In addition to finding information about your topic from books and reference databases, you may need to obtain information from print or online journals. The Library subscribes to thousands of journals covering a wide range of subjects. Articles can be located by using databases which index these journals and which often provide full text online access to the articles.
ComAbstractsThis link opens in a new windowContains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.
Communication and Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides online access to full-text articles from many communication and mass media journals and indexing and abstracting for hundreds more.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowPsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Humanities SourceThis link opens in a new windowProvides many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowFull-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
SocINDEXThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive and high-quality sociology research database containing informative abstracts for "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. Also includes extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.
ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)This link opens in a new windowThe Digital Library provides online access to all ACM titles from volume 1 - forward. All journals, sigs, conference proceedings, newsletters, transactions, and magazines published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM), and selected titles published by affiliated organizations are included.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
CountryWatchThis link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
Polling the NationsThis link opens in a new windowPolling the Nations is a compilation of thousands of surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and other countries. Access more than 750,000 original poll questions and results from 18,000+ surveys conducted in the U.S. and 100+ other countries from 1986 to the present.
O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Tech Books Online)This link opens in a new windowAn electronic reference library for programming and IT professionals, providing searchable full-text contents of 35k+ books, 4,000+ videos, and 200+ business case studies. Enter an SHSU email address when prompted to access the content.
Click "Institution not Listed?"
Use your SHSU email to log in
Reference UniverseThis link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.
Academic Video Online: PremiumThis link opens in a new windowThousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
Meet the Press Video CollectionThis link opens in a new windowSince its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. Access thousands of interviews, panels, and debates, over 1,500 hours of footagethe full surviving broadcast run to date.
Search Communication and Mass Media Complete
Databases in Related Areas
Databases in these subject areas may also contain articles that are useful in communication research: