Research Guides: Library Science &amp; Instructional Technology: Books &amp; Reference Materials

Research & Instruction Librarian

Misty Schattle

Email Me

Contact:

936-294-4686

Children's & Juvenile Titles

SHSU's Children's & Juvenile Literature Collection
* Includes how to search for Juv Lit titles
MackinVia eBooks
Engine Orange Advanced Search for JuvLit an Advanced Search for "juvenile literature" and limited to "eBooks"

eBooks & Reference Materials

Gale Ebooks (*formerly* Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL) This link opens in a new window Collection of ebooks (primarily reference) in almost all subjects, which are searchable together or individually. For a list of titles currently available, click on "Title List" at top right.
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (formerly EBL) This link opens in a new window Huge collection of e-books in all subject areas. Books may be read online or downloaded (temporarily) to certain devices. Titles can be found in the library catalog or searched within Ebook Central.
Details on downloading ebooks.
MackinVia This link opens in a new window MackinVIA provides easy access to eBooks, audiobooks, educational databases, and videos for K-12 students and teachers. Use MackinVIA on any desktop, laptop, or mobile device with Internet access; content can be embedded into Blackboard or other LMS.

Other eBook Sources

Search in Engine Orange

Course Bibliographies

For courses with readings from children's, juvenile, & young adult lists, see the section on this guide for information on searching the NGL catalog. If you are an online student, titles can be sent to you via ILL. Note that some titles are also available on our ebook platform(s).

Being Indispensable by Ruth Toor; Hilda K. Weisburg In New on the Job, experts Ruth Toor and Hilda K. Weisburg helped newbies make the transition to real-world school librarianship. Being Indispensable is all about staying one: without a proactive approach, school librarians, facing a severe economic downturn and budget cuts, run the risk of becoming an endangered species. In clear, simple, and practical language, this book empowers school librarians by helping them Understand what other stakeholders in a school need and want Demonstrate their importance to administrators, teachers, and parents Plan strategically in both their personal and professional lives Master important tools like advocacy and marketing Making the case for the vital role school librarians play in learning, this book gives readers all the strategies they need to become the kind of leader their school can't do without.
ISBN: 9780838910658
Publication Date: 2010
Changing the Scope of Library Instruction in the Digital Age by S. Bhattacharyya (Ed) & K.R. Patnaik (Ed) The current digital age is impacting the contents and delivery of instructional service in many ways. Instructional sessions not only describe various features of a resource, but these sessions also bring issues like the ethical use of information, copyrights, and the value of open knowledge to light. Librarians are required to help users to learn use these tools. Changing the Scope of Library Instruction in the Digital Age provides emerging information on data visualization tools, creating effective instructions, and instructional design in library sciences. While highlighting the challenges of effectively training new and seasoned librarians in these various aspects of data technology and teaching methods, readers will learn the importance of giving librarians the tools they need to complete their new responsibilities. This book is an important resource for entry level and seasoned librarians, researchers, and instructional design specialists seeking current research on up to date library instruction in the modern technology age.
ISBN: 9781522528036
Publication Date: 2018

The Edtech Advocate's Guide to Leading Change in Schools by Mark Gura What the education field is facing now is nothing less than the complete digital transformation of classrooms and schools. Thus, the focus of edtech coaches and other tech leaders in schools must shift from simply bringing technology into schools and tracking resources to identifying how the elements of this changing landscape fit together to form a profoundly altered, improved version of education. With this change affecting entire school communities, informed individuals who can guide members of the community through the transition are essential. The problem is that there are not nearly enough certified tech coaches in schools, and those who are in place are not always adequately prepared to handle this new mission. This is true for both trained edtech coaches and those who are coming to this role through other avenues. This book includes: background on the changing education landscape and how to manage it; activities to help edtech coaches and other change agents put what they learn into action; practical tools, including to-do lists, action plans and checklists, to help you guide digital school chan≥ and tips to help new and emerging tech coaches understand the process of change, resistance to change and how to move past it.  
Call Number: LB1028.3 .G87 2018 eb
ISBN: 9781564846471
Publication Date: 2018
Explore Like a PIRATE by Michael Matera Are you ready to transform your classroom into an experiential work that flourishes on collaboration and creativity? Then set sail with classroom game designer and educator Michael Matera as he reveals the possibilities and power of game-based learning. In Explore Like a PIRATE, Matera serves as your experienced guide to help you apply the most motivational techniques of gameplay to your classroom using strategies that work with and enhance (rather than replace) your current curriculum. Part one debunks common myths and fears about gamification and explains why and how game-based learning effectively engages students in any subject or grade level. Part two focuses on how you can empower students to take control of their learning. You'll also learn all about the different kinds of players in your classroom - and how to inspire them to set and achieve big goals. Part three is an all-in-one treasure chest, tool box, and field guide. Packed with ideas and examples that can be applied or adapted to any classroom - from badges and points, to mini-games and yearlong adventures - this is a resource you'll return to again and again.
ISBN: 9780986155505
Publication Date: 2015
Five Minds for the Future by Howard Gardner We live in a time of relentless change. The only thing that's certain is that new challenges and opportunities will emerge that are virtually unimaginable today. How can we know which skills will be required to succeed? InFive Minds for the Future, bestselling author Howard Gardner shows how we will each need to master "five minds" that the fast-paced future will demand: · The disciplined mind, to learn at least one profession, as well as the major thinking (science, math, history, etc.) behind it · The synthesizing mind, to organize the massive amounts of information and communicate effectively to others · The creating mind, to revel in unasked questions--and uncover new phenomena and insightful apt answers · The respectful mind, to appreciate the differences between human beings - and understand and work with all persons · The ethical mind, to fulfill one's responsibilities as both a worker and a citizen Without these "minds," we risk being overwhelmed by information, unable to succeed in the workplace, and incapable of the judgment needed to thrive both personally and professionally. Complete with a substantial new introduction,Five Minds for the Future provides valuable tools for those looking ahead to the next generation of leaders - and for all of us striving to excel in a complex world. Howard Gardner--cited by Foreign Policy magazine as one of the one hundred most influential public intellectuals in the world, and a MacArthur Fellowship recipient--is the Hobbs Professor of Cognition and Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education.
Call Number: BF432.3 .G365 2006
ISBN: 9781591399124
Publication Date: 2007
Learning First, Technology Second by Liz Kolb Learning First, Technology Second offers teachers a classroom-tested, easy-to-use framework to help them move from arbitrary uses of technology to thoughtful ways of adding value to student learning. Learning with technology doesn't happen because a specific tool "revolutionizes" education. It happens when proven teaching strategies intersect with technology tools, and yet it's not uncommon for teachers to use a tool because it's "fun" or because the developer promises it will help students learn. This book includes: An introduction to the Triple E Framework that helps teachers engage students in time-on-task learning, enhance learning experiences beyond traditional means and extend learning opportunities to bridge classroom learning with students' everyday lives. Effective strategies for using technology to create authentic learning experiences for their students. Case studies to guide appropriate tech integration. A lesson planning template to show teachers how to effectively frame technology choices and apply them in instruction. The companion jump start guide based on this book is Engage, Enhance, Extend: Start Creating Authentic Lessons With the Triple E Framework. Audience: K-12 classroom teachers
ISBN: 9781564843890
Publication Date: 2017
Learning Transported by Jaime Donally Get the practical insights and classroom examples you need to incorporate immersive technology into curriculum and create engaging, effective learning experiences for students. Teachers nationwide are adopting immersive technology - devices and software that provide augmented, virtual and mixed reality experiences - to enable students to go on virtual field trips, manipulate 3D objects and augment the world around them. Immersive technology resources can be far less costly than many believe, but there are issues school districts should resolve before making purchases and implementing this technology. Learning Transported helps educators plan and establish goals so that their investment in immersive technology benefits the greatest number of students. The book includes: Definitions and examples of augmented, virtual and mixed reality. Comparison of devices and platforms, and tips for selecting the best one. Lesson plans mapped to standards and content areas. Ideas for using immersive technology tools in the classroom. Immersive technology has great potential to transform learning and create engaging experiences for students. This book helps educators consider the most important factors in bringing this approach into the classroom: that the instruction addresses student outcomes and standards, and that the mechanism for delivering this learning is safe, affordable and suitable for the situation. The companion jump start guide based on this book is Immerse Yourself: Create Engaging AR/VR Experiences for All Learners. Audience: K-12 educators, technology coordinators
ISBN: 9781564843999
Publication Date: 2018
Social Media for Trainers by Jane Bozarth A how-to resource for incorporating social media into training Whether you work in a traditional or virtual classroom, social media can broaden your reach and increase the impact of training. In Social Media for Trainers, e-learning and new media expert Jane Bozarth provides an overview of popular tools, including blogs, wikis, Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, SlideShare, Flickr, and others. You'll learn to leverage each medium's unique features and applications to deliver training, facilitate discussions, and extend learning beyond the confines of a training event. This key resource offers a new set of powerful tools for augmenting and enhancing the value of your training. PRAISE FOR SOCIAL MEDIA FOR TRAINERS "Clear explanations and practical examples of the use of social media for learning, make this book essential reading for all workplace trainers." --Jane Hart, founder, Centre for Learning and Performance Technologies, and founding member of the Internet Time Alliance "... a practical, intelligent book teaching trainers how to effectively utilize technology for real learning outcomes." --Karl Kapp, professor of Instructional Technology at Bloomsburg University and author of Learning in 3D and Gadgets, Games and Gizmos for Learning "Trainers who want to succeed in the new social learning world should read this book. Jane has made social media easy, practical, and simple to use." --Ray Jimenez, PhD, Chief Learning Architect, VignettesLearning.com
ISBN: 9780470631065
Publication Date: 2010
The World Is Flat by Thomas L. Friedman The World Is Flat is Thomas L. Friedman's account of the great changes taking place in our time, as lightning-swift advances in technology and communications put people all over the globe in touch as never before - creating an explosion of wealth in India and China, and challenging the rest of us to run even faster just to stay in place. This updated and expanded edition features more than a hundred pages of fresh reporting and commentary, drawn from Friedman's travels around the world and across the Americanheartland - from anyplace where the flattening of the world is being felt.In The World Is Flat, Friedman at once shows "how and why globalization has now shifted into warp drive" (Robert Wright, Slate) and brilliantly demystifies the new flat world for readers, allowing them to make sense of the often bewildering scene unfolding before their eyes. With his inimitable ability to translate complex foreign policy and economic issues, he explains how the flattening of the world happened at the dawn of the twenty-first century; what it means to countries, companies, communities, and individuals; how governments and societies can, and must, adapt; and why terrorists want to stand in the way. More than ever, The World Is Flat is an essential update on globalization, its successes and discontents, powerfully illuminated by one of our most respected journalists.
Call Number: HM 846 .F74 2007
ISBN: 9780374292782
Publication Date: 2007
The World Is Open by Curtis J. Bonk; Curtis Jay Bonk Discover the dramatic changes that are affecting all learners Web-based technology has opened up education around the world to the point where anyone can learn anything from anyone else at any time. To help educators and others understand what's possible, Curt Bonk employs his groundbreaking "WE-ALL-LEARN" model to outline ten key technology and learning trends, demonstrating how technology has transformed educational opportunities for learners of every age in every corner of the globe. The book is filled with inspiring stories of ordinary learners as well as interviews with technology and education leaders that reveal the power of this new way of learning. Captures the global nature of open education from those who are creating and using new learning technologies Includes a new Preface and Postscript with the latest updates A free companion web site provides additional stories and information Using the dynamic "WE-ALL-LEARN" model, learners, educators, executives, administrators, instructors, and parents can discover how to tap into the power of Web technology and unleash a world of information.
Call Number: LB 1044.87 .B66
ISBN: 9780470461303
Publication Date: 2009

