The Children's & Juvenile Literature Collection in the Newton Gresham Library at Sam Houston State University serves various purposes:
to support the literacy of children ages 0 through young adulthood in the SHSU and surrounding community;
provide pre- and in-service educators with access to quality children's titles that coincide with the Texas Essential Knowledge & Skills (TEKS) and Common Core Standards (CCS) for early childhood (approx. age 3) through grade 12 (e.g., EC-12) across all content and subject areas;
ensure a high-quality and diverse collection through memorial and honorarium special collections; and
maintain titles reflective of the historical value of the collection for scholars of children's literature, transferring rare volumes to the special collections library for preservation as needed.
A small portion of the collection is available online, however, recognizing the need and preference for books in print by children and educators, the majority of the collection is in print.
The Collection is approximately 27,000 titles, spanning 180 years in children's literature publication, and includes picture books, fiction, and nonfiction titles. At present, the collection is balanced as follows:
Nonfiction: 12,800 titles with an average publication date of 1979
Fiction: 14,000 titles with an average publication date of 1981
As of December 31, 2018, 30% of the collection was pre-1969
NoveList K-8 PlusNoveList has been helping readers find their next favorite book for more than 20 years, and continues to develop innovative solutions for connecting readers, books, and libraries. The database contains book details and recommendations for librarians, educators, instructional leaders, and all who support the youngest readers in our community.
Included in NoveList K-8 Plus are:
1) Fiction and NonFiction (Informational) titles
2) Unique story elements, including appeal, genre, and theme
3) Read-a-like recommendations by title, author, and series
4) Reading level information, by age (0-8, 9-12, and Teen/YA), AR level, and Lexile level
5) Series information (what it’s about and what book comes next)
6) Resources for educators and parents, including books by topic or unit of study, display ideas, etc.
7) Lists! Recommended…, Top 10…, Best of…, Award Winners, I’m in the mood for…., etc.
NoveList PlusNoveList Plus is a database of book recommendations for all library workers who do readers' advisory. NoveList’s unique story elements like appeal, genre, and theme help you understand what about a book your readers love, and help them find more that are their style.