Children's & Juvenile Literature Collection

Here are options for locating them:

• through an Engine Orange advanced search for 'juvenile literature' limited to 'ebooks'
• on SHSU's eBook guide, or
• through our MackinVia subscription

Titles are arranged using the Dewey Decimal System to emulate what pre- and in-service educators and children would experience in a K-12 school library environment.  The library's main collection is organized using the Library of Congress classification system.  To delineate between the Children's collection and other titles in the library, the Call Number on all books in the Children's & Juvenile Literature Collection begin with "LS".

Notes:
• If you experience a “cookie” error, use a different browser, or an Incognito (Chrome) or InPrivate (Edge) window
• If you are off campus, you may need to log into your MySam account to retrieve search results

Also see the tab on "Collection Content". . .

The Collection is located on the 3rd Floor of the Newton Gresham Library, on the East side of the main staircase, housed alongside the Instructional Materials Center, which includes State of Texas adopted textbooks for EC-12 and the Instructional Materials Collection.

• Fiction
  Call Number:  LS + initial letter of author's last name  (Ex: LS .A... )
  Level: 3rd grade - Young Adult (9th grade), including Picture Books for Older Readers
• NonFiction / Informational Texts
  Call Number:  LS + the Dewey subject number  (EX: LS 004 ...)
  Level: 3rd - 9th grade, including Graphic Novels, Reference, & Biographies 
• Picture Books
  Call Number:  LSPB + either Fiction or NonFiction sequence
  Level: Boardbooks through 2nd grade 
• New Books
  Upon arrival, new items are shelved with New Books. After they have been checked out once, they move to the children's collection.
• Rare Books
  A small collection is housed in the Thomason Room, our Special Collections Library, on the 4th floor of NGL.

Though we don't label our books by reading level, some of our subscription resources can be used to find their Lexile and/or age and/or grade level.