Five Minds for the Future by Howard Gardner We live in a time of relentless change. The only thing that's certain is that new challenges and opportunities will emerge that are virtually unimaginable today. How can we know which skills will be required to succeed? InFive Minds for the Future, bestselling author Howard Gardner shows how we will each need to master "five minds" that the fast-paced future will demand: · The disciplined mind, to learn at least one profession, as well as the major thinking (science, math, history, etc.) behind it · The synthesizing mind, to organize the massive amounts of information and communicate effectively to others · The creating mind, to revel in unasked questions--and uncover new phenomena and insightful apt answers · The respectful mind, to appreciate the differences between human beings - and understand and work with all persons · The ethical mind, to fulfill one's responsibilities as both a worker and a citizen Without these "minds," we risk being overwhelmed by information, unable to succeed in the workplace, and incapable of the judgment needed to thrive both personally and professionally. Complete with a substantial new introduction,Five Minds for the Future provides valuable tools for those looking ahead to the next generation of leaders - and for all of us striving to excel in a complex world. Howard Gardner--cited by Foreign Policy magazine as one of the one hundred most influential public intellectuals in the world, and a MacArthur Fellowship recipient--is the Hobbs Professor of Cognition and Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education.
Call Number: LB 1028.3 2013 eb
ISBN: 9781591399124
Publication Date: 2007
Instructional Technology by Gary J. Anglin (Editor) This recently updated text provides today's graduate students and other interested readers with an introductory critical perspective on the past, present, and future of instructional technology. This third edition of Instructional Technology: Past, Present, and Future provides a broad introduction to the field of instructional design and technology. As with the previous editions, this book provides a comprehensive overview of significant issues and professionals in the field for graduate students and other interested readers. The content is intended to stimulate healthy debate and discussion in graduate classes and seminars. The book is organized topically to examine history, critical issues, instructional development, research, and theory. This text presents the latest information regarding computer applications in education and training, research and evaluation in instructional technology, future prospects for instructional technology, and avenues for professional development. Contains contributions from 39 distinguished national and international scholars in instructional design and technology Provides 15 new chapters not found in the previous edition
Call Number: LB1028.3 .I5652 2011
ISBN: 9781563088063
Publication Date: 2010
Introduction to Systematic Instructional Design for Traditional, Online, and Blended Environments, Enhanced Pearson EText with Loose-Leaf Version -- Access Card Package by M. Roblyer NOTE: Used books, rentals, and purchases made outside of Pearson If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for the Enhanced Pearson eText may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase. This package includes the Enhanced Pearson eText and the loose-leaf version   Introduction to Systematic Instructional Design for Traditional, Online, and Blended Environments provides an accessible introduction for instructional design novices. The book updates traditional, ADDIE-based approaches (named for the five-step Analysis, Design, Development, Implementation, and Evaluation sequence) to make them relevant for designing today's in-person, multimedia, and distance learning environments. The book's features reflect characteristics that make it uniquely useful among other texts on the topic in that it supports instructional design novices, updates design to address new technologies, illustrates design for online and blended learning environments, and asks that students create their own instructional design projects as they move through the text. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded audio, Check Your Understanding exercises, and interactive quizzes.   Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. Experience the advantages of the Enhanced Pearson eText along with all the benefits of print for 40% to 50% less than a print bound book. *The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.   0133831647 / 9780133831641 Introduction to Systematic Instructional Design for Traditional, Online, and Blended Environments, Loose-Leaf Version with Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of:      0130196150 / 9780130196156 Introduction to Systematic Instructional Design for Traditional, Online, and Blended Environments, Loose-Leaf Version 0133827682 / 9780133827682 Introduction to Systematic Instructional Design for Traditional, Online, and Blended Environments, Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card  
ISBN: 9780133831641
Publication Date: 2014

Landscape of Educational Technology Viewed from the ETR&D Journal Cho, Y., Park, S., Jo, S. J., & Suh, S. (2013). British Journal of Educational Technology.
Moore's Law and Technological Determinism: Reflections on the History of Technology Ceruzzi, P.E. (2005). Technology and Culture. doi: 10.1353/tech.2005.0116
The Parallel Universes of the Learning Sciences and Instructional Design: A Historical Perspective Edelson, D.C. (2004). Educational Technology.
The Song Remains the Same: Looking Back to the Future of Educational Technology Mishra, P., Koehler, M. J., & Kereluik, K. (2009). TechTrends.

Trends and Issues in Instructional Design and Technology by Robert Reiser; John Dempsey For courses in Instructional Design, Instructional Technology, or Computer-Based Instructional Design.   Immerses students in the field and provides a strong foundation for future careers. In order to be successful in their field, professionals must go beyond performing the skills associated with Instructional Design and Technology (IDT); they must recognize current and future trends likely to impact the field and envision how to employ them. Trends and Issues in Instructional Design and Technology, Fourth Edition helps students and future practitioners attain these goals. It defines the IDT field, the historical events that have resulted in current-day areas of focus, and the theories of learning and instruction upon which practices are based. Emerging technologies, strategies to improve teaching and learning environments, and current practices in a wide variety of settings are among the many topics discussed in depth. Previous editions of this acclaimed text won numerous awards from the Association for Educational Communications and Technology and the International Society for Performance Improvement.
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9780134235462
Publication Date: 2017

