Social Sciences (CST, ENG, FOR, HIS, PHL, POL, PSY, SOC):
- See CST,ENG Dashboard on Tableau: CHSS-CST,ENG Tableau Dashboard
- See HIS,DOC Dashboard on Tableau: CHSS-HIS,DOC Tableau Dashboard
- See PHL,POL,PSY,SOC Dashboard on Tableau: CHSS-PHL,POL,PSY,SOC Tableau Dashboard
- See FOR Dashboard on Tableau: CHSS-FOR Tableau Dashboard

College of Science & Engineering Technology:
- See AGR Dashboard on Tableau: COSET-AGR Tableau Dashboard:
- See COM Dashboard on Tableau: COSET-COM Tableau Dashboard
- See MAT Dashboard on Tableau: COSET-MAT Tableau Dashboard
- See GGR,GLG Dashboard on Tableau: COSET-GGR,GLG Tableau Dashboard
- See BIO,CHM,PHY,SCI,TEC Dashboard on Tableau: COSET-BIO,CHM,PHY,SCI,TEC Tableau Dashboard

2020

Electronic Resources reviewed by subject librarians in 2020:

Family & Consumer Science resources:
- See FCS Dashboard on Tableau: https://public.tableau.com/SHSULibrary/FAMILY&CONSUMERSCIENCE/
Singers Babel
Alexander Street Press (AVON: Academic Video Online Premium subscription)
- See ASP Dashboard on Tableau: ??? waiting on De'Andre to add link (hidden?)
Safari (O'Reilly) eBook subscription
- See Safari Dashboard on Tableau: https://public.tableau.com/SHSULibrary/SafariEbooks/

O'Reilly/Safari 2020 review
2020 review of O'Reilly (previously Safari) eBooks subscription (database) including analysis of usage (trends, cost per use), and cost data.
O'Reilly Activity Trends+Definitions_2019
2019 report from O'Reilly (previously Safari) eBooks subscription (database) including analysis of usage (trends, cost per use), and cost data.
Safari "Insights" report
2019 "insights" report from O'Reilly (previously Safari) of SHSU's eBooks subscription (database) including analysis of usage (trends, cost per use), and cost data.
Safari-OReilly Usage July 2019-June 2020
2019 July-2020June USAGE of ebooks -- O'Reilly (previously Safari) eBooks subscription (database)
Safari-OReilly ebook usage Jan-May 2020
2020 USAGE of O'Reilly (previously Safari) eBooks subscription (database)
Safari-OReilly 2019 Calendar Year USAGE
2019 USAGE of Safari (now O'Reilly) eBooks subscription (database)
Singers Babel USAGE 2015-July 2019
Review during 2020 of Singers Babel usage by SHSU students/faculty/staff

2019

Electronic Resources reviewed by subject librarians in 2019:

NUTRITION Resources:
- Evidence Analysis Library (EAL) & Nutrition Care Manual
- NutritionNETBase (CRC Press/T&F) ebook collection subscription
Singers Babel
JoVE (Chemistry videos)
Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry (O&B Chemistry)
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)

CRCnetBase - NUTRITIONnetBase 2019 review
2019 review of SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.) for NUTRITIONnetBase (CRC Press) ebook subscription collection
EAL & NCM 2019 review
2019 review of SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.) for Evidence Analysis Library (EAL) and Nutrition Care Manual (NCM)
JoVE (Chemistry) 2017 usage stats
2017 review of SHSU usage for JoVE (Chemistry Video subscription)
JoVE (Chemistry) 2018 usage stats
2018 review of SHSU usage for JoVE (Chemistry Video subscription)
JoVE (Chemistry) 2019 (Jan-Jul) usage stats
2019 (partial) SHSU usage for JoVE (Chemistry Video subscription)
Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry (O&B Chemistry)
2019 review of SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.)
for Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry (O&B Chemistry)
Oxford DNB 2019 review
2019 review of SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.) for Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)
Singers Babel 2018-July 2019 usage stats
review during 2019 of SHSU usage and cost data (2015- July 2019) of Singers Babel (database subscription)

2018

Electronic Resources reviewed by subject librarians in 2018:

Books in Print
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library:

ACM Digital Library
SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.)
ACM Digital Library (part 2)
SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.)
Books in Print 2018 Review
SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.)
CIAO, 2018 review
SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.)
IEEE, 2018 review
SHSU usage stats (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.) for this database
Rand Stats, 2018 review
SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.)

2017

Electronic Resources reviewed by subject librarians in 2017:

Paratext-Reference Universe
H.W. Wilson Core Collections:
- Fiction
- Non-Fiction
- Senior High
- Junior High
- Public Library
H.W. Wilson Collection:
- Graphic Novel
DSM (Psychiatry Online)

DSM (PsychiatryOnline): 2017 review
SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.) for this database
Graphic Novels Collection (Wilson)
SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.) for this database
Reference Universe (Paratext): 2017 review
SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.) for this database
Wilson Core Collections: 2017 review
SHSU usage and cost data (averages, cost per use, trends, etc.) for this database

Still struggling to determine what is useful (actionable) from usage statistics and where to focus
For now, focus will be on databases, streaming media & individual journal and small journal pkgs
(no Big Deal packages- Springer, Sage, Elsevier, Wiley).
Kat has worked with Molly to get API reports that run monthly to pull 3-5 subjects using SIRSI fields created last year "SUBJECTS", "USAGE STAT" and "STATS AVAILABLE".
- Kat will go through and identify priorities (1-5) and then inform De'Andre
- De'Andre will use these individual Excel sheets to create Subject Dashboards in Tableau.
  Goal is to have all subjects up by end of 2020, though will not be comprehensive of all resources
UPDATE: COVID-19 and resulting economic effects (budget cuts) have affected much of spring/summer 2020.
July/August was focused on identifying any cancellations to be included in Wishlist consideration by NGL Collection Development Committee. Back on track hopefully Sept.

Meeting: Michael's office. MH, ZV, KLM

need to determine what is useful at renewal (i.e. do we need stats on a journal level for a database we cannot swap titles out and will always renew - i.e. Academic Search Complete, TexShare databases, etc.)

action items:

Add column in DB and JR tabs "Fixed Title list?" (use data validation to indicate fixed or variable titles)
Add EBSCO journals (and any other databases) to the tabs
MH to split out EJ pkg and individual EJ pkg
1. KLM offer to assist with referencing pkg names in a list (data validation) for individual EJ titles
ZV & KLM to work on Multimedia tab jointly (ZV for individual Kanopy titles, Kat for Alexander Street Press, Ambros, Films on Demand, etc. Psychotherapy.net)
Overall we need historical (year to year) data to make decisions on individual databases, ejournals, etc.
ZV - create new EB spreadsheet
MH - create new JR spreadsheet
KLM - share new DB spreadsheet (put in Tech Services folder)
everyone get usage and cost stats for their top 25 in each category (RAS/DB, ebooks, EJ pkg, EJ - indiv) by December 17th