Skip to Main Content
Sears List of Subject Headings This link opens in a new window
Why SEARS? Sears subject headings are meant to correlate to the classification scheme used within the Dewey Decimal System. This makes it easier for libraries to find the subject headings they can use to further classify their collection. Because Sears is not a complete authority list, the cataloger using Sears must take an active part in developing a larger vocabulary of terms.
Classification Web This link opens in a new window
(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Classification web is a Library of Congress database containing the LC Classification Schedules and the LC Subject Headings. It is used primarily by librarians, catalogers, and library science students.
- LC Subject Headings - Search LC subject authority records.
- LC Classification Schedules - Search LC classifications schedules and tables.
- Correlation database - Correlate the subject headings and the classification schedules.
Prof-Recommended CD Titles
Subject Headings for School & Public Libraries
[eBook] Libraries must provide better access to their collections for all users, including Spanish-language materials. The American Library Association has recognized this increasing need. Subject Headings for School and Public Libraries: Bilingual Fourth Edition is the only resource available that provides both authorized and reference entries in English and Spanish. A first-check source for the most frequently used headings needed in school and public libraries, this book incorporates thousands of new and revised entries to assist in applying LCSH and CSH headings. Of the approximately 30,000 headings listed, most include cross-references, and all of the cross-reference terms are translated. MARC21 tags are included for all authorized entries to simplify entering them into computerized catalogs, while indexes to all headings and free-floating subdivisions are provided in translation from Spanish to English. This book gives librarians access to accurate translations of the subject terms printed in books published and cataloged in English-speaking countries--invaluable information in settings with Spanish-speaking patrons.
Std Cataloging for School & Public Libraries
[eBook] Library cataloging and classification tools are constantly improving, making this concise guide a necessity for any librarian or library student seeking improved understanding of the practical process of cataloging today. With the release of RDA, a new code for description, and a new edition of Dewey Classification, it's time for every library to add this fifth edition of a classic reference to your resources. Two Margaret Mann Citation winners update you on the five basic steps in standardized library cataloging: describing and adding access points for resources; assigning subject headings using Sears List or Library of Congress subject headings; classifying them using the Dewey Decimal or Library of Congress classification systems; and digitizing the resulting records. The book opens with a brief look at the environment in which cataloging now functions, especially in response to advances in digital access. It clarifies terminology, explores new and changed applications, and enhances understanding of basic principles for those responsible for creating cataloging data. To get you ready for tomorrow, the edition closes with a brief look at trends likely to affect cataloging in the foreseeable future.
Catalog It!: Guide to Cat. School Library Mtls
[eBook] Since the last edition of this invaluable text was published, the library world has experienced a revolution in descriptive cataloging the likes of which has not been seen since the early 1980s. This updated, third edition of an established and well-respected guide makes it easy for you to stay in step with those monumental changes. The book will help you understand the latest fundamentals of cataloging so you can get items on the library shelves quickly and efficiently. Every chapter has been revised. Changes in standards, including RDA and BISAC, that were alluded to in the second edition are discussed in depth and illustrated with explanations, and sample problem sets are included so you can put theory into practice. In addition, the book provides you with clear headings for easy scanning as well as cheat sheets and templates for creating records for book and non-book items. Previous editions of this text have been used by library practitioners and library and information science professors across the country because of its spot-on, easy-to-follow guidance on cataloging for school libraries. This new edition builds upon those strengths, adding everything you need to know about current, groundbreaking changes.
The Collection Program in Schools
Our digitally rich world changes quickly and contains more information resources than ever before; as a result, school librarians are tasked with the enormous challenge of curating a diverse, high-quality, and up-to-date collection for teachers, students, and administrators to use. This new edition of The Collection Program in Schools gives school librarians the tools to develop and maintain a collection in a constantly changing environment, often with reduced budgets; and to ensure that students can use virtual libraries and have access to all modern media and learning resources. The book logically progresses in its coverage of national and state policy concerns to community needs to the process of collection building and maintenance. Topics covered include key education trends affecting collections, such as digital textbooks and other non-print resources, instructional improvement systems, STEM priorities, and open education resources; the use of school libraries as makerspaces; media type considerations for a range of users; Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards; and the principles of curation: acquisition, description, organization, promotion, evaluation, and maintenance. This guide is ideal for use in many graduate-level school librarian preparation courses, including classes on school library collection development and school library management.
Book Reviews & Lists
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers full-text, searchable MARC records and reviews of children's books.
Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year, Choice publishes thousands of reviews that are timely, authoritative, concise, and easy to use.
School Library Connection & reVIEWS+ This link opens in a new window
This database delivers in six magazines per year plus an online learning platform rich with more than 25 video workshops on essential concepts and strategies. Every issue aligns to a theme chosen to help librarians engage students and features practical and inspiring contributions written by K–12 teacher-librarians and popular columnists, plus ones from new voices that add to School Library Connection's vibrant community for professional exchange and curriculum support.
Something About the Author Online This link opens in a new window
Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
TLA & TASL 2022 Statement on CD in School Libraries
Looking for Read-A-Likes
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
NoveList has been helping readers find their next favorite book for more than 20 years, and continues to develop innovative solutions for connecting readers, books, and libraries. The database contains book details and recommendations for librarians, educators, instructional leaders, and all who support the youngest readers in our community.
Included in NoveList K-8 Plus are:
1) Fiction and NonFiction (Informational) titles
2) Unique story elements, including appeal, genre, and theme
3) Read-a-like recommendations by title, author, and series
4) Reading level information, by age (0-8, 9-12, and Teen/YA), AR level, and Lexile level
5) Series information (what it’s about and what book comes next)
6) Resources for educators and parents, including books by topic or unit of study, display ideas, etc.
7) Lists! Recommended…, Top 10…, Best of…, Award Winners, I’m in the mood for…., etc.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
NoveList Plus is a database of book recommendations for all library workers who do readers' advisory. NoveList’s unique story elements like appeal, genre, and theme help you understand what about a book your readers love, and help them find more that are their style.
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
Multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books, including thousands of educational resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in both the K-12 and children's/youth program environments. Designed to be used by K-12 teachers, librarians, students, families -- anyone using children's and youth books. Includes Spanish-language resources.
Notable Lists in Juvenile Lit
When collecting NonFiction titles, consider searching for recommendations from the related content area's professional or teacher organizations.
CLASP founded the Américas Award in 1993 to encourage and commend authors, illustrators and publishers who produce quality children’s and young adult books that portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinx in the United States, and to provide teachers with recommendations for classroom use.
American Indian Youth Literature Award
Books selected to receive the award present Indigenous North American peoples in the fullness of their humanity.
Arab American National Museum Book Award
Honoring books written by and about Arab Americans, the program generates greater awareness of Arab American scholarship and writing through an annual award competition and educational outreach.
Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature
This award recognizes the individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit
Children's Africana Book Award
The Children’s Africana Book Awards (CABA) are presented annually to the authors and illustrators of the best children’s and young adult books on Africa published or republished in the U.S.
Coretta Scott King Book Awards
Award to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.
Ezra Jack Keats Award
Honoring outstanding new bookmakers to advance diversity in children’s literature for a better world.
Jane Addams Children's Book Award
Recognizes children’s books of literary and aesthetic excellence that effectively engage children in thinking about peace, social justice, global community, and equity for all people.
John Newbery Medal
Awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Malka Penn Award for Human Rights in Children's Literature
The Malka Penn Award is given annually to the author of an outstanding children’s book addressing human rights issues or themes such as discrimination, equity, poverty, justice, war, peace, slavery or freedom.
Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in YA Literature
Honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year.
Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Awarded to a United States publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originating in a country other than the United States and in a language other than English and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States during the preceding year.
Pura Belpré Award
Presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
Randolph Caldecott Medal
Awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal
Awarded to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year.
Schneider Family Book Award
Honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.
South Asia Book Award for Outstanding Literature for Children and Teens
To encourage and commend authors and publishers who produce such books, and to provide librarians and teachers with recommendations for educational use, the South Asia National Outreach Consortium (SANOC) will offer a yearly book award to call attention to outstanding works on South Asia.
Stonewall Book Awards
The Stonewall Book Awards are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the LGBTQIA+ experience.
Sydney Taylor Book Award
Presented to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience.
Texas Bluebonnet Award
The TBA is selected by Texas children in grades 3-6 who have read a minimum of 5 of 20 candidate titles.
Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
Given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.
Tomás Rivera Book Award
The Tomás Rivera Mexican American Children’s Book Award in 1995 to honor authors and illustrators who create literature that depicts the Mexican American experience.
The Walter Dean Myers Awards for Outstanding Children's Literature recognize diverse authors whose works feature diverse main characters and address diversity in a meaningful way.