The Edtech Advocate's Guide to Leading Change in Schools by Mark Gura What the education field is facing now is nothing less than the complete digital transformation of classrooms and schools. Thus, the focus of edtech coaches and other tech leaders in schools must shift from simply bringing technology into schools and tracking resources to identifying how the elements of this changing landscape fit together to form a profoundly altered, improved version of education. With this change affecting entire school communities, informed individuals who can guide members of the community through the transition are essential. The problem is that there are not nearly enough certified tech coaches in schools, and those who are in place are not always adequately prepared to handle this new mission. This is true for both trained edtech coaches and those who are coming to this role through other avenues. This book includes: background on the changing education landscape and how to manage it; activities to help edtech coaches and other change agents put what they learn into action; practical tools, including to-do lists, action plans and checklists, to help you guide digital school chan≥ and tips to help new and emerging tech coaches understand the process of change, resistance to change and how to move past it.  
Call Number: LB1028.3 .G87 2018 eb
ISBN: 9781564846471
Publication Date: 2018
Edtech for the K-12 Classroom by ISTE This compilation of ISTE articles and multimedia offers concrete lesson plans, inspiring reflections and advice from edtech experts on how to empower learners using technology. Technology in the K-12 classroom is no longer an option. To prepare students for the future of work, life and citizenship, every school needs to be equipped with digital tools and staffed by educators who can harness technology to accelerate innovation in teaching and learning. Edtech for the K-12 Classroom is designed to empower current and future teachers to use technology effectively in their classrooms and schools. Meant to supplement or replace edtech textbooks, this ebook introduces ways teachers can leverage technology for ongoing, just-in-time professional development while offering a deep understanding of the ISTE Standards, a roadmap for how to transform education with technology. This book includes: Readings, supplemented by videos, webinars and infographics, tied to the widely adopted ISTE Standards with examples on how to align lessons to the ISTE Standards for Students to empower learners to be effective communicators, computational thinkers, innovative designers, global collaborators and digital citizens. Advice about how to use ISTE resources for lifelong learning. A downloadable Instructor's Guide offering professors ideas for helping future educators understand meaningful technology integration. This book shows educators how to continue to improve their practice - not just now, but throughout their careers. Audience: Students in teacher education programs and teacher educators
ISBN: 9781564846938
Publication Date: 2018
The Four o'Clock Faculty by Rich Czyz If you are tired of sitting through boring, irrelevant professional development sessions, it's time to join the Four O'Clock Faculty. The Four O'Clock Faculty, co-founded by educator and author Rich Czyz, is on a mission to revolutionize professional learning for all educators. In his book, Rich identifies ways to make PD meaningful, efficient, and, above all, personally relevant. The Four O'Clock Faculty is a practical guide that reveals why some PD is so awful and what YOU can do to change the model for the betterment of you and your colleagues. As you read this book, you will ... Discover simple techniques for switching up staff meetings Find more effective ways to use your PD time Learn how to go ROGUE when you are not getting what you need as a professional learner What game plan will you follow for changing professional development in your school or district? It all starts with this book "A useful and urgent manual for teachers who care. People like you." --Seth Godin, author, Stop Stealing Dreams "Rich's direct approach to making PD valuable is refreshing .... This book is a classic for all educational leaders who wish to provide appropriate and participatory PD." --Michael Curran, education professor, Rider University "This is a handbook of relevant PD ideas you'll want to refer to over and over." --Matt Miller, author, Ditch That Textbook fouroclockfaculty.com
ISBN: 9781946444363
Publication Date: 2017
Introduction to Systematic Instructional Design for Traditional, Online, and Blended Environments, Enhanced Pearson EText with Loose-Leaf Version -- Access Card Package by M. Roblyer NOTE: Used books, rentals, and purchases made outside of Pearson If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for the Enhanced Pearson eText may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase. This package includes the Enhanced Pearson eText and the loose-leaf version   Introduction to Systematic Instructional Design for Traditional, Online, and Blended Environments provides an accessible introduction for instructional design novices. The book updates traditional, ADDIE-based approaches (named for the five-step Analysis, Design, Development, Implementation, and Evaluation sequence) to make them relevant for designing today's in-person, multimedia, and distance learning environments. The book's features reflect characteristics that make it uniquely useful among other texts on the topic in that it supports instructional design novices, updates design to address new technologies, illustrates design for online and blended learning environments, and asks that students create their own instructional design projects as they move through the text. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded audio, Check Your Understanding exercises, and interactive quizzes.   Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. Experience the advantages of the Enhanced Pearson eText along with all the benefits of print for 40% to 50% less than a print bound book. *The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.   0133831647 / 9780133831641 Introduction to Systematic Instructional Design for Traditional, Online, and Blended Environments, Loose-Leaf Version with Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of:      0130196150 / 9780130196156 Introduction to Systematic Instructional Design for Traditional, Online, and Blended Environments, Loose-Leaf Version 0133827682 / 9780133827682 Introduction to Systematic Instructional Design for Traditional, Online, and Blended Environments, Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card  
ISBN: 9780133831641
Publication Date: 2014
Principles of Instructional Design by Robert M. Gagne; Walter W. Wager; Katharine Golas; John M. Keller This pioneering text describes a rationally consistent basis for instructional design, based in cognitive psychology and information-processing theory. The authors prepare teachers to design and develop a course, unit, and module of instruction, outline the nine stages of instructional design procedure, and integrate current research and practice in the movement toward performance systems technology. The Fifth Edition of PRINCIPLES OF INSTRUCTIONAL DESIGN emphasizes the social and cultural context of learning, learner-centered principles, and the affordances of new technologies and learning environments.
Call Number: LB1051 .G196 2005
ISBN: 9780534582845
Publication Date: 2004
Social Media for Trainers by Jane Bozarth A how-to resource for incorporating social media into training Whether you work in a traditional or virtual classroom, social media can broaden your reach and increase the impact of training. In Social Media for Trainers, e-learning and new media expert Jane Bozarth provides an overview of popular tools, including blogs, wikis, Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, SlideShare, Flickr, and others. You'll learn to leverage each medium's unique features and applications to deliver training, facilitate discussions, and extend learning beyond the confines of a training event. This key resource offers a new set of powerful tools for augmenting and enhancing the value of your training. PRAISE FOR SOCIAL MEDIA FOR TRAINERS "Clear explanations and practical examples of the use of social media for learning, make this book essential reading for all workplace trainers." --Jane Hart, founder, Centre for Learning and Performance Technologies, and founding member of the Internet Time Alliance "... a practical, intelligent book teaching trainers how to effectively utilize technology for real learning outcomes." --Karl Kapp, professor of Instructional Technology at Bloomsburg University and author of Learning in 3D and Gadgets, Games and Gizmos for Learning "Trainers who want to succeed in the new social learning world should read this book. Jane has made social media easy, practical, and simple to use." --Ray Jimenez, PhD, Chief Learning Architect, VignettesLearning.com
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9780470631065
Publication Date: 2010
Trends and Issues in Instructional Design and Technology by R Reiser & J. Dempsey For courses in Instructional Design, Instructional Technology, or Computer-Based Instructional Design.   Immerses students in the field and provides a strong foundation for future careers. In order to be successful in their field, professionals must go beyond performing the skills associated with Instructional Design and Technology (IDT); they must recognize current and future trends likely to impact the field and envision how to employ them. Trends and Issues in Instructional Design and Technology, Fourth Edition helps students and future practitioners attain these goals. It defines the IDT field, the historical events that have resulted in current-day areas of focus, and the theories of learning and instruction upon which practices are based. Emerging technologies, strategies to improve teaching and learning environments, and current practices in a wide variety of settings are among the many topics discussed in depth. Previous editions of this acclaimed text won numerous awards from the Association for Educational Communications and Technology and the International Society for Performance Improvement.
ISBN: 9780134235462
Publication Date: 2017
What Connected Educators Do Differently by Todd Whitaker; Jeffrey Zoul; Jimmy Casas Todd Whitaker, Jeffrey Zoul, and Jimmy Casas are widely acclaimed experts on teaching and leading and are pioneers in the education twitterverse, and now they are sharing their best practices! In What Connected Educators Do Differently, they show how being a connected educator--by using social media to connect with peers across the country and even across the globe--will greatly enhance your own learning and your success in a school or classroom. You'll find out how to create a personal and professional learning network to share resources and ideas, gain support, and make an impact on others. By customizing your professional development in this way, you'll be able to learn what you want, how you want, when you want. Best of all, you'll become energized and inspired by all the great ideas out there and how you can contribute, benefiting both you and your students. Whether you are a teacher or school leader, you will come away from this book with step-by-step advice and fresh ideas to try immediately. Being a connected educator has never been easier or more important than it is right now!&ensp;
Call Number: LB1775 .W437 2015
ISBN: 9781138832008
Publication Date: 2015

CIO Paradox by Martha Heller Regardless of industry, most major companies are becoming technology companies. The successful management of information has become so critical to a company's goals, that in many ways, now is the age of the CIO. Yet IT executives are besieged by a host of contradictions: bad technology can bring a company to its knees, but corporate boards rarely employ CIOs; CIOs must keep costs down at the very same time that they drive innovation. CIOs are focused on the future, while they are tethered by technology decisions made in the past. These contradictions form what Martha Heller calls The CIO Paradox, a set of conflicting forces that are deeply embedded in governance, staffing, executive expectations, and even corporate culture. Heller, who has spent more than 12 years working with the CIO community, offers guidance to CIOs on how to attack, reverse, or neutralize the paradoxical elements of the CIO role. Through interviews with a wide array of successful CIOs, The CIO Paradox helps readers level the playing field for IT success and get one step closer to bringing maximum value to their companies.
Call Number: HD30.2 .C56 2013 eb
ISBN: 9781937134273
Publication Date: 2012
Five Minds for the Future by Gardner We live in a time of relentless change. The only thing that's certain is that new challenges and opportunities will emerge that are virtually unimaginable today. How can we know which skills will be required to succeed? In Five Minds for the Future, bestselling author Howard Gardner shows how we will each need to master "five minds" that the fast-paced future will demand: #65533; The disciplined mind, to learn at least one profession, as well as the major thinking (science, math, history, etc.) behind it #65533; The synthesizing mind, to organize the massive amounts of information and communicate effectively to others #65533; The creating mind, to revel in unasked questions - and uncover new phenomena and insightful apt answers #65533; The respectful mind, to appreciate the differences between human beings - and understand and work with all persons #65533; The ethical mind, to fulfill one's responsibilities as both a worker and a citizen Without these "minds," we risk being overwhelmed by information, unable to succeed in the workplace, and incapable of the judgment needed to thrive both personally and professionally. Complete with a substantial new introduction, Five Minds for the Future provides valuable tools for those looking ahead to the next generation of leaders - and for all of us striving to excel in a complex world. Howard Gardner--cited by Foreign Policy magazine as one of the one hundred most influential public intellectuals in the world, and a MacArthur Fellowship recipient--is the Hobbs Professor of Cognition and Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education.
Call Number: BF432.3 .G365 2006
ISBN: 9781422147993
Publication Date: 2009
Leadership PQ by Gerry Reffo; Valerie Wark IQ and EQ (Emotional Intelligence) are not enough. Creating profit, growth and a better future for society is the new leadership challenge. In a shared power world, no single organization is in control or can deliver alone. Leadership PQ is for leaders working with multiple stakeholders to achieve more together. Shortlisted for the CMI Management Book of the Year 2014/15, Leadership PQ introduces a new leadership requirement, PQ (political intelligence) that will allow governments and businesses to build relationships and work together in a new and more effective way. Successful leaders have built the capability to interact strategically in a world where government and business share power to shape the future. Leadership PQ explains why political intelligence is now a critical leadership requirement, presents exclusive case studies and interview material to demonstrate the impact of PQ in action, and provides practical advice to on how to develop it by effectively navigating the Golden Triangle of business, government and society. Leadership PQ is targeted at: business leaders at a multinational and local level; leaders involved in public policy and delivery; leaders of non-profit organizations; executive teams; and aspiring leaders in all sections. While each sector features different challenges, PQ can give them greater reach and impact.
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9780749469610
Publication Date: 2014
Leading 21st Century Schools by Lynne R. Schrum; Barbara B. Levin Master The Latest Educational Technology To Teach 21st Century Skills. The pace of technological change picks up speed with each passing day. Educators must place the proper emphasis on technology leadership--using proven methods--if they are to prepare students to thrive in the classroom and beyond. When first published in 2009, this book empowered administrators and teachers to plan and execute effective strategies for enhancing student engagement and achievement through technology. This second edition features 80% brand-new material addressing the latest technological developments, combined with the authors' tested methods for applying them in schools. Features include: Aligning technology to the ISLLC Standards, ISTE Standards, and Common Core State Standards Comprehensive guides to the newest technologies and trends that school leaders need to know A companion website featuring a massive volume of resources for additional progress With this book close at hand, school leaders will confidently guide students into the exciting digital future. "The world of technology changes by the second and educators are left in the dust to navigate a tsunami of tools. Levin and Schrum provide a detailed roadmap of technology tools available today and how they can be harnessed by educators to improve student engagement." -Eric Sheninger, Educational Consultant and Author of Digital Leadership "School leaders need less philosophy and more of a focus on the practical steps needed to move forward.  Levin and Schrum update their best-selling First Edition by adding in the newest innovations in technology, while at the same time offering suggestions on how to get started." -Peter DeWitt, Corwin author/Consultant Finding Common Ground Blog/ Education Week
Call Number: LB1028 .5 S378 2015 eb
ISBN: 9781506318059
Publication Date: 2015
Leading Digital by George Westerman; Didier Bonnet; Andrew Mcafee Become a Digital Master--No Matter What Business You’re In If you think the phrase "going digital” is only relevant for industries like tech, media, and entertainment--think again. In fact, mobile, analytics, social media, sensors, and cloud computing have already fundamentally changed the entire business landscape as we know it--including your industry. The problem is that most accounts of digital in business focus on Silicon Valley stars and tech start-ups. But what about the other 90-plus percent of the economy? In Leading Digital, authors George Westerman, Didier Bonnet, and Andrew McAfee highlight how large companies in traditional industries--from finance to manufacturing to pharmaceuticals--are using digital to gain strategic advantage. They illuminate the principles and practices that lead to successful digital transformation. Based on a study of more than four hundred global firms, including Asian Paints, Burberry, Caesars Entertainment, Codelco, Lloyds Banking Group, Nike, and Pernod Ricard, the book shows what it takes to become a Digital Master. It explains successful transformation in a clear, two-part framework: where to invest in digital capabilities, and how to lead the transformation. Within these parts, you’ll learn: * How to engage better with your customers * How to digitally enhance operations * How to create a digital vision * How to govern your digital activities The book also includes an extensive step-by-step transformation playbook for leaders to follow. Leading Digital is the must-have guide to help your organization survive and thrive in the new, digitally powered, global economy.
Call Number: HD30.2 .W4645 2014
ISBN: 9781625272485
Publication Date: 2014
The New IT: How Technology Leaders Are Enabling Business Strategy in the Digital Age by Jill Dyche Introducing a Powerful New Business Model for Today's IT Blogger, speaker, software executive, and bestselling author Jill Dyché has been thinking about leadership a lot lately. Having consulted with business and IT executives with Fortune 500 companies for most of her career, she has heard a common refrain: "What should we do about shadow IT?" She's decided to address the answer head-on. With the onslaught of cloud solutions, consumerization of technology, and increasingly tech-savvy business people, it's time for a manifesto for leaders who recognize--and are nervous about--the demands of the digital age. Whether you're an executive, department head, or IT manager, The New IT provides an action-ready blueprint for building and strengthening the role of IT in your company--and prescribing IT's future. Learn how to: ASSESS your current and future IT profile ALIGN your IT organization with business priorities MAP technology delivery plans according to business priiorities ORGANIZE IT according to your company's culture and strengths REDEFINE innovation and talent management practices BUILD a stronger and enduring role for IT as a business partner By using field-tested techniques to align your IT department with your corporate objectives, you can leverage the power of technology across the entire company. The New IT provides a set of tactical and experienced-based frameworks to help you and your colleagues conceive a new roadmap. It also includes real-world case studies and best practices from successful, technology-enabled companies such as Toyota, Merck, Brooks Brothers, Union Bank, and many others. You'll hear from major industry pioneers, IT thought leaders, and other change agents who are leading the way in this new frontier. And you'll learn how to bring your business and IT together in a way that is truly transformative. The new IT is more than computing power. It balances strategy and delivery. It's interactive and inclusive. It's as omnipresent as the smart phone and just as revolutionary. It equips you with the tools you need to succeed in reframing the IT conversation and propelling your business forward.
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9780071846981
Publication Date: 2015
The Power of Experiments by Michael Luca; Max H. Bazerman How organizations--including Google, StubHub, Airbnb, and Facebook--learn from experiments in a data-driven world. Have you logged into Facebook recently? Searched for something on Google? Chosen a movie on Netflix? If so, you've probably been an unwitting participant in a variety of experiments--also known as randomized controlled trials--designed to test the impact of different online experiences. Once an esoteric tool for academic research, the randomized controlled trial has gone mainstream. No tech company worth its salt (or its share price) would dare make major changes to its platform without first running experiments to understand how they would influence user behavior. In this book, Michael Luca and Max Bazerman explain the importance of experiments for decision making in a data-driven world. Luca and Bazerman describe the central role experiments play in the tech sector, drawing lessons and best practices from the experiences of such companies as StubHub, Alibaba, and Uber. Successful experiments can save companies money--eBay, for example, discovered how to cut $50 million from its yearly advertising budget--or bring to light something previously ignored, as when Airbnb was forced to confront rampant discrimination by its hosts. Moving beyond tech, Luca and Bazerman consider experimenting for the social good--different ways that govenments are using experiments to influence or "nudge" behavior ranging from voter apathy to school absenteeism. Experiments, they argue, are part of any leader's toolkit. With this book, readers can become part of "the experimental revolution."
Call Number: HB74 .P8 .L833 2020 eb
ISBN: 9780262358255
Publication Date: 2020
The Third Wave by Steve Case The #1 New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestseller from Steve Case--the co-founder of AOL--presents "a compelling roadmap for the future...that can help us make sense of the technological changes reshaping our economy and the world. A fascinating read" (Sheryl Sandberg, Facebook COO and founder of LeanIn.org). Steve Case--a pioneer who made the Internet part of everyday life--was on the leading edge of a revolution in 1985 when he co-founded AOL, the first Internet company to go public and the most successful business of the 1990s. Back then Case was an entrepreneur in an industry that hadn't really been invented yet, but he had a sense how dramatically the Internet would transform business and society. In The Third Wave, he uses his insights garnered from nearly four decades of working as an innovator, investor, and businessman to argue the importance of entrepreneurship and to chart a path for future innovators. We are entering, as Case explains, the "Third Wave" of the Internet. The first wave saw AOL and other companies lay the foundation for consumers to connect to the Internet. The second wave saw companies like Google and Facebook build on top of the Internet to create search and social networking capabilities, while apps like Snapchat and Instagram leveraged the smartphone revolution. Now, Case argues, we're entering the Third Wave: a period in which entrepreneurs will vastly transform major "real world" sectors such as health, education, transportation, energy, and food--and in the process change the way we live our daily lives. Part memoir, part manifesto, and part playbook for the future, The Third Wave explains the ways in which newly emerging technology companies will have to rethink their relationships with customers, with competitors, and with governments; and offers advice for how entrepreneurs can make winning business decisions and strategies--and how all of us can make sense of this ever-changing digital age.
ISBN: 9781501132599
Publication Date: 2017
Trends and Issues in Instructional Design and Technology by R. Reiser & J. Dempsey For courses in Instructional Design, Instructional Technology, or Computer-Based Instructional Design.   Immerses students in the field and provides a strong foundation for future careers. In order to be successful in their field, professionals must go beyond performing the skills associated with Instructional Design and Technology (IDT); they must recognize current and future trends likely to impact the field and envision how to employ them. Trends and Issues in Instructional Design and Technology, Fourth Edition helps students and future practitioners attain these goals. It defines the IDT field, the historical events that have resulted in current-day areas of focus, and the theories of learning and instruction upon which practices are based. Emerging technologies, strategies to improve teaching and learning environments, and current practices in a wide variety of settings are among the many topics discussed in depth. Previous editions of this acclaimed text won numerous awards from the Association for Educational Communications and Technology and the International Society for Performance Improvement.
ISBN: 9780134235462
Publication Date: 2017